Thursday, September 22, 2011

LOVE NOTE #149: Got LavAzza?


Hey Friends!

Please forgive my meltdown in L.N. #148. Nothing like a brand new day and wonderful cup of expresso. Strong, smooth, and with what hints as an undertone of chocolate. No wonder it's #1 in Italy! My first sip of this expresso was when my Bestie from med school served this as an after dinner beverage to accompany a scrumptious German lemon bundt cake she had baked earlier that evening. Myself and my other really good friend from Texas didn't know what hit us! Both of us were amazed by this bold flavor without that burnt or acidic aftertaste (Starbucks, are you reading this?!) My French friend turned to us and said, "You don't know coffee until you drink European coffee..." Maybe she's a bit biased... but after this cup full of coffee perfection, I'm definitely persuaded!

LavAzza is imported from Italy. The other brand, Illy, is the competitor. Now I've tried both. And the clear winner is Lavazza. At a fraction of the cost! LOVE! I actually just found this at the local grocery store down the street from my home yesterday! Amazing that I didn't have to go to Whole Foods to score some, right?! As much as I love Whole Foods, sometimes a girl just wants some Coke Zero and Doritos...Muahahahaha!

Again my apologies for yesterday. I am so excited about getting married finally but I let the details get to me yesterday. After all, I have the hardest part I have figures out: the dress. Er, dresses. I have the reception dress - a simple dress that I doctored up (no pun intended) with hand made floral appliques. I've already made like about a hundred. I think I may need to make more but it's a work in progress and the fabric flowers are very simple to create. Any type of cratfing is a stress buster. So I actually enjoy making them:) I have sewn on about 25. My future sister-in-law called me Susie Homemaker! I thought that was hysterical! The dress I really wanted would have set me back another $2000 with alterations. So I had to find another way... after all, I couldn't justify spending that much on a dress I would wear for about an hour and a half then have to change again. In the Vietnamese culture you have a minimum of 3 dresses. My cousin had four. One is the traditional Ao Dai for the Tea Ceremony. Then there is the white wedding dress for ceremony. Then another dress for the reception. Many Vietnamese brides have a cake-cutting dress as well. I have both the wedding dress and my reception dress. I will have to fly home to get the Ao Dai made in California if my Mom doesn't mind my idea of a modern Tea Ceremony. Let me stop thinking about this... I'm starting to get worked up again...

It's been one drizzly and somewhat humid day today. I went to the market to pick up some Lean Cuisines as the L-B-S's keep creeping up for some reason! Okay, I know why... portion control or rather there to lack of! I have been struggling with that a lot lately. These easy microwave frozen entrees always do the trick! And the special today was if you buy four, you get four free yogurts! Awesome! I walked out with 8 free yogurts! I also had an additional coupon that I used. I love it when you don't have to pay retail, and these days with just a bit of research (internet makes price comparison soooooo easy!), you really can save a few dollars here and there... which adds up to a lot over the course of the year:)


XoX,

Marikym

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

LOVE NOTE #148: Once Upon a Wedding...Plus a Tea Ceremony & now Pre-Cana

Hey Foodies!

I've got wedding on the brain! I thought it was going to be a bit tricky planning a wedding cross-country, but the internet has definitely made it possible to find vendors and look at customer reviews of services and products. With consumers driving the market these days instead of the other way around, businesses that want to stay ahead of the curve better pay close attention to customer service!

So I believe I've found the location to our wedding. I ran it by my Mom and she said she needed to process this information. Understandably. At first I thought it would be easiest to just have a Western ceremony and reception, and call it a day. However, with my Vietnamese heritage (Fiance is Irish-American), I have reconsidered and will try to incorporate the Vietnamese Tea Ceremony into the day... somehow. Hopefully not too half-baked. Did I mention this planning is done on the other side of the country as well?!?! Simply just became confusing. Oh, by the way, now my Mom is asking why there is no Catholic church ceremony. Oh because we don't have an extra month to spend in California to attend these classes once a week... Huh?! What I thought would be a simple day of family, friends, food, and drinks (did I mention the reception will have free flowing beer, wine, and champagne for the ENTIRE TIME?! LOVE!) has morphed into something else. Ut oh. It's very important that I pay respect to my family and incorporate tradition. Is there a manual on new traditions though? Like a modern Tea Ceremony version for a marriage that is multi-cultural? The nine yards might be a bit much. What was planned as an easy and sweeet 6-hour event could very well end up being 12+ hours. So a modified version would be perfect. Idea sounds fabulous. Execution? Um, I'm hoping for a much better answer than "Not so much..." I better muscle my persuasive skills on my darling Mommy...

Stay tuned as I figure out now not only planning a wedding remotely, but incorporating modified Vietnamese Tradition into the day. Of which I will have to don an Ao Dai. Anything beyond a size 0 and you end up looking like Orca in one of these numbers.

I forgot. Now add Catholic church ceremony. Of which I will need to go to pre-marital counseling for a month. The parish in California said it would be fine to have this pre-marital counseling done in Massachusetts, as long as the Catholic priest here approves of it as well. The good thing is, my vocabulary has expanded. I learned a new word: Pre-Cana. When I told my Mom "no" to the Catholic church ceremony and it would be held upstairs to the reception, she sounded sooooooo sad. After all, I want my son, Potato, to be part of the festivities and the venue is pet friendly (I just really hope Potato is people friendly that day!) I'm torn.

Now I know my Mom understands that I have very little time to plan and that I'm trying my BEST to bring this wedding home. But is my BEST good enough? If it isn't, my heart will absolutely sink. After all, I only have one Mom. Differences? Always. Love? Always. Sigh... Oh did I mention too that I'll be doing rotations during this whole time, studying for (more) board exams, and applying for THE MATCH to take place in March 2013?! Maybe with a bit of early planning, maybe things will fall into place. Maybe. Maybe I just need to stop worrying so much and just go with the flow and have fun... after all, in the end, when all is said and done, beyond the confusion...I'll be marrying my best friend... did I mention how I still feel like it's the first time I fell in love with him each and every time I look into his crystal blue eyes?

Pardon my whining. Although overjoyed and excited at finally setting a date(-ish), I'm finding myself a bit overwhelmed. I feel like crying. Eloping is sounding pretty fabulous. Vegas? I totally understand that concept now. How to make my Mom happy and how to not make myself go nuts at the same time... guess you'll just have to come to the wedding;)

XoX,

Marikym

Friday, September 9, 2011

LOVE NOTE #147: Weekends and Wedding Planning

Happy Friday Friends!

I hope everyone is having a wonderful day so far and getting ready for a lovely weekend! Well, after being engaged since December 24, 2008 - I guess it's time to finally start planning a wedding! After taking my first board exam, I finally have a bit of time to do some research. It may prove to be a bit challenging as my current location is going to be between Boston and Chicago or Virginia, and the wedding will be somewhere on the West Coast - SoCal style. Always up for a challenge! I always just wanted something sweet, romantic, and low-key. Good music, good food, and great family and friends:) If I can find a venue that includes everything - and if I can just show up with in my white wedding dress and a bouquet of pink flowers... all the more lovely!

In a matter of a night, I was able to find an ideal location. Oh internet, I love you so... you make planning a wedding cross country par simplified! Since having a wedding in California is very important to my Mom (where my family lives), it was a natural and easy decision. After doing a little bit of research, I was able to find a garden wedding venue with that French Country charm. This sounded soooo perfect as I have always dreamed of having a little garden or a greenhouse someday! What made it even better? It is located 3 blocks to the beach - of which my fiance loves! The ceremony and the reception can be done at the same location as well. If all goes according to plan, this thought will be set into motion sometime in the Fall of 2012. Perhaps in consideration is November 2, 2012... 11 years to the date after we first met... LOVE!

XoX,

Marikym

Thursday, September 8, 2011

LOVE NOTE #146: The Good Stuff - GWP!

FREE 7-Pc. Gift with $35 Estée Lauder purchase - Choose the colors that work best for you! PLUS Spend $65 & get more! Choose a deluxe moisturizer duo to add to your gift! (Up to $130 total value)
Good Morning!

I just wanted to share with everyone the latest GWP - Gift with Purchase - from Estee Lauder at Macy's! I usually reserve all my department store cosmetic purchases for when Estee Lauder, Clinique, or Lancome offer a Bonus. It's the best! You make off with samples and some are even full size (the lipsticks!) For any $35 dollar purchase you can score all these items! So what could have very well been a foundation or moisturizer splurge, ends up being not that much more than what you would have purchased at the local drugstore! Who doesn't appreciate free stuff?! Go to www.macys.com or click here. For a limited time only.


XoX,

Marikym

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

LOVE NOTE #145: Reduced Sugar and Fat Walnut Milk Chocolate Chip Cookies:)

Hey Foodies,

Feeling pretty guilty with the high-calorie food over the weekend, I thought I would share this delightful cookie recipe! Let me know what you think!


Ingredients:

  • 1 & 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon (sea) salt
  • 12 packets of Splenda or sucralose (equivalent to 1/2 cup of sugar)
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup of all-natural applesauce
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup walnuts chopped
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips (Hershey's was used today!)

Instructions:

  • preheat oven to 300 degrees.
  • sift the dry ingredients together in a bowl: flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, Splenda (sucralose), instant coffee
  • in a separate bowl: add the oil, applesauce, and brown sugar. Beat with a blender until fluffy
  • add the egg and beat for an additional 10 seconds
  • combine the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients and beat for an additional 30 seconds
  • fold in walnuts and chocolate chips
  • drop by level tablespoonfuls making sure to flatten with back of spoon (very minimal spread due to the use of Splenda!)
  • Bake for 16-18 minutes (do not overbake!)- yields approximately 2 dozen
After sampling the super easy Nieman Marcus recipe (see LOVE NOTE #139), but feeling rather guilty for consuming so many calories with the butter and sugar, my reworked recipe eliminates the use of butter and replaces it with heart-healthy canola oil and applesauce. The sugar has also been cut in half with the addition of Splenda (sucralose). Finally, the chocolate chips remain but also reduced by 1/3. Walnuts were added to the mixture to give additional texture. Although I love a good chocolate chip cookie, cookies with chocolate chips and walnuts are even better! Tell me they are reduced sugar and fat?! After one bite, you just might just agree, that a girl can definitely have it all!

XoX,

Marikym


LOVE NOT #144: I heart Reusable "Brown" Bags!

Happy Wednesday!

I hope everyone is doing well! Although the day isn't over, it has been quite an eventful morning for Potato and me. He had to get his vaccinations this morning. He acts like a tough guy when we're in our own neighborhood, growling, barking, and just all-around threatening should the wind decide to blow. This morning? Meek like a little lamb. He's one smart little cookie as he knew something was up. He was acting very reticent and wanting his Momma to carry him or sit in her lap all morning. Very unusual as Potato is one to always express...shall we say his independent thinking...

With Potato being a small dog breed, chances of sensitivities to certain vaccinations (e.g. lyme, leptospira) are much higher. I understood this and he did have an allergic reaction, angioedema, two years ago, only the instructions on administering his diphenhydramine were unclear. In fact my recollection was that it was not mentioned at all. Last year however, I made sure to understand the administration directions and no form of angioedema was evident. Thank goodness!

When I called to make the appointment, the pleasant yet firm front-office assistant told me Potato would have to stay at the pet hospital all day for observation due to his allergic reaction in the past. It's policy. Since when? Since always. Really? Because last year the policy wasn't implemented and I have been going to the same vet location for 5 years. Is my math off? Oh, and by the way, there is a fee for that...

I started to get the feeling that I might be getting hustled. Or maybe they were just being overly cautious. In my frustration, I found it hard to rationally decipher between the two. Needless to say, I erred on my former thought. My response to Potato staying at the pet hospital all day was an absolute NO. With no reaction occurring on the most recent visit for vaccinations, I expressed adamantly that this was not necessary, no dice, no game, not an option... not my words verbatim, far better this way, trust me;) After much back and forth, after my stubbornness was made too evident on the phone, she told me to hold and that she would get the office manager. Ut oh. Does this mean I'm in trouble?

Of course the same thing was reiterated - that I needed to understand that if he was not put on observation all day, he could go into anaphylactic shock, his throat could close up, and essentially he could die. That's a lot of definite maybes for an additional $100 dollars to the vet bill. I could win the lottery as well. Likelihood? Slimmer than my jeans will ever be. She wanted to know if I understood the severity. I guess she didn't understand how much I understood. "This is a type I sensitivity where the onset is acute or immediate. The antigen will bind to the immunoglobulin E on basophils or tissue mast cells. This would cause degranulation and release of histamines among other chemicals. This can lead to systemic anaphylaxis resulting in urticara, broncospasm, laryngeal edema and shock." Okay, okay, okay... that's what I really wanted to say. I refrained. "Actually, I'm in medical school. I understand you perfectly." I stated. I hated having to resort to this, I didn't want to make her feel like I was trying to throw my weight around. After all, I still have a lot to learn and I only know what I've read, and I have yet to earn those letters behind my name. I guess when I feel like I've been pushed into a corner, well, I sometimes push back...that's all. This was then followed by silence. "Oh, sorry... let me discuss this with the Dr. and I will call you back." I thanked her.

Waiting for about 15 minutes for her to call me back, I started to feel like I was a being a bit too harsh, maybe acting like one of those know-it-alls, jerky. Maybe what I knew in theory didn't necessarily apply to reality. However, after Potato's reaction from his vaccinations two years ago, I made sure to understand and do everything the doctor needed me to do the subsequent year at home. NO REACTION OCCURRED. So I still found it an unnecessary precautionary measure to have him under observation for the entire day. Thinking about it, if she called back and said that Potato would have to stay, I would have done so. After all, I didn't know everything. Medicine and veterinarian medicine may overlap, but they require different training and what can apply to a human, doesn't necessarily apply to a girl's best friend. Potato is not only my best friend, he is also my son.

So I get the phone call. She tells me although it was highly recommended that Potato stay in the hospital, the doctor has approved the request so that I may monitor my son at home. Perhaps his decision had to do with the fact that I'm in a similar profession, just treating bipeds instead of quadrupeds. Perhaps it was to get an annoying patient off his back. Perhaps it was to keep me from going to another vet. Whatever the reason, I still agree that being cautious can't hurt (except my pocketbook... okay, my fiance's wallet!) I also need to be comfortable with what my future role will become as well and learn to be more confident in what I believe is the best answer. As I have advanced in my education, I feel even more unsure and anxious of things that can go wrong. Maybe this is my first lesson in standing my ground and having some conviction in what I know. I'm open to learning, listening, and admitting when I'm wrong; but if I feel that something is clearly unnecessary, well, I better start getting comfortable speaking up. Afterall, if I can't rely and trust my own voice, then who will?

In the most awkward segue ever, and as you can see I really really digressed... just remember to bring your reusable bags the next time you go shopping! They come in a variety of sizes, prints, and materials. I just picked another one up today at my local market because I love the strawberry design! They usually sell these for around a buck or two:) A totally cute bag? Good for the environment? Durable? Reusable? 100 different uses? Check, check, check, check, & check!

XoX,

Markym

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

LOVE NOTE #143: Cuddle Up to Creamy Sausage, Rice ,and Spinach Soup!


Hey Foodies!

I have been waiting, waiting, and waiting for the weather to finally be cool enough to start making soup again! The forecast for the remainder of the week is to be rainy and cold. Translation in my book: cuddling, TV, and some soup STAT! Soup is a total favorite of mine because I tend to lose those pesky pounds quickly when I incorporate them into my meals. They fill me up so I end up eating less of the entree, which in turn, can shave off some extra carbs and calories! Although this is a creamy soup and clear broth-based soups are the usual answer for girls who are slaves to their dress sizes - overall, this is still a good option if you make sure to watch your portions (ummm... think a cup not like 3!)

After all, the French could eat whatever they wanted, but alas, remained so slim! One of my besties from med school is from France... she eats everything, but still remains a size ZERO! Her secret wasn't so much a secret, it was just enjoying enough of everything but in moderation. Yes, I found myself quite jealous as she would bring a cream-filled chocolate covered glazed donut to class as I sat there eating my 90-cal granola bar! Of which once she took a bite because she didn't bring anything one morning, but quickly asked for a napkin and would rather starve than try to ingest "diet" food. She turned to me and said, "Darling, if you want to be slim, you need to eat real food." I guess she has a good point!!! Although I still believe in low-calorie alternatives, it should not come to a point where you feel deprived:) Sometimes too many restrictions makes me go overboard... I'm good all day then nightfall comes, and I'm like... I want this, that, and more of this... and a bit more of that... ahhh... the vicious cycle... sigh!

So by combining the rich flavors of the Italian sausage and creamed spinach with all the goodness of fiber from the black-eye psz and vitamin A from carrots, it's truly the best of both worlds! The rice makes this soup even heartier. Finally, the mushrooms round out this busy little soup. Finding yourself so full that you will be less likely to snack on what could have been very tempting treats from the vending machine;)

Ingredients:

  • 32 oz chicken stock
  • 1 cups water
  • 1 cup of baby carrots (halved)
  • 1 cup of sliced mushrooms (halved)
  • 15.5 oz. blackey peas, rinsed & drained (1 can)
  • 1/2 cup uncooked brown or wild rice
  • 4 Italian hot sausages removed from casing and rolled into 1/2 inch meatballs
  • 9 oz frozen creamed spinach
  • salt & pepper to taste
Instructions:

  • To a pot, add the chicken stock, water, baby carrots, mushrooms, blackeye peas, rice, and hot sausages. Bring to a boil over high heat, then reduce heat and simmer for about 25 minutes or until rice and beans are tender.
  • Add the creamed spinach and cook for an additional 5 minutes
What a great lunch alternative to those not-so-good-for-you meal combos at your nearest fast-food joint. Packing soups for lunch not only can fill you up and slim you down, but keep your pocketbook a bit fatter too! Learning to use leftovers and putting them into your next soup experimentation can definitely help you save for a rainy day ... or, rather, Burberry rain boots for those rainy days;)

XoX,

Marikym

LOVE NOTE #142: Waking Up to Rainy Days and Roses


Hey Everyone!

Happy first work day back this week! It's always tough coming back from a long weekend! The good news is that your work week is shorter, so Friday is a day closer... Woot-woot!

Anyways, today's weather seems to lay on the opposite continuum compared to the Labor Day Weekend's weather presentation. I must say I enjoy variety, so this sprinkling of rain and overcast is a welcome change to cool down what could have been too much of a good thing this weekend! Perhaps a Seattle-esque forecast isn't everyone's cup of tea, so how about giving, getting, or just buying some flowers to brighten the mood for the day? Always smile pleasing!

These came compliments of le fiance. After almost ten years of doing the whole "So you wanna hang out later, maybe?", I guess he still likes me.... yippee! It's always nice to wake up to roses on random (and rainy) days, even better when they are in your favorite shade (of pink!) It's nice when it feels like February 14 ... every day of the year... Thanks Bone!

XoX,

Marikym


Sunday, September 4, 2011

LOVE NOTE #141: Potato Salad, BBQ's and My Favorite Jeans - Happy Labor Day!


Happy Labor Day Weekend!

I hope everyone is enjoying their long weekend ... with friends, family, and some good food... BBQ style! Who doesn't love some good grilled steak tips, burgers, and hot dogs?! I, for one, start forgetting how much I've eaten and what I've sipped (okay, gulped!) over the past couple hours! Did I mention the quintessential side dish of potato salad ? So much for my Weight Watchers Points Plus program... Ooops! I can start them over again tomorrow morning. I keep saying that every morning... is this why my jean size keeps getting bumped up a number every few months?!

Oh well, it's holiday after all... good times with the people you care about... (or for some of us... pretend to anyhow!) So no recipe today... just enjoying the weekend with ready-made delights! Over the years, whenever it's a celebration of feasting, I always make sure to dress comfortably. Hence the photograph of my beat-up, perfectly deconstructed jeans... It's that one pair in your closet that gets the most... well LOVE! You know the ones... soft and comfortable as any pair of sweatpants, and perfect even if you ate more than anticipated over the holiday! I paid short money on these, a guilty pleasure indeed as I found them in the junior's department at the TJ Maxx (for the minimum!) Even though shopping in the junior's department should have stopped in my early 20's at latest, I think it's just that my body type seems to wear these clothes a bit better. Maybe because I'm so short... like barely 5'1" ... or maybe it's also a combination of nostalgia and feeling Forever 21 (another guilty-pleasure store!) A lot has changed, but then I feel the same... the same way I felt when I was 23. I still feel like a kid excited to explore the world and I know for certain, wherever I end up, these jeans will go with me! The perfect pair that never disappoints ... never makes you feel like Orca... and just makes you feel fabulous from the moment you take them out of the dryer for the umpteenth time...

Speaking of holiday and enjoying it... I was on the phone with one of my dear friends from med school who is on rotations currently. She was telling me, "Enjoy while you can... you'll understand when you get here" ... Ummm, should I be scared already?!?! Trading in my black suits and stilettos for scrubs and sneakers a few years back sounded like a good idea at the time anyway...hmmm. I have been putting off starting right after Step 1 because of my MBA cours(es), (starting to) study for Step 2CK, and having to relocate again to Chicago most likely (or Virginia, or Colorado), sheer exhaustion from Step 1, and recently having been told that one of her shifts was "8 days and 7 nights on"... I guess the good thing is that I am an insomniac, right? Maybe the long and odd hours is right up my alley... after all, always the Work Horse never the Show Horse:) "Where do you sleep?" I asked... "In the on-call room" she informed me. Which immediately started to conjure up episodes of Grey's Anatomy ... and would be walking in on an "occupied" room be my soon-to-be norm?! The good thing is that my uniform, scrubs, pretty much feels like pajamas to me. So at least my attire will be comfortable wherever and whenever they decide to give me a break;) I told her I had gained 10 pounds since I came home... she told me to not worry because she lost 15 pounds since she started her rotations. And with that... sign me up!!!

At any rate... I hope you are enjoying the holiday feasting... and always be comfortable while you're at it! Whether it's in a pair of espadrilles and a floral cotton dress, a button-down and a pair of khakis, or kickin' it (like me!) in a pair of well-loved pair of jeans and a tee, just ROCK IT!!! Happy Labor Day:) Gotta get back to the feeding...;)

XoX,

Marikym