Sunday, June 29, 2014

High Waist Jeans!


Are back in fashion!!!!  Better known as the Mom Jean.  But funny thing is, the new breed doesn't seem to look like a throwback, if anything it's a fresh remake that makes me want more.  And it holds in my muffin top.  For people who don't have one, I use to drink haterade thinking of you.  Not anymore!  Now I can fake an hourglass shape just with these magical threads.  Oh, and combine it with the push-up technology too... I won't feel guilty if I missed my kettlebell booty routine.  

I guess it's the hype in the denim world since the spring of 2014.  Talk about awesome sauce.  No more having to pull up my jeans or worrying if I drop and pen and try to pick it up if I will end up with an x-rated bottom half.  Ohhh, and talk about bringing back the crop top!  I always liked that look!  Crop top and high -waisted jeans!  Casual and cute!  

Saturday, June 28, 2014

Summer Brights!

So pretty!

Perfect Name!

I love it when B comes back from the market with some pretty flowers!  It always brightens my day - and I've always loved flowers from the market for some reason - simply and pretty!  

XoX

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Bargain Shopping!

Canon SX40 HS - New Used!

Scored a super-sweet deal on eBay:) I have been eyeing the SLR market, but they are a bit out of my price range and the guilt of spending all that money right now would make me never want to take the camera out of its case to actually learn how to use it.  And then the whole learning curve thing... Maybe in a year or so when I get residency I'll look into a beginner DSLR, but until then, this bridge camera will do the trick.  It has an amazing zoom - 35mm!!!! To save some money, I didn't get the latest model - that would have cost me a little over 400 for the SX50 model.  Even the used ones right now are running for $350 - not a huge savings considering this is about 2 years old.  The SX60 is rumored to be coming out in the fall of 2014.  

So I did the next best thing:  a little bit of an older model with virtually the same specs as the latest.  The main difference is the zoom (30mm vs 50mm).  But what kills me?  There is no remote shutter on my camera.   Gah.  I did get it for about $100 (a steal!  On Amazon they are $350 and used ones are around $180!) and the seller included a nice LowPro bag and a mini tripod:)  A vast improvement from my tiny pink pocket Canon P&S with only 8 mp and a 3mm zoom - an almost 10 year old camera is on it's last leg:(

You can only imagine how excited I was waiting for this to arrive in the mail!  And when it did, It felt like such a special day -  my brand new used camera - the only thing that can ever bring you back in time - a photograph.  The girl who owned it previously had only used it on special occasions and owned it for only 1.5 years.  So it was a true bargain, indeed.

Now, like I mentioned before , it didn't have a remote shutter release like the latest model.  That's important when you want to be in the pictures too - without having to ask strangers to take a photo of you, or having to set the timer and hope you can run fast enough to be in the frame with everyone else.  I was contemplating selling this one and upgrading. But that's an extra couple hundred I just don't have right now (I wonder what it's like to be rich that a couple hundred is like a nickel or dime to them... sigh... to not have a budget... my fantasy world!)

Fortunately, I was able to find a forum called CHDK.  They give you all sorts of tricks to, well, trick your Canon out.  And one of those is installing a remote wireless shutter.   Wish me luck as I try to get that figured out!  At least there is an THAT option.  It looks complicated because you have to make (like in legit soldering and wire cutting!) the remote control.  I will keep researching to see if there is a way around it.

Besides that, it's an amazing camera.  Tons of features.  I don't even know what all these buttons mean yet!  It will take me awhile to learn them, but I'm excited about it:)  I think I will be having quite a long love affair with my new hobby:). 

Speaking of learning...I accidentally had it on manual the first time I used it and I didn't know what I was doing.  The test shots came out blurry.  I started freaking out and thought the camera was defective.  I played around with it and figured out the auto mode - voila!  Problem solved. Crystal clear.  After that happened, I'm super glad I didn't jump into a SLR - I would have been super frustrated.  In fact, some pro photogs like this camera to take along when they travel and don't feel like lugging around expensive and heavy SLR equipment and having to worry about multiple lenses.  So they are just like you and me, they just want to take good photos with a click sometimes too.  Life happens so quick that you don't have time to worry about aperture and shutter speed and ISO.  I guess I'll leave that up to the pros for now:)  Sometimes you just want to capture that moment already (think impatient human subject - not naming anyone's fiancĂ©...)  And you know what?  This camera does that just fine:).  

Xo

Saturday, June 7, 2014

80's Are Back!

My first very own Caboodles!
Dunno if I will send away for the nameplate... oh who am I kidding?  Of course I will!
I didn't know I owned so many lipsticks!  Maybe I'm turning a new leaf... being organized can be fun... if you have a Caboodles:)

All the cool girls had one!  I always wanted one but never got around to getting one when I was a kid.  Besides,  I was never really all that organized.  As my fiancĂ© calls me, "Naturally messy" ... whatevs.  I don't know why that's necessarily a bad thing. What can I say, I'm super chill when it comes to things like that... at least he can appreciate me not being crazy anal.

Enter this little organizer.  Both of us will be happier now.  Not only will this be blast from the past, but he will not have to trip over my hairbrush or find a misplaced lipstick in the bed.  Oooops.  I forget and just put things wherever for some reason.  But I know exactly where I put them anyways.  but he doesn't get it and moves it then I can't find it ... then we get annoyed with each other.  Words are exchanged.  So none of that rigamarole anymore.  My fault ... I realize...

Anyways, now I'll always know where all beauty products are located because they won't have to be moved.  I admit sometimes I put things in awkward spots.  Well, problem solved!  There is even a little mirror inside.  I like all the little trays and compartments as well.  It doesn't seem to be the most durable makeup case and there was a much more durable organizer available in the crafts aisle.  But who cares?  It's a piece of pop culture, it is pink, and it was only $12.97 at Walmart!  Love!!!!

Speaking of the 80's... high-waist jeans are making a huge comeback.  Cannot wait to get a pair... no more muffin top!!!!

XoX

Friday, June 6, 2014

Lash Attack!

Maybelline Colossal Volum' Express!

I was born with short, straight, wimpy ASIAN lashes.  It would have been such a sad thing had I not me Maybelline years ago.  When it comes to drugstore mascaras, I've had the most luck with Maybelline.  I got this on sale at Rite Aid for around 5 bucks.  Usually I like to wear Great Lash Lots of Lashes, but I was instantly drawn to the hot pink tube.  It was cheap and cheerful and makes me look like I have lashes!  I purchased it in Black Glam and I love how it builds volume, length and hold a curl.  I'm not sure if it will replace my Great Lash, but it definitely is something I would consider repurchasing.  The formula is neither to wet or too dry and I like the fat brush that had a unique curve to it.  Check it out the next time you need a new tube of mascara:) 

Xox

Thursday, June 5, 2014

Bumpin' Booty for Under $30? Fo Sho!!

I
Levanta Cola jeans came in the mail today!  Yes!  Are these gonna make my booty bumpin'?
Iffy on the bedazzling...but actually growing on me as I type!
Special faded fabric (darker sides and lighter in the middle) and stitching slim and lift!

Gahhhhh!  Waiting an eternity (okay ordered Tuesday and it was only two days but felt sooo long!) for these bad boys to get to me from eBay.  I was so nervous because I had no idea how these would fit.  Small? True to size? Large?  All I knew was I had to give it a shot because most of the jeans on the market just did not fit my weird body.  Or maybe it was just because I was shopping in stores geared towards the wrong demographics. 

Let me explain.   Back in the day (high school years through college!) I use to frequent a little shop called Fashion Gal in Santa Ana, California.  My friends and family never understood my obsession with this little shop and always asked why I didn't just go to South Coast Plaza and get my clothes there.  Well first, it was way cheaper!  Second, the pants just seemed to fit me like a dream.  No gaping waist, no squished kaboosh.  I didn't really pay much attention although I was aware that mainly Latin/Mexican girls shopped there.  

I didn't put two and two together until just recently.  In fact, I've been blaming my body for its inability to fit into clothing.  And beating myself up each time another woman would tell me I needed to lose weight or why such body part is shaped the way it is - XL for my frame.  Thanks.  Can we say body dysmorphia????  I don't know how many times I've been told, "Wow you wear a smaller size than you look!"  Huh?  Sorry?  Why do you care so much said friend(s)?  True, my diet can be improved.  I work out a ton and I'm guilty of undoing my workouts by overeating.  

Anyways enough of my ranting sob story.  I'm not rail thin, not even close.  Blame it on my diet and some weird morph in my genetics (I know it's mainly my diet though - I'm not gonna lie!) - my hips, thighs, and butt (and calves too!) are much more generous in size than many of my Asian sistas. Making it super hard to find jeans. Until now...

I stumbled on butt-lifting jeans on the internet.  I don't remember how... I don't even need new jeans right now (Hello, I love Pajama Jeans!  They just don't look nice enough to wear out unless it's to the supermarket because they bag out and attract Potato furr!)  Anyways, once I read about these miracle pantalones, I became obsessed and ordered a pair right away.  

I'm glad I did!  These Columbian/Brazilian/Latin designed jeans have that super stretchy fabric and the way they cut them doesn't flatten out my behind!  Super comfortable and just adjusts to your shape... instead of the other way around.  These are the pants I remember from back in the day... from Fashion Gal!  They are super cute and keep their shape (no bagging out!)  The material is thinner (in between typical denim and jeggings) so these would be great for travel since they are so stretchy (no more having to pop the buttons of my jeans on a plane ride anymore!)  I'm sold!  And the price?  You can get them for under 30 bucks on eBay!  The size might be tricky, but I ordered a size 5 and they fit great (I usually wear a size 2 or 4 in Old Navy and a 3 or 5 in Levi's) so I just ordered my usual size but erred on the larger size.  The shading on these makes my muscular legs slimmer too (lighter in the middle and darker on the sides!)  

So optical illusion plus comfort?  Si and si!  My first pair are amazing and made my Mitzi Michel (never heard of this brand before either!) I bought these on eBay but I have seen them on Amazon too.  Other great websites for these budget and booty friendly jeans:  bellabrazil4you.com, modaxpressonline.com, and fashion2love.net.  They all sell the same brands and all are around 30 dollars - super cheap!  Now that I found these, I find it hard to imagine going back to other jeans.  My first impressions - love at first leg into pant leg.  I dare say these are the first skinny jeans where I like the way I look in them as well.

Beware if you like plain jeans.  There is always some sort of embellishment on these, but I like it and I think the studs and flowers look fun and feminine - very different than my Gap Jeans no doubt!

So are these worth it for $30?  A resounding yes!  I think these will make anyone's tush look perky while comfortable (which is key!) - whether you are a size 0 or 15!  Get a pair or 3 (they are so cheap!)  OMG I want more!  It is say cheaper than visiting your plastic surgeons office that's for sure!  And I tried on a comparable pair of stetchy jeans in a size 5 at TJ Maxx while I was wearing these when I was shopping.  Sure enough the ones at TJ's expertly flattened my tush out.  I then slipped my own jeans on again and voila!!  It was like magic!  They are cut really different and have more room in the booty so no flattening effect.  I find it hard to want to go back to regular jeans again!  

XoX