Monday, December 12, 2011

LOVE NOTE #154: TEBOW TIME!




Hey Friends!

Football Sundays are filled with feel-good foods and a day where it's okay to watch TV until you drop:) One of our favorite foods is these Honey Stung Drummies which are the best from Roche Bros. However, we don't have them as often as we like because this market is about a 5 minute drive from our home. Close, I know, but after being so spoiled by having a market that is in walking distance that I choose to drive to (about a minute!), anything longer becomes "Too Far!"
I've been fascinated with Tim Tebow since his years as a Gator and his sophomoric Heisman Trophy win. His squeaky clean image is refreshing. It's nice to see a good boy do well, and his wins seem to be of the miraculous sort. Yesterday's match-up with the Bears was one heck of a game! I don't know football all that well, blame it on a sports-fanatic fiance and well, it has rubbed off on me. I knew this was becoming somewhat problematic as I found myself watching ESPN when I was overseas, with no fiance nearby to impress.

Although a Pats fan, the win over the Skins was expected. However, I must admit that the game was too close and and surprisingly anxiety provoking. What I was really looking forward to was to see what would happen with the Broncos. In typical fashion, the first 58 minutes was a snorefest. It wasn't until about the last two minutes that some sort of magic became apparent. Some have argued that the win by the Broncos was more due to the mistakes made by the opponent, but there is no doubt that a 59 yard field goal in the 4th quarter made by Prater took some skill. This drove the game into OT. With the coin toss won by Chicago, I wondered how much Tebow could do this time. But the glaring out-of-bounds mistake made by Barber stopping the clock and again Barber coughing up the ball only to be recovered by the Broncos, things started to look miraculously hopeful. I scratched my head as my heart was pounding as for most of the game Tebow had very little rhythm or accuracy, so I was yelling something that made no sense as my body was in mid-air - ecstatic at the turn of events! Finally, the win came with another 51 yard field goal! It was amazing! Camera to Elway and I was in hysterics thinking this man needs to stop looking so disgusted with his own team winning.

My only question now is, will Tebow breed a new type of quarterback? The unconventional quarterback who likes to run as much as he can throw. Although the MVP obviously will go to Aaron Rogers, my vote for QB of the year is Tebow. I understand he is very polarizing with his views on faith, but what is so inspiring is his ability to pull his team together with the power of his optimism. When things look destitute, he doesn't let it get to him, and I feel like this resonates with his teammates. Now that is a mark of a good leader. I'm excited to see what else will transpire with this one... and I promise to not turn this into a blog about sports and Tebow (well, all the time anyways!)

XoX,

Marikym