Sunday, January 15, 2012

LOVE NOTE #161: Patriots Keep Pushing!



Hey Friends,

Still spinning from the New England victory last night. Although it was a pretty much an open-and-closed book by the end of the second quarter with a 35-7 lead over the Broncos. It was a huge night for Gronkowski. Now that kid's a beast if I ever saw one. He's big, fast, and just an all-around adorable "Meathead" who knows how to catch TD passes and has set just all sorts of crazy records all season (minus the fact that he likes to pose with pornstars... but heck, another story another time!) Then of course there was the Brady 61-yard pass to wide receiver Branch within the last two minutes of the 2nd quarter, bringing that to TD #4 for the PATS. As if that wasn't solid enough, TD #5 was a pass to Gronkowski made within seconds of halftime. Sure, there was a minor foible committed by Brady in the 1st quarter with an interception picked off by Carter. Obviously the superstar QB recovered quickly leading the Pats to a 45-10 victory.

As for Tebow and the Broncos... they seemed to have lost momentum quickly and maybe that started out with a sack on Tebow by Nincovich early in the 1st quarter. A huge issue with the Broncos is their offense needs a lot of work. They need to learn to get numbers on the board. They just cannot seem to score. However, I'm excited to follow Tebow's career as he continues to keep reaching and growing. The kid has heart both on and off the field.

Tebow has always sponsored a very sick child and his/her family to come out and watch the game, whether home or away. He then spends time with them right before the game and an hour after the game, win or lose. And you know what he says? That these children inspire him! I always cry when I watch these clips. Like full out balling please hand me the box of tissue. Potato usually just watches me with his big brown eyes... almost saying "My mommy is a bit weird..." It's really tears of joy! My heart is just filled with so much happiness... sounds a bit cheesy, but it's the truth. I guess that's a bigger story to me than whether Tebow wins or loses on the field. You just see the faces of these children, and how they look at him with such awe. And he seems so gentle with them. It blows my mind how some people are just so giving. Yes, I remember watching him win the Heismann in 2007 his sophomore year when he was a Gator. I was with my boyfriend at the time (he's the one who turned me into a crazy football fan!) I asked, "Who is this one (pointing to Tebow)? He has a nice face. He looks very kind." Then the boyfriend rolled his eyes, "Yeah, he's really good, but he loves God a lot!" And I said, "Oh! That's wondeful! I'm going to like him just for that!" And then I was on the Tebow Train since!

Anyways, I have some disappointing news to share regarding a pizza I tried from Trader Joe's. I know, wah. I don't like to write the negative, but it's just my opinion and you may feel differently. I still encourage you to try it out. I should have known anything that says reduced guilt and on a pizza carton is a no go! I don't mind frozen, in fact, I love to have frozen handy because sometimes you just don't want to headout to get a slice of pizza. The Trader Joe's Pizza Primavera is vegetarian. But combine that with low fat (READ: Where is the cheese on this thing?!), a crust that was too crispy, it didn't suit my taste buds. I know, you go from Chicago pepperoni deep-dish pizza to this... it is quite an adjustment! I was just trying to be good to offset all the Doritos I was eating all day.

Happy Sunday Everyone!

XoX,

Marikym