
Hello Friends!
Hoping everyone had a fabulous weekend. I know I did, what with the much anticipated match-up between the New England Patriots and the Denver Broncos. In fact, I was excited about it since the previous weekend, with my countdown starting after the Broncos game against the Chicago Bears. What's gotten into me? I didn't realize how exhausting this whole football thing could really get. I guess this is what happens when you have been in love with the same boy for over 10 years who lives, breaths, eats anything sports related. It use to be only football, basketball (NBA and college), and baseball. Over the past 5 years however, we have now added European soccer to that list. Yes to football and basketball. The others, not so much... for now anyways;)
Well, onto yesterday's game! What do I think? I called a New England win, although with Vollmer, Chung, and slew of other injuries makes for one of the weakest defenses in the NFL. The one good thing? Brady loves to make passes which throws numbers on the board, and quick. As for Tebow and crew, although on a winning streak, the Broncos have been able to score very little over the past several weeks. I still don't understand why Belichick decided to defer after winning the coin toss, and I was further made anxious when Tebow powered into the end zone on the first possession yielding an instantaneous 6 points. However, with the Pats first possesion, it was wide receiver Mr. Chad Ochocinco who scored the winning TD (his first this year!) making it even easier to like him yesterday! As much as I like Ocho, he really hasn't been contributing much since he was signed on with the Pats this year. On the Broncos second possession they scored again, a rally giving my usually low-blood pressure the spike it shouldn't be getting. In fact, Tebow was successfully passing quite a bit, which was very unusual.
In the second quarter, it was the Pats who gained momentum of the game with 3 fumbles by the Broncos. It was Tebow's old college teammate, Hernandez, who stepped up and showed his mad athleticism as both Gronk and Welker seemed to be swarmed by the defense. Once again, the brains behind the crew, Belichick, outsmarts his opponent. The culmination: 41-23 Patriots.
And the highlights of the day? When Carter was injured and Tebow came over to show some awesome sportsmanship - genuine concern for a member of the other team, that tugged at my heartstrings! What a great kid. I hope he stays squeaky clean and the news about Ms. Vonn is only a rumor. Or hopefully she only has eyes for his brother, Robby. And of course, when Brady ran for the touchdown and then spiked the ball! It's nice to see that fire from Brady when usually it's always Mr. Cool, Calm, and Collected on the field. Well, minus last week's incident on the sideline with the blowout with offensive coordinator Bill O'Brien. Oh, and when Ochocinco can't complete a pass, he gets some meanface from Brady on the sidelines too. That's what you get when you don't study the game Ocho, and getting someone on the team based on some bromance with the head coach... sigh. Well, after all it is Ocho, and he made up for it yesterday. Bygones be bygones:) Finally, seeing Tom and Tim meet for the first time at the end of the game, the genuine smiles and camaraderie were refreshing. I saw it a few weeks ago between Tom and arch-nemesis Manning. Can we say great photo-op? But that was an easy conversation as it looks like Manning may be retiring due to his injury earlier this year. (There is another future HOF-er!) And with the first round pick going to the Colts, it's most likely that Stanford's Luck will be filling Peyton's shoes next year.
All in all, I was soooooo happy with the outcome! Next week, I can't wait to cheer on the Pats and the Broncos. Still, mad love for Tebow, what a positive role model that the kids these days really need.
And yes, next post will be food... I promise. As all this football has left me emotionally exhausted.
XoX,
Marikym