Saturday, May 23, 2015

Life and all Her Pleasures

What a girl wants...

My first Estée Lauder frag for my first birthday as a MRS!  Yes, this is all I wanted.  Estee has always had such strong fragrances and very floral that I never appreciated.  Well, until now!  I really enjoy this classic floral and it will always remind me of my husband who gifted this to me.  It's the first fragrance he has ever given to me now that I think of it.  He asked if I wanted jewelry... but I just wanted a bottle of parfum. This is actually a lighter version of the original.  I'm still getting use to a true floral.  The Eau Fraiche is actually more like an EDT.  Much lighter but maintains all the same notes as the original.  The original parfum is a bit heavy for me so this is a great introduction.

Something about this fragrance makes me feel mature but not old... just put together even if I'm just wearing sneakers and a tee.  I can't believe there are sooooo many flankers either.  Guess it's super popular like Tresor (and all her flankers).  I just recently started to notice EL products.  They sure are quality products and so elegantly packaged.  I didn't know she created Clinique as well.  I just am so enamoured by her rise to the top.  She didn't grow up rich but was self made.  Who doesn't love a story like that?  Oh how I admire her even though she is long gone.

Although I love this fragrance, I can't wait to add the Pleasures Flower parfum to my vanity.  That has a more fruity fragrance to it.  I'm sure I'll spritz my way through this large bottle fairly quickly this summer... It's so pretty!

Xoxo

Thursday, May 21, 2015

Ben and Jerry...

Tastes creamy and just like ice cream!  I love this flavor!!!!

Ahhhhhhh we all have our moments when we call on our boyfriends B and J.  Oh but that association always makes me look like I gave up on life.  5 extra pounds on my 5 foot 1 inch frame looks more like 10:(.  And the mental anguish with each bite.  Guilt.  I wish I could say I could stop at one serving of ice cream...but half a cup is never satisfying. And at about 18 grams of fat per serving, the thigh seams on my jeans look like they are about to come apart.  

Enter Edy's.  I was standing in the ice cream aisle ready to break down and buy a pint of B&J.  But I started looking at other options.  I saw this and was intrigued.   I looked at the nutritional content and with merely 3.5 grams of fat, I had to give it a try.  Truth be told, I didn't have high expectations.  And frozen yogurt at that.  And store bought.  But I knew it would curb my late night sweet tooth.  Why not?

Took it home (bought this after my gym workout... Ohhhhhh my irony) and before I ate dinner, I sampled a spoonful.  Mmmmmmmm... Creamy!  Tastes like the real deal!  Much to my delight and surprise!  My husband passed by me and he tried a little.  He liked it.  He hates anything low fat, diet, etc.  However, this he said he wanted more:)

It passed the husband test.  I'm still not sure if they are lying... why does it taste so good?!  How is it only 3.5 grams of fat per serving?  How is this yogurt again?  So if I eat more than suggested I won't feel momentarily suicidal.  

It's nice that there are other options available.  And as we get older it really is so much harder to stay in shape.  This is one small step in the right direction.  And it's the truth: diet accounts for over 60 percent of weight loss.  At least for women.  I can kill my ass at the gym but if I don't watch what I eat... I undo all the hard work I put in.  Definitely gotta do both.  Yes, I'll be a life member of Weight Watchers as well. I just really need to stick with it and be consistent.  I think consistency is key... and I seem to have forgotten lately.  Just keep pushing and I think women can be hot into their sixties!

Xoxo

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Veggie Dog Virgin? Not I!

Petty tasty!

This happened today.  Not bad!  Only 1 points plus on the WW system.  After last weeks indulgences, I was feeling pretty guilty.  I also over did it with the Korean BBQ spare ribs.  I love cooking and that  was my experiment last week.  

To make up for it, I went out and bought a ton of vegetarian friendly foods.  I do enjoy meatless cuisine on occasion:). The options are decent for our local supermarket.  B and Potato are pretty anti anything vegetarian - so that leaves everything for me!  It's nice to know something I plan on making for dinner will be in tact  (versus the Chinese sausages I planned to make for the fried rice... all but half a link was consumed!)

Marikym