Friday, February 22, 2013

LOVE NOTE #183: Supergreens & Avocado Smoothie!!

Happy Friday Everyone!!

It's finally here...yippee!  Countdown begins to my trip home to Orange County!  Woot-woot!  I'm so looking forward to it as the weather in Chicago has taken a turn to the, uh, Brrrrrrr.  I was walking Potato before the snow began to fall last night.  It was so cold that I woke up this morning and my skin was really dry, like flakey dry.  I need to make sure to apply my Nivea Creme when it gets into single digits or teens (wind chill factor sure is pronounced when you live on the lakefront!)

Not only am I looking forward to some SoCal sunshine, but the Vietnamese food there is nothing short of spectacular!  I've tried Vietnamese food on the East Coast, Midwest, and even in Montreal... hands down no doubt OC has them beat!  Yum!  I can't neglect to mention one of my first stops:  In 'n' Out.  Omgaaaaah.  Best burgers evahhhhh.  Of course, I can't forget DK Donuts on Baker St.  The parking stinks, but I'll put up the hassle for their fresh donuts any day.  I wonder if they still have their 24-hour drive-thru where I use to pick up some deep-fried delights before driving back to UCLA after visiting my parents on the weekends...Hmmmmmm... And I'm really looking forward to visiting the Orange County Flower Mart!

Okay, wiping the drool from the corner of my mouth right now.  Back to something that will actually do a body good.  I whipped up a Green Smoothie with avocado!  Wow... not only did it taste amazing, but avocado is a superstar when it comes to all the good stuff in it!  True, it's gotten some rap for having a high fat content, but it has mostly the good fat, monounsaturated fats.  And monounsaturated fats have been linked to increasing HDL (good cholesterol) and lowering LDL (the naughty cholesterol!)  It also has so much soluble and insoluble fiber too.  Finally, the number of vitamins contained in this little powerhouse of a fruit is outstanding.  From vitamins A, B, C, E, K, and a slew of other antioxidants as well, the "alligator pear" sure packs a punch.  I should probably be bathing in this stuff it's so amazing!  When Mother Nature decides to create something, it's never short of perfect!  Now I really wish I had an avocado farm!

I'm ecstatic that a Neighborhood Market by Walmart opened up in East Lakeview last month.  The avocados were on sale for only $0.75/each!  What a bargain!  I also thought I picked up just a regular bag of spinach.  However, once I brought it home, I realized not only was it a bag of spinach, but it also included baby bok choy, and baby green and red chards!  It's the first time I've seen this at the market.  The large 13.25 oz bag was only $2.88!  What a great value!  The different greens in one bag really makes rotating my greens a bit easier.  I've been on a kale kick for the last week so I needed to change it up.  I know Dr. Oz (I'm obsessed with his show!) recommends trying to buy organic when they are leafy greens, so if it is available to you and you don't mind the premium, definitely consider that option.

This was a super creamy smoothie thanks to the amazing avocado.  My Mommy use to make me a Vietnamese shake called called "Sinh To Bo" (the translation = shake fruit butter, or some combination of these three words - I always get mixed up!) when I was little.  It had 4 ingredients:  avocado, milk, sugar and ice cubes (or condensed milk can be used in lieu of sugar... the Vietnamese LOVE condensed milk!)  It was so goooooood!  This tastes very similar to the Vietnamese variety without the sugar!  The banana sweetens the smoothie naturally and the addition of the mild greens is pretty much masked by the avocado and banana flavors.  You can get your greens and sip something that tastes like a treat at the same time.  I'm really starting to believe a girl CAN really have it all with a little creativity;)  I can't wait to make this for my parents when I get home!  I think they will really like it because it's so healthy and so yummy! 

I can't wait to drink it again.  Half an avocado is 4 Points+ alone (I only get 26 per day!) on the Weight Watchers system .  Since these are not free points like most other fruits and vegetables on the plan, I will need to budget my points more carefully, but the nutritional benefits far outweigh cost of points used!  This Green Monster helps keep my typical cravings (see paragraph 2) at bay.  And without much further ado, the recipe:

  • 1/4 cup nonfat, plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup plain almond or soy milk
  • 1/2-1 frozen banana (make sure to peel and slice the banana before you freeze it - it makes it easier, trust me!)
  • 1/2 ripe avocado
  • 2 cups of greens (I eyeball this and just fill it all the way up to the top of the blender!)

Add all these ingredients to the blender, cover, and mix until smooth.  This Green Monster came out to only 5 Points+!  I love how the ingredients are so simple and you don't even need that many!  It' really filling and a great option for meal replacement, or even just as a healthy snack alternative.  This is the best tasting Green Monster I've ever made.  Knowing that I'm drinking something so good for my body uplifts me psychologically as well.  I can't believe I'm now struggling to keep my fridge stocked with greens instead always having to toss a bag because it spoiled...maybe you do get wiser as you get old(er).

Amazing how I've lost 8 pounds this month!  I did lose most of my weight the first week, but I haven't gained anything back - which is awesome!  I lost 5 pounds the first week, 2 pounds the second week, I didn't lose anything the 3rd week (rough week!) and a pound this week so far.  My final weigh in will be this Sunday.  So looks like the pounds are coming off at a steady and healthy rate (experts recommend 2 pound average per week or 8 pounds per month!)  I started doing Green Monsters on January 28th.  I've been consistent with my workouts too.  I average 5 cardio sessions a week.  A lot of work, but it's paying off.

I was so ecstatic when I hit my "happy weight" in 2008 and kept it off until late 2010/early 2011.  Two years since then, I have managed to pack on 15 pounds.  On a 5'1" frame, 15 pounds really makes a huge difference.  When I went to the doctor, she said I should be around 110, or a 115 pounds MAX.  I haven't been that weight since the 9th grade!  Even at my happy weight, I was 10 pounds above her (maximum weight) recommendation and I was happy.  She's right though.  Afterall, she is Harvard trained.  Not only is she brilliant, but sooooo super smart!  I hope to be like her one day - so kind, humble, strong, encouraging, (I was a basket case with school the last time I saw her... but she kept telling me to keep trying and I would get to my goal eventually!  She was so positive!), smart, confident, and independent.  That's one heck of a combination - close to perfect as you can get.  Whenever I have a rough day with studies and rotations, I think of her, one of my role models, and I get inspired all over again.  

At any rate, packing on so much weight really did a number on my self esteem.  I know I was lackadaisical and inconsistent with my diet and exercise in 2011 and 2012, so I'm not really surprised.  Too many trips to the 7-Eleven around the corner from my apartment and indulging in those Boston Creme donuts!  Well now it's 2013.  It's a new year, and I'm on my way to a new happy me!  Not only have the Green Monsters helped me along on my latest journey, but blogging sure has helped me with being accountable.  Of course, some days are better than others.  I did have a relapse and gave into a midnight snack craving of Donkey chips, cookies, and it was really a blur as to what else I put in my mouth that night.  I felt pretty lousy when I woke up.  I forced myself to do two workouts that day - one in the a.m. and one in the p.m.  Realizing how grueling that was, next time I have a weak moment, I'll reconsider if I want to eat the 1/4 bag of Donkey chips again!  It's easier to just battle through a craving than do a double 45-minute cardio workout.  Maybe it would be easy had I been athletic all my life.  I've never been athletic during any part of my life.  I'm terrible at playing sports!  I was always picked last, sadly.

Still, this doesn't prevent me from getting my cardio on!  I love the convenience of the exercise dvd's that are available for home use.  Back in my youth, I was always told you needed to join the gym to get a good workout or hire a personal trainer.  Also, because I was never blessed with coordination, I was always told that I would be destined to always be overweight as well.  OMG!  Sorry to turn this into a pity party!

Anyways, I'm so glad the home dvd's exercise craze has gained so much popularity.  I really found this was perfect for someone like me.  Maybe there are a lot of people like me out there, and that's why these at-home fitness programs have such a following.  I am too shy to workout in front of other people or I would just get lazy to drive to the gym or whatever other excuses I could come up with to not go!  I like how all you have to do is pop a disk into your dvd player whenever you want (I've worked out at 2 a.m. before!)  There really are no excuses anymore.  I really love Turbo Fire!  I started out with Turbo Jam, but got use to the workouts and needed to graduate to the next level.  Chalene Johnson is an amazing instructor.  I really like her encouraging style and I'm always drenched in sweat after each workout!  She tells us we are "elite atheletes" whenever I pop in the 55 minute workout.  I tell my fiance that, and he thinks it's so cute because I run around telling him, myself, my dog, now my blog that each time I finish that workout!  I guess I'm just proud of getting through it.  Whenever I have a really bad day and don't want to workout, I hear Chalene Johnson's voice reminding me that working out not only helps you lose weight, feel great, but helps you stay younger looking a lot longer!  Afterall, what girl doesn't want to do everything possible to fight the aging process?!  I've seen some pretty fit 50 year olds that look decades younger than what their driver's license reads... maybe when I hit 50, I can be one of them too:)

Thanks so much for visiting my blog:)

Xo,

Marikym

Thursday, February 14, 2013

LOVE NOTE #182: Happy Valentine's Day!

Thanks B!
Hello Lovelies,

Wishing everyone a beautiful Valentine's Day!  Whether you're single, in a relationship, engaged, or married - let's all celebrate this beautiful day with happy thoughts, positive energy, and kindness!  It's nice to have a day where friends and lovers alike can show appreciation for each other:)  This is hands down my favorite holiday.  Valentine's also comes in my favorite color combination:  pink, white, and red!  It doesn't get more romantic than that... sigh.

My sweet Valentine sent me flowers with love from Boston.  I love flowers.  Roses are my favorite.  Pink in particular!  Although we weren't together this Valentine, we will be celebrating in a few short weeks.  We will be flying to my brother's wedding in March.  We will have a seaside hotel room in Laguna Beach.  Potato hasn't seen his Poppa in so long too.  I'm looking forward to our mini-getaway! 

Xoxoxoxo,

Marikym & Potato

Sunday, February 10, 2013

LOVE NOTE #181: Happy Tet 2013 - Year of the Snake!

1st gen. smart phone camera - pardon the graininess!  Can't wait to upgrade and use my new smart phone for photos:)


Open!  Open! Open!
It is time to say goodbye to the Year of the Dragon and welcome in Year of the Snake!  Every year around this time I get excited because my Mom tells me my Dad will be sending me a care package full of goodies.  Potato gets really excited too because one of his favorite things to eat is Banh Chuong...just like me!

Alongside these goodies, there is a host of superstitious things my parents do.  I can't remember them all, but I do remember no sweeping is allowed.  It is feared that all the good luck will be swept away for the year.  Also, they always walk into the front door before any guests are allowed to do so.  I can't remember why.  I like to tell myself superstitions are silly.

I'd also like to say that I'm not a superstitious person, but all my Asian friends have insisted that I take heed.  One thing I learned was that Chinese are really against anything with the number 4.  I'm don't recall every hearing about this one in the Vietnamese handbook of superstitions.  I remember a Chinese girl who wouldn't move into any apartment unit that had a number 4 in the address because it was considered bad luck.  I guess in Chinese the number 4 is associated with death.  My fiance and I were looking for homes around that time.  I was adamant about not having any home with an address that contained a 4 in it.  I don't know why he willingly obliged to my request.  I don't know why I bought into it either.  It didn't matter if the home was located in a good neighborhood on a quiet cul de sac.  The number 4 illogically negated all the positives of the what could have been that perfect slice of American pie.  Whatever I learned working in real estate didn't matter.  I need to shake these superstitions and not let them influence my decisions!  After all, one of the greatest inventions, the automobile, has four wheels.  Arguably the best import from England, The Beatles, is also known as the Fab Four.  The list goes on and on.

Tet care packages are the best!
At any rate, Potato was rushing me to open up the care package.  He loves boxes, bags... he has grown to learn that things in them can be delicious.  What a smart little boy!  He even loves suitcases - because he knows it's travel time.  It's heartbreaking though, because sometimes he knows it means that he can't always go.  Then he will climb inside my suitcase and not move - no matter how I try to pick him up.  He'll position all his paws and body against the walls of the suitcase so it is impossible for me to take him out.  Sometimes he will growl if i try to pick him up.  If it's not my suitcase, then he will climb into my Vera Bradley large duffle bag.  He will just sit in there waiting patiently until he falls asleep.

We are traveling to Orange County (CA) in about a week.  I'm sure he will be so excited because he will get to go too!  I just really hope he doesn't make a big deal at the airport like the last time.  He was crying and barking in the terminal.  But he was a good boy once we boarded.  I believe slept most of the time as I didn't hear a peep out of him.

Potato examining the goods!  Banh chuong is his fav!
I digress... but yes, thanks to my parents who sent ginger candy (compliments of my Auntie), banh chuong, peanut and sesame candy (My Mom loves making these homemade candies - and they are so good... I just wish she sent me more!), my red li xi bag (that my other Auntie included!), and some dragon fruit. So far Year of the Snake has proven to be quite yummy!

Maybe we will tie the knot at the end of this year too!  Just maybe!  Although it's a widow year.  Something with alignment of celestial bodies.  It's not advisable to get married this year according to the Chinese calender because this means that the husband will die early leaving the wife a widow.  I'm still unclear how much overlap the Vietnamese and Chinese beliefs overlap.  I'm hoping this superstition didn't cross the southeast border of China! If we wait and cross into 2014... well then there is a 4 in that year.  Then 2015 is another widow year... I need to stop Google-ing auspicious wedding dates and just start planning a wedding instead!


 Happy Tet everyone!

 
Xoxoxoxo,

Marikym & Potato

Friday, February 8, 2013

LOVE NOTE #180: Why I love the Dollar Tree!

Lovelies,

I'll understand your sentiment if you're thinking, 'Who shops at the Dollar Tree?'  In fact, the fiance doesn't understand why I get so excited when I tell him I'm heading out to the Dollar Tree.  He says he has never understood why I would even go there.  I chalk it up to his snobbery.  He doesn't even like Walmart.  But it's okay.  We can have our differences and it still does not deter me from shopping at places that give the best bang for the buck!  I feel like a kid in a candy store!!

I don't know any other store where the price is perfectly clear:  One dollar (plus tax!)  True, there are certain things I wouldn't think to purchase there.  I'm a bit particular when it comes to my shampoos, lotions, and body soaps.  However, when it comes to buying household cleaning products, consider this place a score.  I don't think my floors or tubs will care if I'm using name brand detergents in order to get their sparkle on.  Don't get me started on sponges.  I was stuck and had to buy them from CVS.  Two sponges at CVS cost me $4.19.  I could get two of the same type of sponges at the Dollar Tree.  Over a 400% price difference.  Yikes.  Since I'm constantly replacing my shower liners, I would stock up on these at the Dollar Tree too!

This store is great for teachers and students alike.  So you won't be able to find the G-2 pens here (I love those!), but think pencils, ballpoints, paper, crayons, highlighters... and list goes on and on.  You can even decorate your home on a dime for every single holiday, from Halloween, Christmas, Valentine's, St. Patrick's Day and beyond!  They have a great kitchen supplies area too.  I like to get my ziplock baggies here!

A lot of DIY brides get their glass vases for their centerpieces from the Dollar Tree (I discovered this from the posts on Weddingbee!)  Okay, you're not going to get the same selection as the Pottery Barn (I love Nico's floral design tips on Youtube!  I'm obsessed with his accent!)  But you won't get Pottery Barn's vase price... multiplied by 12 or more either!  And for a day's usage, I wouldn't consider it (budget bride here...but if you can afford it, I'm really envious!)  So if you are looking for some pretty basic glass vases, shop here first.  Dollar Tree carries traditional vases to even those modern short vases that are on trend right now.  And since most brides will have to buy around a dozen or so, $12 bucks is a dream come true for brides on a budget!  They even carry silk flowers (some brides prefer these to the real ones!)  But I noticed that you will probably have to drive around to different Dollar Tree stores to get the flowers you need (or supplement with ordering on Ebay) because they don't have a large quantity of the silks if you want to have all the flowers matchy-matchy.
 
 Oh, and the candles!  They have these 3 oz. glass jar candles that burn so well and smell so good!  I love the linen and vanilla scents.  I wish there was a wider selection on scents,  but what they do have is awesome!  Who knew that these would work so well for only a buck?

In fact, I will be getting my candles from here for my candelabras for my wedding day!  Since I'll be needing around 35-40, I won't break the bank because I'll be spending less that $40.  Similar ones from Yankee (I love that place and I use to work there!) would cost $10.99 (price on their website) for a 3.7 oz jar.  That would be well over $400 dollars on candles.  I can't burn that much cash (literally) and be able to sleep well at night.  Which reminds me, I better go stock up on these candles and have them ready for my big day.

Whatever we end up saving here, we will be allocating to the photographer.  OhhhEmmmGee, photographers are pricey.  But if they can capture the mood and the moment so I can hold onto them forever...heck, I'll sell both my arms.  Maybe with some of the cash I save from the Dollar Tree, I'll only have to give up one.  This is one area where a bride should take the time and do her research!  Find a good photographer whose portfolio you like, read his/her reviews on Weddingwire, meet with them to negotiate your package, and then place the deposit.  I've read so many horror stories of brides who never got their photographs or the photographer never showed up on their wedding day.  If you are reading a ton of bad reviews on a particular photographer, it's probably a red flag and you should keep shopping (don't be lured by price alone!)  We are saving a lot on our centerpieces.  It will only cost me about $500-600 for all our flowers and centerpieces!  Not only do I find it fun to make my own flowers, but we will be saving at least $3000 from what the florist quoted me.  Since I will be playing florist, this means we will be able to hire a videographer as well.  Yay!  Kinda weird I'm so excited about this since I don't like to see myself on film.  I'm not exactly the most photogenic person, but hopefully the eyes behind the lenses that day will be able to create a little magic and transform this little duck into a swan... or at least find my best angle.  I always cringe a bit when I see myself in photographs...sigh... so insecure sometimes.

Anyways, if you are on a tight budget or just want more value for your dollar, don't overlook the Dollar Tree!  This makes me feel less guilty when I do end up splurging on paraphernalia with interlocking CC's! 

XoX,

Marikym


Thursday, February 7, 2013

LOVE NOTE #179: Carrot Smoothie Kinda Day!

Hello Lovelies,

Here's to my 11th day of my smoothie cleanse.  Whoop-whoop!  And the pounds keep coming off.  Maybe one day I won't be known as the Chubby Vietnamese Girl!  The constant "constructive criticism" from my friends, family, and acquaintances sure has done a number on my self image.  I get it.  They are just trying to help.  Some days, I don't want to be helped.

Another incentive for me to stick with it this time was because I had to counsel an obese teenage girl on weight loss.  She looked at me up and down with a screwy look on her face as if she was wondering, 'What does SHE know about weight loss?!'  At that time, I was overweight too.  At least the patient was polite about it, and didn't say anything.  But her expression was evident.  My attending in charge told me I had to give her recommendations on eating healthier.  I was a hypocrite that day.  I just ate 1 & 1/2 donuts for breakfast.  I washed it down with some super sweet cocoa and coffee concoction.  I don't ever want to be in that position again.  Nothing like humiliation to make you want to change your ways, right?  Besides, who is gonna take weight-loss advice from a fat doctor?! 

It's so hard sometimes.  Some days I just give into that bag of Donkey Tortilla Chips (my favorite brand!)  At least the salsa that goes with it is healthy, right?  But for 11 days now, all those "constructive" comments I've filed away in my mental Rolodex have been fueling my fire.  Instead of being sad, I'm mad.  Now I'm fighting the good fight against fat.  And it's working!  They all mean well, I know.  Heck, I've seen Jillian Michaes berate her team members to the point of tears.  Tough love.

Every day it's a battle with me when it comes to food.  Every day I need to be cognizant of what I put into my body.  The smoothies sure make keeping track a lot easier.  It's just vegetables, fruit, yogurt, and (soy or almond) milk.  I have always loved reading weight loss success stories.  One day, I hope to become one - reaching my ideal weight and posting before and after photos.  I'm not ready for that... yet!

 In the meanwhile, here's the smoothie recipe I made today.  Instead of greens, I chose carrots and mangos for my breakfast smoothie (and a handful of frozen banana slices - I love bananas!)

  • 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt (or regular yogurt works fine - but I don't find it as filling)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  •  1/2 cup carrot chips (I'm too lazy to slice them myself so I love buying them prepped and ready to go!)
  • 1/2 cup of frozen mangos
  • 1/2 frozen banana (optional) 
Blend it all up and gulp it all down.  Tastes so good and makes me feel great!   Thanks for reading!  I hope it inspires you to make positive lifestyle changes too.  It's time for my lunch smoothie now...until the next time:)

XoX,

Marikym

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

LOVE NOTE #178: Hello Kale!

Lovelies!

I got adventurous today with my Green Monster and made it with kale.  What is kale?!  I know, right?  If I ever tried it, it must have been buttered and sauteed... well beyond the point of recognition.  As what I purchased today definitely doesn't look like anything I would consider putting in my mouth.  This green was a lot more intimidating than the spinach I have grown to love.  Unlike the delicate leaves and mild flavor of spinach, kale can leave an aftertaste.  The stalk and leaves are much more dense as well, akin to... shrubbery.  The kind of shrubbery you might find in a botanical garden...whose roots should remain firmly planted in the soil kinda shrubbery.  I don't know... but it really made me scared!  But  I knew too that I had to rotate my greens.  I had been drinking spinach for a solid week, so I forced myself to get over my fear today.

So I gave it a whirl.  The color of the smoothie was beautiful - a shocking bright green.  Mother nature sure creates colors that are difficult to replicate in the lab.  However, my advice with kale is to use a lot more fruit to mask its flavor.  In fact, I will need to listen to my own tip next time.  No wonder all the smoothie aficionados would warn us newbies to start with spinach then work your way up to other greens.  I get it now.  The good news is that I powered through it... drank it raw - leaves, stems and all.  There is no way I would have been able to consume this in its natural raw state otherwise.  I have trouble with my greens, like most of us do... but putting it in a smoothie solves that issue.  My only regret is that I didn't start this sooner.  Oh well, it's never too late...

 
Here is what I used:

  • 1/4 cup nonfat plain yogurt (you can use Greek too!)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla/plain almond milk
  • 1 whole frozen banana (or you can use frozen berries like I pictured above.  I would definitely recommend about a 3/4 to a cup of very ripe/sweet frozen fruit if you want to mask the kale!)
  • a stalk of kale (there is definitely a "green" taste to this so start slow!)


So the verdict?  I'm very glad I started with spinach in my Green Monsters!  If I had started with kale, I may have given up on trying to drink my raw veggies.  I feel I didn't use enough ripe and frozen fruit in this particular smoothie, so I could definitely taste the kale.  So I didn't enjoy it very much.  Will I continue to use kale?  Absolutely... but with a lot more fruit.  Again, if you are a newbie to the whole Green Monster Smoothie wagon, I would recommend starting with spinach and working your way up to kale...unless of course, you like kale.

I also purchased collard greens which I will try next!  It's not as scary looking as kale because it is more leafy, like spinach.  I'll let you know how that turns out.  In 9 days I have lost 7 pounds.  As any girl (or guy!) would feel... it's total AMAZE-balls! I know a lot of it is water weight, but it's so motivational when you step on the scale and see it move in the direction it hasn't gone in so long.  Then it gets me excited to put in my workout for the day too.  The ball keeps rolling ... even though at times it's rolling uphill... with me pushing it with a lot of effort.

This is not a crash diet because I'm getting so many nutrients from the greens and I'm getting my calcium, vitamins and what not from the yogurt and milk.  I tried both the regular and the Greek yogurt.  I think the Greek yogurt helps me feel fuller longer.  I think once I'm done with this carton, I'll be sticking to the Greek yogurt from now on (and Dr. Oz always like to mention that consuming Greek yogurt in helping with weight loss!)  I don't think my diet has ever been this healthy.  I've never enjoyed eating vegetables.  But drinking them is a different story!

Even though I'm reducing my caloric intake, I'm getting the right kinds of foods into my body for once.  The issue with me has always been my love for carbs.  I cut a lot of that out.  Not that it doesn't exist in my diet, but it has been greatly reduced.  Whenever I eat carbs, it's like it sticks to my body and the scale doesn't budge (I can see why Atkins was so successful!)  Again, I did combine it with a ton of cardio - I paid my dues.  I did a smoothie for breakfast and one for lunch.  I ate a normal dinner and enjoyed my coffee and cookies (within moderation!)  Like I wrote in my previous post, I never felt deprived.  I really hope I can keep this up for all of February, maybe beyond.  Don't get me wrong.  I passed by 7-Eleven today and saw my friend, Boston Creme donut, trying to flag me down... toxic and addictive relationship.  I quickly glanced away and kept walking, pretending not to see... one day at a time...

XoX,

Marikym


Sunday, February 3, 2013

LOVE NOTE #177: DIY Centerpieces - Easy, Fun, and Save a Ton!

Hello Lovelies,
Hydrangeas & roses are my favorite  - My DIY wedding centerpieces!

Oh me, Oh my.  I know.  We still don't have a date yet.  I mentioned the notion of going down the route of JP or just flying off to somewhere exotic...just the two of us... confessing our love for each other for the rest of our lives... with a bunch of sentimentals (I know this is not a real word) spoken right before we both say - I DO!  Wouldn't that be so romantic and sweet?  Oh, and it helps eliminate all the family drama - at least within earshot.  I don't have much patience for that type of nonsense.  My energies are much better spent stewing over clever phrases and completing another chapter of my hopefully one day best seller;)  I seem to have fragments of my book scattered all over the place.  I digress.  Well, my idea of eloping kinda... sorta...really... COMPLETELY got vetoed by the Mr.  He said, "We should have a nice wedding."  Shouldn't I be the one saying that??

(The Fiance and I!  Willis Tower on our 11th year anniversary!  We've been together forever...just gotta make it legal!)
 I guess sometimes things are just meant to be. Afterall, I did win a gorgeous gown from Maggie Sottero (I still can't believe they picked my story out of 5,000 submissions!   10 stories were chosen in total!)  The gown is so pretty, and I always wanted to walk down the aisle in a Maggie Sottero.  I guess it would be nice if guests could be there to see it and not just via photo.  I'm just a bit shy, and the thought of a room full of people just staring at me the whole time as I walk down the aisle makes me nervous!  Not only will my nerves be all wacky, but I'll be even more accident prone as I plan to walk down the aisle in sky-high heels (I'm only 5'1"!)The visual of the classic trip and fall walking down the aisle comes to mind - which is really freaking me out just about now.  On a positive note, I have had my heart set on a beautiful and  intimate location that actually serves bottomless wine, beer, and champagne.  So, it will feel like a party!  In a way, it's destination since I haven't lived in SoCal for over 10 years!  Maybe this will be the best of both worlds afterall:)

The venue isn't cheap but it is affordable.  After factoring in how much is included, it comes out to be a very good value - particularly for Orange County.  The only thing I would need to take care of are my personal bouquets, DJ, Videographer/Photographer, & officiant.  They provide the cake, centerpieces, different linen combinations, silverware, wedding coordinator(s), ceremony and reception areas with NO PROPERTY RENTAL FEE!  So basically everything to alleviate the anything I will surely forget.  The upstairs has an intimate outdoor chapel that is whimsically decorated with flowers, fountains, and lights.  It definitely does feel like another place and time, so pretty but without the pretense.  Downstairs is where the reception will be held.  There is even a charming antique gazebo where the cake will be displayed.  It really has all the elements that I didn't know I even wanted.  I shared photos of the venue to my fiance, and at first he said, "Why is there so much going on?  Weddings do not look like that around here."  Around here being on the East Coast.  I must admit, it is rather eclectic, even for SoCal, but still so very romantic.  The outdoor French Country Garden venue is nestled in the canyons of Laguna Beach.  As I showed him more and more photos, he began to actually like the unique style.  When I told him that they would let Potato attend and it is a venue that has been open to same sex weddings for the past 2 decades (we are very liberal and believe that everyone has the right to choose who they love... but another topic for another day!)  He agreed then and there that it would be the "perfect" place for us to get married. 

After the fiance said no to my idea of JP-ing it to get our love legal (which I'm actually now happy about!), I did some contemplating.  If we were going to go down the more traditional route, I thought maybe having my own centerpieces would be a fun way to incorporate a little bit of my personality into the wedding.  Although the venue provides gorgeous white orchids, I have always been more of a pink roses and white hydrangeas kinda girl.  And did I mention I am also a candelabra kinda girl too?  I guess I just realized it when I decided I really wanted to put some personal touches on an otherwise perfectly gorgeous venue.  Too bad they don't make any deductions if I provide my own centerpieces.  Curious as to what my vision would cost to create, I contacted a florist with very good reviews, and she quoted me $3500-4000.  I'm not even having a large wedding.  Probably around 130-150, at most.  Gah.  I freaked out.  Panicked.  Wanting to walk down the JP route again and just calling it quits.  Just before I did... I started to entertain the thought of DIY flowers.  Could it be possible?  Could my idea actually be translated into reality?  Could my vision of roses and hydrangeas gracing every table still stay within our wedding budget?!?!

Thanks to Weddingbee.com and Youtube, I realized it IS possible!  The brides on Weddingbee mentioned some awesome wholesale flower companies - fiftyflowers.com, Costco, and local wholesale flower marts - to name a few.  I started to get really excited because I have always loved crafting.  When I found out that I could get some "shabby chic" ivory candelabras with some hanging crystals for around $18 a piece online, I couldn't wait to do a mock up of my centerpieces.  I was surprised at how much you could save when buying hydrangeas and roses wholesale.  I called the local wholesale flower mart in Orange County, and she said that two dozen roses would cost around $17.50 and hydrangeas would be $2.50 per stem.  Ummmmm, awesome?!?!  Although you could get better deals at the Los Angeles flower district, I figured after factoring in the hour-long drive, parking fees, and all around headache of the infamous L.A. traffic - paying a little extra for a  flower mart within 10 minutes from my parents home would mean I would end up breaking even...nice.

(Potato wanted to be pictured in the blog today!)
I read reviews on the Orange County Wholesale Flower Mart.  They were mixed on Yelp, but some of it was based on comparing it to the flower district in L.A.  It's like comparing Disneyland to Disney World.  Something you just do not do.  Ever.  The L.A. flower district is like the mecca of wholesale flowers.  Other reviews were based on customer service.  This isn't a huge deal breaker since I just want fresh and beautiful hydrangeas and rose available without paying retail!  When I called the flower mart, the lady seemed very sweet and helpful over the phone.  They recommend you pick your flowers up a day in advance of your wedding, which is convenient because it is located so close to my home and this would ensure that they would be fresh (they are open Monday-Saturday).  One bride said she picked them up the morning of her wedding even and left with a ton of flowers for about $300!  What a gutsy move, but she said it worked out and the flowers were lovely.

 So, I priced everything out and calculated that I could do all my wedding flowers (centerpieces including the cost of the candelabras & candles, bouquets, boutonnieres, floral tape, ribbons, miscellaneous supplies!) for around $500-600.  Amazing!  I really didn't think it would be possible to get the look I wanted or even something close to it, and still remain within budget.  So I never seriously looked into it because we felt it was more important to allocate our funds towards a good videographer/photographer, food and DRINKS.  It's really nice that our wedding package will include a hosted soft bar for the entire reception.  I'm pretty sure the guests will end up enjoying that aspect of our wedding more than the centerpieces... no doubt! 

In order to get a feel for what the centerpieces would look like, I decided to do a mock up.  I ordered one candelabra to see what it would look like, purchased some floral foam, and went to Trader Joe's to get some hydrangeas and roses.  I crossed my fingers and toes hoping it wouldn't look like a complete disaster - hopefully halfway decent.  I held my breath when I opened the box that was delivered with the candelabra.  Although I read overall good reviews, you just never know when you order something online.  And much to my surprise and delight when I did the unboxing, it was exactly what I wanted!  It will tie in so well with the French Country theme of the venue - so girly, romantic, and lends a touch of vintage!  I then turned to the flowers.  I actually assembled the hydrangeas and roses in about 5 minutes.  It was so easy!  Again, I watched Youtube videos and was inspired by a floral designer, Alexandra Lyons, who works with celebrities.  She created a centerpiece with hydrangeas and roses.  It looks so simple yet so elegant.  I loved it.  Taking her tips, I created my own version and was so happy with it. When I showed the fiance photos (he is in Boston working and I am in Chicago finishing my rotations for medical school), he said it was very nice.  I asked him if he thought I needed to add more flowers, but he said it was perfect.  The two side arms will elevate glass enclosed candles.  Since the candelabra is rather ornate with the dangling crystals and the metal has a bit of fancy scroll work, I wanted to keep the floral arrangement simple but still pretty - and to me, roses and hydrangeas are definitely at the top of my pretty scale!

(Floral foam $1 a piece @ Dollar Tree!)
I played around with floral foam and tested to see how long the roses and hydrangeas would last.  They did wilt within 24 hours (I don't know if the Oasis brand will be better as I only used floral foam for the dollar store!)  So if I decide to use floral foam, I would have to do the centerpieces the morning of the wedding.  I only used 1/4 of the cylinder for my flower arrangements.  Extremely cost effective.  Then I thought about using silk flowers because they are so convenient.  They are so appealing  because they will never wilt, you can make them months in advance, and keeping them forever.  However, I always wanted fresh flowers for my wedding centerpieces so I scratched the idea.  It's just personal preference.  I have definitely seen some enviable silk flower arrangements that are amazing and they look so REAL!!

(using floral foam)
Then I experimented with the idea of placing it in a shallow bowl.  The roses and hydrangeas are holding up much better with no wilting.   It's been about 5 days and my hydrangeas and roses still look so fresh.  I most likely will go down the route of reusing candle jars (thinking green!) This way, I can make these centerpieces a couple days in advance instead of the morning of our wedding.  It's much easier too - all I have to do is snip the stems to the desired length and plop them into the "vases" - much less arranging than using floral foam.

Working with floral foam was tricky because I had to take apart the hydrangea and strategically place it on the foam in order to conceal it.  Without the use of green fillers, I would need to use more flowers (which would mean cutting into the budget!)  Also, once you insert the stem, you can't (shouldn't) remove it or air bubbles will develop and reduce the water source to the stem.  Evidently, it was frustrating for me to work with the foam.  I guess I'll leave floral foam to the pros!  Also, I'll be doing my own hand-tie bouquets which will consist of roses - simple and classic.  If I do only roses and 2 dozen of them, it will be less than $20 including the ribbon!  The florist quoted me $150 (with tax and service charge - it would be $191!!)  I should have gone to florist school instead of med school...

(Top View - arrangement placed in glass bowl)
Anyways, if you are contemplating doing your own flowers for your wedding, I highly recommend it.  Watch Youtube tutorials so you can get ideas and learn some basic techniques.  Yes, there is more planning involved, but your pocket book will really thank you later.  It can save you a ton of cash.  In my case, at least $3000!  To be fair, she did use more flowers in her arrangements and she did use floral foam - so her technique did require more skill.

Something else really got to me.  It would be nice to let our guests take home the centerpieces  if they wanted at the end of the evening.  The florist informed me that the candelabras would be a rental so that I would need to return those to her at the end of our wedding.  Not only would we not get to keep the candelabras to give away, she would be charging a service fee of about $600.  This didn't even include one flower, not even a petal.  All parts of this equation weren't really adding up for me.  And for less than $600 dollars with a bit of elbow grease, I could do all the flowers myself.  Thank you anyways.

I'm really delighted at how these turned out and I can't believe they only cost $25 a piece!  And after all was said and done - taxes and service charge, each of the florist's centerpieces would be around $200.  Yes, they were very beautiful, but not $200 a table beautiful...okay, they really were $200 a table beautiful.  However, that would have really destroyed our budget.  And if you have a limitless budget, please stop reading the rest of my post as this will not apply to you <sigh of jealousy>.  I told my fiance the total cost if we did our own flowers, naturally, he was extremely pleased;)  Maybe we can spend more on our honeymoon (perhaps a trip to Paris and London?!) 

For budget brides like myself:  if you had a moment of temporary loss of oxygen to the brain after the sticker shock from your florist's quote, take a moment and just breath.  I did.  Then I ate a rainbow sprinkled donut.  And guzzled my Dunkaccino from DD's.  My senses were restored.  Nothing like some sugar and caffeine to boost my mood!  Clarity and creativity started to flow through my veins.  My candelabra with fresh flowers and candles - all for $25.  The candelabra adds a little bit of drama to an otherwise simple floral arrangement.  Speaking of drama, I'm sure something will happen at our wedding among all our family and friends.  Looking at it from the glass half full, I guess it will just give me more material to weave into my future best seller;)  So behave people, or else you will always wonder if the villainous character was in part, based on you;)

If you want to/have to live frugal but still want to do it fabulously, can't work a florist into your wedding budget, and have your heart set on fresh flowers - please consider DIY!  Definitely do trial runs a few weeks in advance (in my case a few months+ since I still don't have my wedding date!)   This way you will be more confident and relaxed when you are preparing your flowers for your actual wedding day.  I know my centerpieces are a mix of candles and flowers, and the main cost went towards the candelabra.  Some brides may want more flowers, so you can definitely outfit each table with two dozen roses and a classic glass vase for around $20!  You can get glass vases for $1 at the Dollar Tree.  They have standard glass vases, colored vases, and even those short modern square vases.  They are a good weight and look great.  You're only using them for a day anyways, so I don't know why you would want to spend more if you don't have to, right?  DIY does require some more planning and shopping around, but hunting for good bargains can be fun!  If you use less expensive flowers like carnations, you can stretch your budget even more.  So have fun and get creative!

I hope this DIY post was helpful (though long winded!)  I apologize for my  harp on florists and their fees.  I guess I was just trying to drive the message home that it is possible to have beautiful fresh flowers on your wedding day, without having to break the bank! 

Xo,

Marikym


Saturday, February 2, 2013

LOVE NOTE #176: Green Monster Smoothie!

Hello Lovelies!

I've been feeling rather sluggish lately.  In part, fueled by my addiction to those Boston Cream donuts at 7-Eleven. Huge sugar high, then that inevitable crash.  It always tastes worth it, then I feel so guilty afterwards. For the last year and a half, I've been struggling to lose the 10-15 pounds I've gained.  I'll lose 5 then gain 5, over and over again.  Always back at square one.  The donuts haven't helped my cause, I know.  I'm sure I've plateaued with my current eating habits.  So being the sometimes rational person that I am, I realized it was time to change something.  Yes, starting with the donuts of course!

Here is where the Green Monster comes into play.  Blame it on Dr. Oz... in a good way though!  He always likes to talk about drinking smoothies to kick start his day and how filling and delicious these can be.  He talks about the health benefits both in terms of nutrition and being able to lose/maintain an ideal weight with these anti-oxidant packed smoothies.  Although I use to make fruit-blended smoothies and loved them, I had never thought of adding vegetables - particularly spinach.  I was scared, skeptical, and excited about the thought of whipping up my first glassful.  Scared at how "vegetable-y" it would taste, skeptical at how filling they would be, but excited that I may actually be able to shed those pounds and hopefully quit this yo-yo effect that has been plaguing me for the last year and a half<sigh!>  I still follow the Weight Watchers Points Plus system.  However, I've noticed my choices have been far too many carbs lately!  I have also been borrowing too many of my weekly allowance points and hustling to get activity points as well because I would run out of my weekly allowance points (vicious cycle!)  Much to my dismay, the scale has been moving in the wrong direction lately.  I had to do something about this - and change can mean a good thing!

Super Easy Green Monster Smoothie Recipe (only 4 ingredients!):

  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened Vanilla/Original Almond Milk
  • 1/4 cup of nonfat regular/Greek plain yogurt
  • 2-3 cups of spinach
  • 1/2-1 frozen banana (make sure to peel and cut it before you freeze it!)
 -or-
  •  1/2 - 3/4 cup frozen berries, cherries, or mangos work well (I use whatever is available and often times mix up my fruits!  Adding frozen fruits not only helps sweeten the smoothie but makes the smoothie thicker & colder.  You can freeze your own fruits or buy them already frozen which helps save even more time!)



Place into a blender and mix.  There are special blenders for smoothies that can cost a small fortune (Vitamix is pretty pricey but has good reviews).  I just used a standard blender that cost around $15 from Walmart and it works great. Voila!  Oh my goodness it's sooooo good... and filling!  I feel full for about 4 hours!  I did feel like I was cheating though... because how could something so delicious really be this good for you?!?!  And only come out to 1 Points Plus on the Weight Watchers system?!  The milk was 1/2 a point and the yogurt was 1/2 a point.  Free (zero) points for fruits and veggies.  I love how this ensures that I get my daily recommended allowance of fruits and veggies.

 I have more energy and I know I'm doing something good for the only bod I'll get in this lifetime.  The frozen fruits really masked any weird spinach taste I thought I would experience. Oh, and in one week, I dropped 5 pounds!  I did combine this with Turbo Fire (at home cardio/kickboxing dvd).  Some days, I would do a double (two workouts!)  I've never lost 5 pounds in a week either. But then again, I'm a total carboholic - and I've seriously cut back my carbs by drinking these Green Monsters.  I have less cravings because I'm so seriously full.  I had a shake for breakfast and one for lunch.  I eat almonds (obsessed with the wasabi-flavored ones from Trader Joe's!) or some light string cheese as snacks.  I still drank coffee whenever I felt like it (I use sugar free Coffeemate hazelnut or vanilla flavored cream).  I even enjoyed the Biscoff Lotus cookies from Belgium with my coffee (afterall, the package says they are meant to be enjoyed with your coffee... I willingly oblige!)  During dinner, I would just eat a normal meal.  A sensible dish that even included carbs - rice, pasta, breads (gasp!) with chicken, fish, pork, or beef, etc.  I even ate dessert (Smart Ones for portion control!)

I can't believe that I didn't feel deprived this whole week.  I waited a full week to post - to see what would happen!  This is a great way to lose weight and feel great.  It's a piece of cake now to get in my recommended daily servings of fruits and vegetables too.  By making your own smoothies, you also avoid a lot of the additives, preservatives, and sugars that are in commercially prepared weight-loss shakes.  I've never been able to finish a large bag of spinach before its expiration date, until now.  In fact, I'm constantly having to go to the market to stock up on something I use to dread eating.

Combining the Green Monster with my Turbo Fire and Jillian Michael's at-home workouts, only time will tell how much weight I will lose.  I must say, so far I'm off to a good start!  Yay!  I still can't believe how drastically my carb and sweet cravings have been reduced.  So awesome!  The 5 pound weight loss payoff is phenomenal.  I very well may be at my ideal weight sooner than I thought was possible...whoop-whoop!

Cheers to health and yumminess:)

XoX,

Marikym