Wednesday, December 12, 2012

LOVE NOTE #175: Happy 12-12-12!

Hello Lovelies!

When will we see 12-12-12 again?  Only today!  So many couples were noted to rush out and get married on what is considered a very lucky day!  Although me and the fiance didn't get a chance to say our vows today, I was able to finally decide on the Maggie gown!  It's completely opposite of what I had initially thought I would be walking down the aisle in... let's just say so much for the sheath or slim lace A-line I envisioned!  It's definitely sweet, romantic, and very bridal!  I was torn between two gowns.  And then of course the great debate between white versus ivory.  A few weeks of going back and forth, and I finally made my decision and went with my gut feeling.  It makes me happy thinking about wearing the gown on my wedding day!

It's getting so cold in Chicago, but so far no snow.  In fact we have broken a record with how many consecutive days without snow here.  Speculation is that we very well may not have a White Christmas afterall... guess it's wait and see.  It's been so cold that I'm scared to go out wogging.  The good news is that I brought my Turbo Fire dvd's from home which always give me an amazing workout without having to leave the comforts of my heated studio apartment.  To provide some variety, I ordered some Jillian Michael's dvd's as well.  Gah... those circuits are so intense.  Quick 30 minutes but she really packs a lot into those half-hour workouts.

My pout with Avon's Ultra Color Rich in Poppy Love!
Anyways, I wanted to review Avon's Ultra Color Rich in Poppy Love.  Not only does it have a cute name, the color is so happy and bright!  It's a warm orange-based red.  Although I've been told I have a neutral undertone, I seem to like warmer reds than the blue-based reds.  They just seem happier to me!  For days when I just want a hint of color, I apply some vaseline to my lips and then dab this pretty color to my pout.  When I want some drama, I apply additional coats.  The formula is so moisturizing and keeps my lips comfortable and smooth.  Although no plumping effects are marketed, I think the glossiness and emollients in the formulation seems to make my lips look fuller too - who doesn't want a plumper pout?!  I own three other colors:  Sheer Naturale, Sheer Light Peach, and Wink.  Those three colors are more nude/light so I can do a more dramatic eye.  On days when I want a light eye look, I love to pair it with a bright lip.  I was a bit lazy today and didn't want to put makeup on my entire face... hence only a close up of my lips - and you can see the color better:)

Avon may not be the most glamorous line, but the lipsticks are equal to or have outperformed formulas I've tried from Chanel, Clinique, Dior, and MAC.  Also, I like that there is no detectable fragrance.  I love the sturdy black and silver case as well - so elegant.  The cost is super cheap - I think I got these for 3-4 bucks a piece when they have been on sale (I always like to grab a few of my favorite colors and try some new ones too!)  In fact, when I was wearing the Sheer Naturale, le boyfriend commented on how nice my lips looked - and that it was his favorite lipstick color (I will review that in upcoming posts for sure!)  I was pretty shocked because he NEVER comments or (seems to) notice my makeup - EVER!      So after that, you can imagine how hooked I was on this line of lipsticks!

If you love bright lips, try Poppy Love!

XoX,

Marikym

Sunday, November 18, 2012

LOVE NOTE #174: Nivea Creme is Amazing!

Hello Lovelies!

(My favorite all-purpose cream!)
I recently changed my blog name from Little Love Kitchen to Oh La Lovely.  It was hard to retire my original blog name, but since I haven't had the chance to cook and bake as much as I use to, I felt it was time to update my blog title.  So I felt Oh La Lovely was fitting since it summarizes the things that have filled my days with delight and positivity!  One product, without a doubt, that has helped my skin feel happy is Nivea Creme!

Nivea Creme has had a century of experience making skin glowing, soft, and beautiful.  Legendary beauties such as Marilyn Monroe and Lana Turner have trusted this creme.  Victoria Beckham swears by Nivea lotion to keep her gams amazing looking.  Most recently, Catherine Middleton was spotted buying a jar of Nivea Pure & Natural.  Hmmmm... these women could afford anything... but choose a drugstore line?  And first hand account was a beautiful woman I had met who was in her 60's.  The most baby-smooth skin I had ever seen.  She was the wife of a doctor who also could use anything - but she used Nivea Creme.  It was time to take a tip.

I ordinarily would never have considered Nivea, at all.  Regardless of the previous paragraph.  I always felt it was too heavy.  I fess up to my mistake.  I could have saved hundreds of dollars if not thousands on the products I purchased at department stores and visiting the dermatologist!  I guess the good news about living in Boston and Chicago is that the winters made me investigate heavy creams... and I stumbled on this one that wouldn't break the bank.  At first I used this and I had mixed feelings.  The application took more effort.  It was like a thick paste.  There was also a scent.  Very ubiquitous to Nivea Creme.  Not offensive and light.  With time, I looked forward to applying the creme and the scent started to have a calming effect since it produced such amazing results.

I was actually scared to apply this to my face for the first time.  But after reading reviews on makeupalley.com who swore that this was the ultimate wrinkle killer (and of course, the second paragraph above helped a lot!)  Many women with combo/sensitive/dry skin swear by this product and do in fact slather this on their faces.  Although petrolatum & mineral oil based (Mexico version but the German version is mineral oil based without the petrolatum), my skin has never had an allergic reaction to either ingredients.  I use to use products in high school that were petrolatum and mineral oil based but since then I have strayed away because the beauty industry said those ingredients were harmful.  I think I have had more breakouts and problems with my skin since then, probably because I was using products that where drying out my skin and thus, in turn, causing my skin to over produce oil leading to breakouts.  All those fancy and expensive products which promised everything where doing absolutely nothing.  It was time to return to the basics.

Keeps my skin plump and the ultimate wrinkle buster!

I have tried both the German and Mexican versions.  Many women claim that the German version is superior. It does not have preservatives or petrolatum.  I do prefer the consistency of the German version for my face because it is less waxy and more creamy than the Mexican version.  However, it is quite heavy, and I would only use this at night because it takes time to absorb.  However, when I wake up in the morning, my skin is so soft and smooth.  Great for the winter months!  Check out www.smallflower.com for the authentic German version.  They have sizes ranging from 30 ml to 400 ml ($2.95 to 15.95, respectively).  They also sell the German version on www.amazon.com but I have read reviews that you need to be careful because some consumers were misled into believing it was the German version but in fact they received the Thailand version (yet another formulation!) which is most similar to the German version but not identical.  The Made in Mexico version is easily found at your nearest ULTA, box department stores, and corner drugstores where you can get a 1 oz. tin for 99 cents to sample.  Cheap as chips so you won't feel guilty if it doesn't perform how you had hoped.  Although the German version applies more easily, the end results seem the same - just really soft skin!

Nivea may be worth a try for you too. What an amazing value and what I feel is the best all-purpose creme.  I use this from head to toe, and even on my lips.  Even if it is too heavy for your face, it will work amazing on any dry bits on the rest of your body.  It's very gentle and I will have a jar of this in my house until they stop making it.  After going from fancy product lines (Chanel, Clinique, Shiseido, etc.) and switching to the basics, I must say I haven't been this happy with my skin!  It is still far from perfect but I don't break out anymore, no clogged pores, and my skin just feels soft, plump, and never dry.  My makeup looks so much better because the canvas is so much smoother!  It may not work for everyone, but it's worth a try if you are looking for heavy winter cream and you have dry or combo/sensitive skin. I learned my lesson that spendy products do not always work better than the drugstore brands.  This leaves me more coin to purchase my bottles of Chanel parfum (gasp!)  

XoX,

Marikym

P.S. Some have compared Nivea Creme to Creme de La Mer.  I can't really comment because I have never used that product.  You can read a ton of reviews online about the comparisons.  Some say that Nivea Creme is better or as good.  Others say that Creme de La Mer is in a class of it's own.  

Sunday, October 21, 2012

LOVE NOTE #173: I Heart Pond's Clarant B3!

Hey Lovelies!

OhhhhEmmmmGeeeee.  I love, love, love this stuff in the pink jar!  A true drugstore gem!  And it's made by Pond's of all companies... which is great because they are easy on the wallet and have been around since 1846.  I always believed to get an effective product, you would have to pay beacoup bucks for a big name brand.  What took me so long to find this little miracle in a jar?  I am unsure when it became available here in the Unites States, but evidently, Pond's is huge in Mexico.  I've never tried or considered Pond's because I've always had sensitive-combination skin.  Many of their products are mineral-oil based - so it goes against everything I've been taught as being a good-for-your-skin type ingredient.

I was actually searching for a skin treatment to help with the unevenness of my skin - what from past acne scars as well as the sun damage I've been accumulating of the years.  I spent years trying to turn my pale Asian skin into a golden tan.  The glow was so lovely, but it has left me with sun spots too.  My days laying out are over unfortunately as I know how damaging it is to my skin.  I guess I can always use a self-tanner if I want color in the future.

Those days baking to get a sun-kissed glow have left me with so many freckles that I decided I needed a dark-spot cream.  I stumbled upon this at Walgreen's and it was $10.99 for a 7 oz. jar and it came with a mini-travel jar as a freebie.  I was sold.  Now the question is, would it work?   I purchased the normal-to-oily formula and it actually does not contain any mineral oil.  I was just going to use this on my arms and hands, but realized that it was actually marketed to be used on the face.  So I brought it home, excited to give it a try.  The jars come sealed which is nice, so you know you're getting a fresh jar that no one has dipped their fingers into yet!  I peeled off the safety seal excited and afraid of what I would find.  I sampled some and it felt like whipped butter.  The texture was amazing!  I first applied it to the back of my hands where I had some sunspots and then to my upper arms because I have some weird tan lines going on there (not cute!)  There is a fresh scent - hard to describe, but very pleasant (if you have allergies to fragrance, probably not a good idea to purchase this product!) and I really liked it.  Slowly I applied some to my chin, cheeks, and forehead.  It felt so light!  And it seemed to keep my skin matte but moisturized at the same time  - with no greasy after feel.  I have not experienced any rashes or additional acne...just brighter, clearer, softer, smoother skin ... Wow...Yay!

It's an amazingly overlooked product that is hard to find (so no, I will not share with you which Walgreen's I found it at in Chicago - Tee-hee!)   But on Amazon you can actually get a 2-pack and both jars are 7 oz. for around $15 - a much better value!  When I looked at the ingredients there are actually sunscreen filters.  I still apply Olay Complete over this during the day for the SPF 15 protection, just to be safe.  It feels so nice on the skin and I'm sorry I overlooked the Pond's brand for so long.  This is definitely a staple in my daily routine now.  I have been using it a few days and have noticed that my complexion is becoming more even toned and the freckles appear to be lightening a bit.  I liked it so much I have it on automatic order, "Subscribe and Save" via Amazon to get a bit of a discount - $14.27 for two jars!  What an underrated product in America.  It's huge in Mexico.  I know, I never thought of Mexico as being known for their skincare products either and I'm so glad I'm taking a second look!  After all, even the fiance thinks Mexican Coca Cola tastes better than U.S. Coca Cola (Mexican coke uses cane sugar!)  Take home message:  it's just good to keep an open mind because you never know what amazing things you can find!

XoX,

Marikym

P.S.  I also sampled the normal-to-dry formula and it does not have the same whip-like consistency.  It does have mineral oil in it and feels a bit more slippery/emollient.  It has the same fresh scent and more suitable for dry skin types.

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

LOVE NOTE #172: STEP 2 CS: DONE!


Hello Friends!

I've been wogging (very slow jogging or walking/jogging combo) lately to combat the anxiety and stress I've been experiencing since I took my Step 2 CS exam on August 14.  The good news is that it has definitely helping not only my mental frame of mind, but it's been doing something quite nice to my figure - firming up and dropping some poundage!  Like my new kicks that have been helping me make my laps in Lincoln Park?  Black with just that touch of pink ... er, okay, a bold touch;)  The better news is that I found out I passed my exam on Wednesday this week.  Results are always announced on Wednesdays.  So Tuesday night I found myself unable to fall asleep until 3 a.m.  When I woke up around 8:30, I checked my email and there was a notification that my results were available.  I was excited, nervous, anxious... you name it.  I couldn't seem to log into my account soon enough.  When I was able to pull up my results, I squealed with delight when I found out I passed!  I was sooooo relieved.  You are graded on 3 components on this exam, and if you fail one section, you fail the whole thing. That means you will need to sit through another 8 hour ordeal.  Fortunately, I will never have to take this exam ever again...phew!


Some students say it's the easiest among the board exams.  I say, don't underestimate it.  Three components to the PASS/FAIL exam and you must pass each component.  Fail one section, you faill the whole thing... but no pressure.  Definitely review cases from First Aid for Step 2 CS.  Definitely practice these cases with another student, friend, spouse.  Definitely time yourself!  Also, practice on the software provided on the USMLE website to familiarize yourself with the patient note format.  You have 15 minutes for H & P and 10 minutes to write your PN - and it must now be typed.  So if you are rusty on your typing skills, that could definitely alter your scores because of the time constraints and additional information required now.  The new format does require that you list your reasons to support your differentials.  You may only list 3 differentials (before it was 5, so now you need to be more precise!), support your differentials, provide the diagnostic testings, and type it (formerly you had the choice to type or write it out).

I studied the First Aid book back and forth and practiced with my classmate a couple of times running through the H & P and writing out the patient notes.  I knew the 40 plus cases in the book very well.  I rehearsed out loud, even by myself... just to build my confidence for the actual exam day.  It was the only book I used, and it was enough to help me pass the exam.  I'm glad I will never have to take that exam again!  My classmate told me to burn  my books and notes right when it was over... I'll just keep them to remind me of one more Step exam completed... definitely something to smile about and remember on the more challenging days.  Work hard and keep reaching for your dreams!  I am so happy when I remember what it felt like to open up the email and found out I passed... well done, well done indeed!

XoX,

Marikym

P.S.  My new running shoes are amazing - more comfortable than the Nike's I tried on that day... so I was sold!  Try a pair of Saucony, it just may work for you too... the price tag was nice since I ended up getting them at Marshall's for short cash:  $34.99!  Love, love, love a good deal!

Monday, October 1, 2012

LOVE NOTE #171: Maggie Sottero Dress for Me:)


Hi Friends!

Squeal, squeal, squeal!  I received an email from Maggie Sottero this afternoon stating that I had won a wedding gown.  'Huh?  Is this a mistake?  This must be spam.' I thought.  Then another email followed shortly thereafter stating that I should refrain from sharing this news on my social media until it was published on the Maggie Sottero Facebook page in a few hours.  And sure enough, my name appeared among 10 winners out of almost 5000 entries (although they mispelled my name - Marikyn - probably for confidentiality purposes).  As you may recall, I had gushed about walking down the aisle in a Maggie, but alas, it was out of my graduate student budget.  Sometimes when you will things, they happen?  Like the time I really was craving Thai food before drifting off to sleep close to 3 a.m. - knowing I had to be all bright-eyed for the NICU in 5.5 hours, and both teary eyed, salivating, and half awake knowning that as close to good Thai food I would get would be by Googling pictures of Duck Choo Chee.  Low and behold, that day I went in for rotations, one of the neonatologists brought in Thai food for lunch... a whole table of deliciousness, including desserts!  Is this the same thing, remember my rant in LOVE NOTE #169?!  Now what will I do with all those pretty floral appliques?!

I'm a total believer in positive thinking, but perhaps the story I totally forgot that I had submitted a few months back in the "Love How YOU Fit" contest had more to do with fulfilling my dreams of being a MAGGIE BRIDE than my actual wishful thinking.  I love looking through the wedding dresses at the Maggie Sottero website every so often and they happened to have a contest the day I visited so I decided to enter and write a story, why not.  That I-have-nothing-to-lose attitude just won me a gorgeous wedding dress and I too get to be a future MAGGIE BRIDE!  Not only will I get a to choose a Maggie Sottero gown of my choice, but I hope my story will inspire others to always stay positive and keep reaching for their dreams!  I'm so over the moon today and I keep pinching myself because I can't believe I won!  I will be marrying the love of my life in the dress of my dreams - I'm truly blessed and so very happy!!!!

XoX,

Marikym

Saturday, August 18, 2012

LOVE NOTE #170: Tea Garden Time!


Hello Friends!

Potato and I have been enjoying our time in Chicago very much!  The summer in the city has been one gorgeous day after another.  And what better way to keep track of time than with this delightful watch from Vera Bradley?  It is in the pattern Tea Garden which is her latest Breast Cancer Awareness print.  It's my favorite to date!!!  The pink, orange, and white pattern on a light grey background brightens those days even when the sun wants to hide.  And it's for an amazing cause... 100% of proceeds of this watch go to breast cancer research!  Amazing!  Usually 10%, 20%, or 25% is the standard when it comes to philanthropy from a company's product will go to charity... but 100%?!  Talk about social responsibility!

 It makes this watch have so much more meaning to me than just being a cute lil' watch.  With always being on rotations in hospitals and clinics, sometimes I would lose track of time.  And I didn't always want to pull out my cell phone to check the clock for fear my attending would be thinking I was posting/checking updates on my Facebook... that probably wouldn't go over too well if it was notated in my evaluation.  Did I mention 100% of proceeds go to breast cancer research?!?!  And the print is so cute I can't help but smile when I check to see if it's lunchtime yet;)

This must have been a limited edition as it is sold out online and perhaps in the stores for some time now.  I believe it was released in the Fall 2011.  I'm really glad I was able to get one!  I haven't worn a watch in like 10 years... after all, having a phone eliminated the need for a watch... or even a computer for that matter!  But with living in the city and with the slew of bad guys trying to steal phones from the passengers on the train/bus, it's not always a good idea to have my phone in view for all to see.  Anyways, I adore this watch but I did swap out the original pink leather band for the chunky one you see because it feels more comfortable on my wrist (just not a huge fan of leather bands... just preference...but it was sure cute with the pink band!)

Anyways... I felt it was nice to take a minute and pause for a cause (pun intended... I couldn't resist!)  It's always nice to try and give back.  It's nice to know that many companies these days are focusing as much on their products/services as well as their social responsibility.  I liked this print so much that I also purchased the matching Villager and Mini-Hipster too.  The watch comes in a pretty box (that I now use to hold other jewelry) and a little (watch) pillow.  Great for gift giving (to others and yourself alike!)  A percentage of every product in this print goes to breast cancer research ... pretty, functional, and for a good cause...LOVE!

XoX,

Marikym

Sunday, May 20, 2012

LOVE NOTE #169: Obession with Floral Appliques!


Happy Weekend Friends!

I hope everyone has had a nice enjoyable one so far.  It's really warm today in Chicago.  Again, I'm one of those who loves colder weather.  But if you love sunbathing, today would be your day here in the Midwest!  Funny that I ever would end up here... only because I never imagined I would.  Delighted just the same as this truly is a beautiful city and a lot of fun things to do here!  Potato really has adjusted well.  He loves walking down near the lake.  He's quite the cosmopolitan cutie!

Anyways, I wanted to post this awhile ago.  In between boards and rotations, sometimes I get a chance to dream about the wedding day.  Still, no date yet.  Hoping to finish school and then land residency is first.  Then I can plan!  If all goes to plan, hopefully September 2013!!!  I love the dress I purchased it right when I got engaged.  It's a simple white gown (my second one for part of the reception is ivory!) that's part classic and part modern.  Hard to describe.  It has a fitted bodice but there is just enough poof at the bottom to make me feel like a princess!  Not too much, but just enough.  Why choose when you can have both?!

Although initially I was in love with the Maggie Sottero Rhianna Royale, the boutiques I went to did not carry it.    The sales associate would have me try on a "similar" gown, and tell me to go ahead and order the Rhianna Royale without actually having have seen/felt/worn the actual gown.  I wasn't ready to shell out that much for something I wasn't 100% sure I would like, and of course, no returns or exchanges.  Lucky me, I found something else I was able to try on and fell in love with too!  It has some detailing, is lightweight, and just made me feel like a bride!  I wasn't sure what I was looking for, but I'm glad I kept an open mind!  However, it lacked the floral detailing that I so loved on the Maggie dress.

The solution?  Make my own flower appliques!  The hardest part for me was cutting out the little squares.  After awhile I realized it didn't have to be perfect and I started zipping through these little fabric flowers in no time.  I would watch study videos and make these at the same time.  I have added them to the original dress and am in love with the dress even more!  You know, it's those personal touches that truly make the dress your very own!  I placed them along the sweetheart neckline and then scattered them along the fuller skirt portion of the dress!  I'm debating if I should add some floral strap(s).  Just like the Maggie Sottero dress, my dress has the lace-up back so it requires less tailoring since you can just adjust the laces to your figure.  It's ideal for girls like me who likes to indulge chocolate chip cookies, ice cream, Doritos.  You won't have to be too worried because there is give on these types of dresses (within reason - I'm not saying it's okay to eat your way to 50 pounds but 5-10 pounds shouldn't be a huge deal!)  Or, if you lose weight too (um, I wish!) all you need to do is tighten the laces.  Short of a spandex wedding dress (I'm not judging, just saying!) there is some leeway should you get a little curvier;)  Since I feel like I have a rather difficult body to fit (don't we all feel that way sometimes?!), this was the perfect solution.

I wish I had the dress to show (I'm not superstitious so I don't mind showing the dress before walking down the aisle!)  but I didn't bring it with me to Chicago.  Although sometimes I wish I did, just to admire it!  I wish I could be one of those girls who's hush hush and keeps it under lock and key - but I guess I get so excited I can't wait to share things sometimes!  I used a combination of both satin and organza to make flowers of varying sizes to give depth to the dress.  I also added some petite crystals and pearls to enhance the flowers.  I soooooo adore the finished product.

So far all you brides on a budget, here's a great way to enhance an otherwise simpler dress without having to break the bank.  After all, I felt that if I was only going to wear it for a day, I didn't want to spend too much coin.  Okay, I would love to break it out once a year  and have a Wedding Dress Party Day... and occasionally when I wash the dishes too...;)  So get creative, ladies!  Just because the dress of your dreams isn't perfect as is on the hanger, but you love the style & fit, you can always add extras and make it what you always dreamed it could be!  In fact, I actually like my gown so much more than the Rhianna Royale because there is a more ballgown feel to the skirt but without the bulk.  Very lightweight in comparison to many of the other dresses I tried.  It's just perfect for a French garden outdoor ceremony and reception!

XoX,

Marikym

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

LOVE NOTE #168: Amour de Paris!


Happy Tuesday Friends!

First off, I wanted to wish my Mom a very happy birthday today!!!  The first woman you emulate; the most beautiful woman in memory.  Her cooking skills are amazing.  The best Pho ever!  Thanks for always encouraging me to always try to reach my full potential and chase my dreams.

What a lovely day in Chicago.  Warm and sunny.  However, I actually prefer cooler weather.  Well, I'm not saying a blizzard.  But I don't mind the rain either:)  Probably my favorite season is the Fall.  The air is crisp and cool.  The best sleeping weather.  But I digress...

Anyways, my thoughts on this bottle of bubbly is that I will definitely buy it again.  I can't deny that I was delighted in its namesake and the beautifully dressed bottle.  Amour de Paris is a peach flavored sparkling wine.  It's crisp and the sweetness is subtle.  I purchased this at Trader Joe's for $4.99.  Call it my cheap-fancy indulgence that goes well with capellini and a white wine reduction sauce or just a Lean Cuisine.  The bottle makes me feel like I'm transported to another place in time.  It takes dinner to a different level.  Besides, I always get a kick out of hearing the cork getting popped;)

I know it's non apropos to add ice, but I always do.  Non apropos either to still love Arbor Mist - but I do too!  My palate is hardly elegant, I suppose.  But I'm a girl who knows what she likes.  And maybe knowing what you want, takes a certain level of sophistication after all.

XoX,

Marikym

Monday, May 14, 2012

LOVE NOTE #167: At-Home Manis:)

Hey Girlies!

Looking for some fabulous shades and formulas to do a french mani at home?  Definitely check out OPI Alpine Snow (tips) and Bubble Bath.  After frequenting the nail salon for years, watching, and learning their techniques, I can now do it at home:)  I save a small fortune ($20 bucks a pop + tip every two weeks really adds up!)  I won't deny, at first I was really intimidated.  I used the freestyle form for the white tips and then went back and used a flat brush #6 dipped in nail polish remover to form the "half moon".  All I can say is practice, practice, and more practice:)  I love having the tips drawn on a bit thicker, and the nail techs never would oblige me.  Something about having the TV on, a glass of bubbly, and doing my own nails is so relaxing!

Anyways, not only is OPI a great brand to try, check out ORLY too.  I love their french mani colors as well.  Although between the two, I like the OPI brushes a lot better.  But formula wise, they seem comparable.  So if you are planning a night in and want to pamper yourself, score some bottles of pretty polish and make yourself fabulous!  Don't forget the glossy top coat:)

XoX,

Marikym

LOVE NOTE #166: I Heart Veggie Corn Dogs!

Happy Monday Lovers!

I love these meatless corn dogs from Trader Joe's.  Seems like an oxymoron.  You feel like you should be guilty each time you take a bite because it's that good.  What a great substitute for the original sister version.  Carnival food with out carnival-food calories.  I always have a side of ketchup and mustard, of course.  A taste good and feel good treat available in a pack of four in the freezer section.  Always a staple in my kitchen:)

Anywhos, America's Got Talent premieres tonight.  More anticipation since the ever polarizing Howard Stern will be one of the judges.  I'm interested in finding out how he will judge, how he will say things, and how his anti-censor persona will fare on prime time.  Love him.  Hate him.  He's going to go down in the history books as iconic.

The Bachelorette will be premiering tonight as well.  Emily, the attractive former bachelor contestant vying and winning Brad's (who really should have chosen Chantal O.!!!) wedding proposal is now in search of a relationship that will hopefully last this time.  The twice engaged (that I know of anyways) and single mom, will be trying out a houseful of men to see which one fits.  I wish her well, but I seriously doubt a girl like her needs a television show to find an ideal suitor.  Perhaps the quest for love is only part of her agenda?  Whatever the reason, I indulge in said guilty pleasure:)  I love love... no matter how many times around.

Finally, Smash!  What can I say?  Addicted.  A great cast.  A great story line.  It's got music.  It's got romance and passion.  The only thing is that they make me wait a whole week to see what happens next... eeek.

So with all this good TV, I have to carve time out to study for board exams too.  And pass them.  This summer.  Then apply for residency.  I'm hoping I'll land residency in 2013.  Oh please pray for me.


XoX,

Marikym

Friday, May 4, 2012

LOVE NOTE #165: Chanel Chance Eau Tendre!

Hello Lovers!

I have been busy with rotations and studying for board exams scheduled for this summer.  My beloved blog has been a bit neglected.  I haven't logged into blogger in awhile, and the interface is different.  I was a bit intimidated.  I'm sure with time, I will get accustomed to it:)  

However, I'm so excited about a cookbook on order.  Maybe it will inspire me again!  I've been relying on semi-homemade meals as of late.  With Trader Joe's a short distance from my apartment, everything comes so easy whether cooking or merely heating.  I got hooked on Trader Joe's when I was probably 6-7.  My Daddy brought home a tub of cashew butter.  And they say the rest is history:)

It's lovely here in Chicago.  Barely a winter, in terms of snowfall.  And now it's spring and nearing summer.  What better way to ring in the new warmer seasons with a delightful new fragrance?  I have always adored all things Chanel (but my pocketbook really reads GAP or LOFT on sale!)  Such elegance to her fashion house.  Who wouldn't want to wear a little bit of that fabulousness every day, right?  Try as I might, her fragrances of the past were too overpowering.  Although No.5, Allure, and the original Chance grace my vanity, they have more dust than fingerprints.  Sigh.  Anyways, (un)fortunately, ULTA is a few blocks from my apartment as well (living in Chicago on a budget is like a huge tease!)  This was the last bottle.  Of course.  Armed too with such positive reviews from Makeupalley.com, I decided to purchase without ever having sampled the fragrance.  Testers for all the Chanel fragrances were available, except for Chance Eau Tendre.  Of course.  Did I mention it was the last bottle?  Oh yes.  What was a girl to do?  And I took a chance (pun intended!)

Well, life is about chances, and sometimes it's a hit, sometimes it's a miss. The verdict?  Total hit!!!!!  So different than the other fragrances in the lineup.  And it's a delicate pink.  A fruity floral of the grown-up variety.  Reminds me of Lancome's So Magic I use to use and now discontinued.  It use to be my signature scent.  The one that you reach for, that makes you smile upon the first spritz.  I haven't had that feeling until now.  I love this sweet, soft and gorgeous scent!  If the other Chanel fragrances haven't worked for you, definitely try this one!

XoX,

Marikym

Friday, February 17, 2012

LOVE NOTE #164: Almond Butter by the Spoonful!



Hey Lovers!

It's the wonderful month filled with pink, red, and white shaped heart-shaped everything! My donut addiction even comes dressed up in my favorite shape and colors! My darling fiance sent the most gorgeous bouquet of pink and red roses. He's in Boston and I'm in Chicago, so our actual Valentine's date will have to wait until the next time he visits;) I hope everyone had a lovely February 14!

Anyways, I find myself shopping exclusively at Trader Joe's these days as it is the closest market to my apartment in the city. You won't find the typical items as you would at your regular grocer, but it makes you want to try new things for sure. So to cure my usual peanut butter by the spoonful cravings I get every so often (okay, every day!), my taste buds decided to take a somewhat "grown-up" turn.

I'm so happy I did! A tub of Trader Joe's almond butter with flaxseed has three ingredients. Yup. Forget about all the unpronounceable words consisting of 4 our more syllables. A simple ingredient list consisting of almonds, flaxseed, and sea salt. No preservatives or artificial colors...how refreshing! All you will find is natural ingredients and the flaxseed gives it that extra crunch! This is also a natural source of Omega-3's! Not only is it so addictive, but so much healthier and natural than the popular brands. For only $4.99, you get 16 oz. of this delight! I love this by the spoonful, but I love it on a slice of TJ's San Francisco style sourdough boule too... ahhhhmazeballs!

Thanks Trader Joe's for making eating better so much easier. Next review will be the vegetarian corn dogs! No, I'm not going all vegetarian on you; I have reduced my consumption of meat substantially and haven't eaten any for some time now. However, I will eat a burger or rotisserie chicken if I'm in the mood for sure! I'm just exploring this world of vegetarian alternatives, and so many delicious options, I'm impressed by all the tasty options!

XoX,

Marikym

Friday, February 3, 2012

LOVE NOTE #163: Semi-Vegetarianly Yours...;)




Hey Friends!

Wishing everyone a wonderful start to the month of love - February of course! I love this month because Valentine's falls on the 14th and all the storefronts are decorated in my favorite color combination: red and pink! Whether you're celebrating this with the love of your life, or a love interest of the moment... perhaps even just kickin' it with your best friend(s), let's make it one where we show appreciation for the ones that have brought us so much happiness!

I've been kept busy with my rotations and continually studying for board exams. I know I always have something to do, need to do something... but sometimes the stress of it all finds me and Potato fixated on the latest episode of American Idol or walking down to the end of the street to take advantage of Lincoln Park as our backyard.

Anyways, in order to keep the weight in check and trying to boost my energy levels, I've been trying to incorporate days of the week where I abstain from eating meat. I am going to go semi-vegetarian. Don't get me wrong. I still will enjoy the occasional burger and chicken wings. I guess I was starting to feel like a hypocrite when I was requested to provide information on leading a healthier lifestyle to patients. I felt so guilty because lately I have been indulging in high-calorie/high-fat content meals. Bad girl. I haven't had much time to cook lately.

However, Trader Joe's has been coming to my aid! With their selection of frozen vegetarian selections, this transition has been seamless. My first review is the Trader Joe's Chickenless Nuggets. Sooooo good! Even potato loves these things! I pair this with a side of vegetables or a bowl of soup, something carbolicious (think mini-baguette, slice of garlic bread, etc.) and I'm all set. As for my sweet tooth... that's a different story! I guess I will cut back where I can... but sometimes a girl just really wants a slice of carrot cake!

Enjoy!

XoX,

Marikym

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

LOVE NOTE #162: FedEx Office Saves the Day!



Hey Friends!

Running around like a lunatic in efforts to over prepare for a presentation at the last minute, was sure taxing today. I didn't know what to expect, so you can imagine I was a bit nervous. It ended up being laid back with my audience at the nursing home just appreciating the information provided regarding breast cancer. I decided to provide handouts as was suggested by my coordinator, and without a printer at home, I was under pressure to find an FedEx Office or Staples. When I first Googled the directions, it read 25 minutes walking time. I panicked. Never have I been so relieved that I inputted the wrong information! I re-typed the corrected addy and voila! 8 minutes by foot! Let's just say from the time I left my apartment to the time I came back with my copies, it took 20 minutes tops! Again, can I tell you that my experience thus far in Lakeview East has been awesome?!?! This part of Chicago is so lovely!

Well, what is the take-home message? To not put off preparation until the morning of said presentation. No need to catastrophize either. Even though my preparation was at the last minute, I still managed to arrive 20 minutes early.

After the presentation I had to run to the clinic for my FM rotation. After that, I went home and crashed on the couch. Potato and I find ourselves sleeping on the couch more than my actual bed as of late (he sleeps wherever I sleep!) Either I'm too tired to make it over to the bed or just lazy. My second-hand green couch is pretty darn comfy:) Added to which my apartment is teeny-tiny but cozy and perfect for me and Potato. Maybe we just prefer the couch because it's right in front of the TV;)

Everyone I've met in the building has been really nice too. A super dog-friendly area. Except for one little 13 pounder...Potato hasn't been very nice to anyone. He loves to bark! He has a pretty loud bark for a little tyke, so when people turn around and look, they laugh! My little tough guy who is afraid of puddles and the service elevator .

Anyways, can't wait for the play-offs this Sunday. I'm really nervous that the Pats are playing against the Ravens! They have a ridiculous defense! At least two of them are shoe-ins for the Hall of Fame, if not three! This will be the classic game of brawn versus brain. Will muscle prevail over skill? I have faith in New England! Let's do this boys... my emotions are counting on you!

Anyways, it was a rough start to the day, but ended up worth it when I came home and saw Potato's little face. He's always so happy to see me... and in turn, makes me so happy too:) I love my dog!


XoX,

Marikym

Sunday, January 15, 2012

LOVE NOTE #161: Patriots Keep Pushing!



Hey Friends,

Still spinning from the New England victory last night. Although it was a pretty much an open-and-closed book by the end of the second quarter with a 35-7 lead over the Broncos. It was a huge night for Gronkowski. Now that kid's a beast if I ever saw one. He's big, fast, and just an all-around adorable "Meathead" who knows how to catch TD passes and has set just all sorts of crazy records all season (minus the fact that he likes to pose with pornstars... but heck, another story another time!) Then of course there was the Brady 61-yard pass to wide receiver Branch within the last two minutes of the 2nd quarter, bringing that to TD #4 for the PATS. As if that wasn't solid enough, TD #5 was a pass to Gronkowski made within seconds of halftime. Sure, there was a minor foible committed by Brady in the 1st quarter with an interception picked off by Carter. Obviously the superstar QB recovered quickly leading the Pats to a 45-10 victory.

As for Tebow and the Broncos... they seemed to have lost momentum quickly and maybe that started out with a sack on Tebow by Nincovich early in the 1st quarter. A huge issue with the Broncos is their offense needs a lot of work. They need to learn to get numbers on the board. They just cannot seem to score. However, I'm excited to follow Tebow's career as he continues to keep reaching and growing. The kid has heart both on and off the field.

Tebow has always sponsored a very sick child and his/her family to come out and watch the game, whether home or away. He then spends time with them right before the game and an hour after the game, win or lose. And you know what he says? That these children inspire him! I always cry when I watch these clips. Like full out balling please hand me the box of tissue. Potato usually just watches me with his big brown eyes... almost saying "My mommy is a bit weird..." It's really tears of joy! My heart is just filled with so much happiness... sounds a bit cheesy, but it's the truth. I guess that's a bigger story to me than whether Tebow wins or loses on the field. You just see the faces of these children, and how they look at him with such awe. And he seems so gentle with them. It blows my mind how some people are just so giving. Yes, I remember watching him win the Heismann in 2007 his sophomore year when he was a Gator. I was with my boyfriend at the time (he's the one who turned me into a crazy football fan!) I asked, "Who is this one (pointing to Tebow)? He has a nice face. He looks very kind." Then the boyfriend rolled his eyes, "Yeah, he's really good, but he loves God a lot!" And I said, "Oh! That's wondeful! I'm going to like him just for that!" And then I was on the Tebow Train since!

Anyways, I have some disappointing news to share regarding a pizza I tried from Trader Joe's. I know, wah. I don't like to write the negative, but it's just my opinion and you may feel differently. I still encourage you to try it out. I should have known anything that says reduced guilt and on a pizza carton is a no go! I don't mind frozen, in fact, I love to have frozen handy because sometimes you just don't want to headout to get a slice of pizza. The Trader Joe's Pizza Primavera is vegetarian. But combine that with low fat (READ: Where is the cheese on this thing?!), a crust that was too crispy, it didn't suit my taste buds. I know, you go from Chicago pepperoni deep-dish pizza to this... it is quite an adjustment! I was just trying to be good to offset all the Doritos I was eating all day.

Happy Sunday Everyone!

XoX,

Marikym

Saturday, January 14, 2012

LOVE NOTE #160: Tebow vs. Brady Tonight!



Hey Friends!

I've been waiting all week for today! Denver will be in New England for the 2nd match-up this year, and the playoffs nonetheless, how exciting! I am nervous about the Pats defense - even though they are the healthiest they have been all season. With Brady's smarts, hopefully my fears will be unfounded. Broncos covered Welker and Gronk the last time, with Hernandez being able to demonstrate his underrated athleticism. Unsure of what tonight will bring. Tebow is such an unorthodox QB, making him become unstoppable thus far. However, Belichick is genius and Brady is too precise, so we will see if my call that the PATS will have another win at home will happen (or not!) Let's see if the Broncos learned from their mistakes and how far the power of positive thinking will take them. Whatever the outcome, this is going to be one heck of a game tonight!

I will be sad if the Pats lose tonight, but in a way I'll be happy it is a loss to the Broncos. I must agree with Terry Bradshaw when he said today that the young folks of our nation need a hero like Tim Tebow to win tonight. Our country has been so influenced with media and shows with characters who have succeeded based on their greed, deception, and selfishness. I see a lot of the people who I have crossed paths with in my life who are driven by these values in hopes this will lead to their own successes. I just feel it's a bit shady, okay super shady. Anyways, I just hope that Tebow influences a new generation to work hard, believe in teamwork, being positive, and striving every day to just be an all-around good person. Too much is placed on having the biggest house, the biggest car, the biggest bank accounts - it's such a confusing message. Yes, of course it's nice to have those things, but I don't think these things should be the main focus in life. Am I being too naive?

Anyways, I started OBGYN rotations this week, but they switched me out to Family Medicine for the next 6 weeks instead. I am wondering if I had stayed in OBGYN whether or not I would have ended up being on-call this weekend should a baby decide it wanted to be delivered during the PATS game. It just depends on your luck and who you end up with as an attending that determines how wacky your schedule will be. Afterall, babies (should but) don't really care about the NFL Playoffs! My friend worked some crazy hours when she did her OBGYN rotation (8 days/7nights on!) I'm so happy my new schedule doesn't require any weekends. Woot-woot!

I was able to get some errands done this morning. I walked to Wigglyville (get it?!?! Too cute!) to get Potato some snow boots. Let me tell you for 11 a.m., it was packed! I should have thought about being a vet and opening up a pet store on the side. Well, a bit too late now. After that, I walked to Trader Joe's to stock up on some provisions for the week. That's the awesome part of living right in the middle of the city; everything is in walking distance! My latest obsession? Trader Joe's Spicy Chai Latte. You can experience this treat hot or cold, but I've only tried it hot. And it's fabolicious:) Might I add it's only $2.99 for a 10 oz. canister. A bargain your taste buds will delight in for sure...Yum!

Okay, gotta get back to the NFL Playoff Pregame Show... bye!

XoX,

Marikym

P.S. Wishing my boyfriend (fiance really, but I still like to call him my boyfriend because even after 10 years... it still feels fresh and fun like we are still dating!) a safe and wonderful business trip to Dublin (yes, as in the real Ireland!)

Thursday, January 12, 2012

LOVE NOTE #159: The North Face Amore - LOVE!



Hey Friends!

Today was the first day in Chicago that was hit with a snowstorm... and it's already near the middle of January! Needless to say, this has been one of the mildest winters in Chicago in decades. Pretty amazing since this is my first winter in the Midwest. In fact, yesterday was 50 degrees, and just warm and lovely. What a difference a day makes!

Chicago touts one of the best public transportation systems in the country. I must say so far, it doesn't seem to disappoint. And with Google Maps on my Android, I can see if I should take the train or bus, the appropriate transfers and the ETA as well. Technology really blows my mind. My fiance always tells me that a smartphone is not a necessity, only a luxury. I agreed with him up until I moved to this city. Google Maps has been a life saver in terms of navigating this new city, and fortunately such a beautiful one:)

Speaking of lifesavers, having the right kicks to navigate these city streets is critical as well. Heels and flip-flops are out during this time of year. Although I lived in Boston, I had a car there so my commute by foot was more limited. I left my Jeep back home and now having to rely on some non-skid, water-resistant, and warm boots for this winter. I was a bit overwhelmed as to the choices to make in terms of winter boots, but decided to rely on a brand that has never disappointed. After reading the reviews on Zappos, I picked The North Face Amore. I was anxiously waiting to test out these shoes in some serious winter weather. The verdict? Excellent! I trampled through some wet and sloppy conditions - snow, slush, and mud. My toes stayed dry and warm. Did I mention it feels like you're wearing slippers or walking on what I imagine a cloud would feel like walking on ... outstanding! They are so lightweight too! So about an hour commute via public transportation, and my feet never would have known the weather wasn't quite ideal outside thanks to The North Face Amore!

So glad I relied on a brand I was familiar with as well... although to see me you might find me annoying as I probably look like a walking advertisement for The North Face. What can I say? They make products that perform, and perform they did for this one urban athlete;) Whether it is trekking through snow for your morning and evening commute, or just needing a pair of shoes (I really want to call them slippers as that's what they feel like!) to slip on and walk the dog, these are fabulous! I'll call these my Little Love (Snow) Boots! The North Face appropriately called these Amore for a reason... and if you try them on, you'll be saying love in Italian too!

XoX,

Marikym

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

LOVE NOTE #158: Gaga over Tebow?!



Hey Friends!

I never thought that Lady Gaga would get crazy over Tebow, but guess she was Twitter-ing him up... as is the whole country once again! The Steelers are a tough crew, and well the Broncos proved that they were the better team, albeit it was finally proven in OT. Yet again...the Broncos sure know how to build the suspense! Now this is reality TV at its finest. You just really never know what will happen in sports. Being both a Lady Gaga and Tebow fan, it's nice to see that one superstar speaks so highly of another. The praise comes from someone so unlikely too. As we all know, Tebow's faith runs very deep. As you can well imagine, it has been quite polarizing. And to see Lady Gaga, who's persona seems to be on the other end of the continuum when it comes to religion, give accolades to Tebow is so refreshing! I told my fiance wouldn't that be so cool if Lady Gaga and Tebow started dating?!?! Maybe she could sing in the church choir too. What? Realistically speaking I would have to agree with him when he said it would never happen. Still, the unlikeliness of this notion makes it all the more romantic... I live for romance! Besides, reality is often times way overrated.

Anyways, Potato and I are adjusting well in our new neighborhood. It was a toss-up between an apartment in Lincoln Park or Lakeview East, but settled on the latter as a bestie has an apartment here as well. Minus the fact that some crazy man sitting behind me on the "El" threatened "I'm going to stick this F#*$-ing thing in you!" when I was riding the train from the Southside back home around 10:30 p.m. last Thursday. I should have just cabbed it, but I was trying to familiarize myself with the train and bus system... guess it wasn't the ideal time or place to do so... Oooops. Oh! And a fire in a high-rise down my street resulted in a fatality. Other than that, it's been a nice welcome! Seriously, Chicago is quite lovely. I never thought I would ever end up in the Midwest. As the cliche goes - never say never. I really like my street too. My place is between Broadway and North Lakeshore Drive. A quiet side street with tons of dogs... LOVE! I have Argo Tea literally down my street (like barely a minute walk!) The other end is Lake Michigan where the Lincoln Park trail begins. Walgreens and CVS are like a 2 or 3 minute walk in either direction. The best part? Trader Joe's is in walking distance! My favorite market on earth! It's the newest one that opened up in Lincoln Park. I've been so busy with rotations, cooking will be a tough feat. But with all the goodies I have picked up from TJ's, I'm one happy girl:) What I highly recommend are these delicious almonds covered in dark chocolate. A 24 oz. container for $6.99... talk about a bargain! Now this after a long day combined with some Two-Buck-Chuck? A combo that certainly rights all the wrongs that have accumulated during a hard day. After all, the studies (I want to believe) say dark chocolate and a glass of wine have some very positive health benefits... whether it's mentally or physically, well...all I care about is that it puts a smile back on my face:)

Until next time...

XoX,

Marikym