Tresor Midnight Rose
Fellow Francophiles unite! I am allured and repulsed by French parfums. The allure always in the quest of finding just the right one; the repulsion in the fear of trying one on that is migraine triggering and nausea inducing... and just will not scrub off even after the 2nd shower. And if you have been anything like me, forcing the iconic No.5 in all her aldehyde glory to work and failing... is very heart breaking. I just could never get it right. Coco Madamoiselle was an epic fail as well. I even gave No.5 Eau Premiere a go. The only one that has ever worked out was Chance Eau Tendre. And that was merely to replace Lancome's Miracle So Magic! Which was sadly discontinued of which I believe I bought two bottles of and used every single last drop. However, I was told it is available in the UK? Anyways, wouldn't you know it... another favorite French frag that is obsesh worthy would be from Lancome... but of course!
Ahhhhhh Oui. It took awhile. A very long while. It's fun working part time in cosmetics because you get to try everything from the line, and others as well;) I don't know what is happening to me. I don't know when I became so brand loyal. But I'm becoming one of those... sigh. Don't get me wrong, I won't get rid of my WnW lipsticks and eyeshadows! Those are sitting right beside all my newly anointed Lancome products in my pink Caboodles, trust me. However, the packaging of Lancome products is super gorg and elegant. My favorite flower of all time, the rose, is their symbol. It was fate. But the quality lives up to the hype (and price!) and more. Sure, I'm not won over by every single product, but when I am... I want to try and buy...too much more. So today is all about Tresor Midnight Rose!
What can I say about this modern French Frag? It's different. I tried to resist liking it. I didn't even buy it right away... like I usually do (the whole budgeting for a rainy day and the wedding shindig is getting annoying!) I think I waited a few weeks. The original Tresor is nice. But I'm not in love with it. I then tried Tresor Lumineuse. I liked it as well. The gourmand version was fresh and smelled like candy! But again, it didn't capture my heart. I thought Tresor in Love was the one. But when I wore it, so pretty but for some reason it didn't last very long on my skin - like barely half hour and I would need another spritz. My skin eats through frags like mad. It was the very last Tresor flanker I tried - Midnight Rose - that stole my heart and just worked with my chemistry so well. I tried it last because I felt too "grown up" for anything with berries in it. I was happily so wrong!
The more I tried MR, the more I felt like I needed to buy a full bottle. The top notes are all blackcurrant and berries. So I was surprised and confused. I even thought this smelled like something I could buy at Bath and Body Works. I quickly dismissed it and went about my duties of hocking mascara for the next half hour. Then the fragrance moved to the middle notes and the rose began to peep through ever so gently. Finally, the base notes of musk and cedar warm out this unique fragrance that makes me love it more with each spritz. There is jasmine and vanilla in there somewhere, but my skin doesn't pull those notes out very well. I'm glad my skin doesn't pull the jasmine... for some reason that gets way cloying with my chemistry (thinking along the lines of Modern Muse - jasmine overkill). All I know is whatever the concoction, it blends so beautifully. I thought this was going to be a linear fragrance... but as it moves through all the notes, it's quite complex. All I know is that this always puts a spring in my step and is an instant mood lifter. It is a day/night/all season type of fragrance to me.
So when the gift sets came out for holiday (can you believe they are already available? It's not even October yet!), I grabbed one the first day. It comes with a full size Hypnose Drama and a 1.7 oz bottle of Midnight Rose - all for $62 retail. I wish it came with a body lotion and the purse size roller, but I will take what I can get! Of course I immediately wore it and I was doing some foundation matching and the client exclaimed, "What is that smell?! It smells so good!" Sure enough, it was Midnight Rose casting her spell...
What I still don't understand is why it's called Midnight Rose. Nothing dark or mysterious or that it should be used after hours exclusively. Maybe Coquette would be more appropriate since it's such a flirty and carefree but unique fragrance. The berries keep it charming and fresh. The subtle rose lends that elegant touch. The musk and other bottom notes keep it snuggly. Don't immediately get turned off my the fruity top notes like I did if you spray it on a tester strip! It will smell differently on paper than on your skin. Let it settle. See how it works with your chemistry. For me, as it settled, it smelled softly of sweet roses and berries but still woodsy. I adore it! I've seen girls in their twenties to women in their 60s purchase this EDP. Lancome made a fragrance to capture that sweetness and charm - for any age. It's like my favorite wine... red or white...I'll take whatever... but captured in parfum. With each spritz, it becomes more addicting. Like no other...O-M-G.
Xo
