Saturday, January 14, 2012

LOVE NOTE #160: Tebow vs. Brady Tonight!



Hey Friends!

I've been waiting all week for today! Denver will be in New England for the 2nd match-up this year, and the playoffs nonetheless, how exciting! I am nervous about the Pats defense - even though they are the healthiest they have been all season. With Brady's smarts, hopefully my fears will be unfounded. Broncos covered Welker and Gronk the last time, with Hernandez being able to demonstrate his underrated athleticism. Unsure of what tonight will bring. Tebow is such an unorthodox QB, making him become unstoppable thus far. However, Belichick is genius and Brady is too precise, so we will see if my call that the PATS will have another win at home will happen (or not!) Let's see if the Broncos learned from their mistakes and how far the power of positive thinking will take them. Whatever the outcome, this is going to be one heck of a game tonight!

I will be sad if the Pats lose tonight, but in a way I'll be happy it is a loss to the Broncos. I must agree with Terry Bradshaw when he said today that the young folks of our nation need a hero like Tim Tebow to win tonight. Our country has been so influenced with media and shows with characters who have succeeded based on their greed, deception, and selfishness. I see a lot of the people who I have crossed paths with in my life who are driven by these values in hopes this will lead to their own successes. I just feel it's a bit shady, okay super shady. Anyways, I just hope that Tebow influences a new generation to work hard, believe in teamwork, being positive, and striving every day to just be an all-around good person. Too much is placed on having the biggest house, the biggest car, the biggest bank accounts - it's such a confusing message. Yes, of course it's nice to have those things, but I don't think these things should be the main focus in life. Am I being too naive?

Anyways, I started OBGYN rotations this week, but they switched me out to Family Medicine for the next 6 weeks instead. I am wondering if I had stayed in OBGYN whether or not I would have ended up being on-call this weekend should a baby decide it wanted to be delivered during the PATS game. It just depends on your luck and who you end up with as an attending that determines how wacky your schedule will be. Afterall, babies (should but) don't really care about the NFL Playoffs! My friend worked some crazy hours when she did her OBGYN rotation (8 days/7nights on!) I'm so happy my new schedule doesn't require any weekends. Woot-woot!

I was able to get some errands done this morning. I walked to Wigglyville (get it?!?! Too cute!) to get Potato some snow boots. Let me tell you for 11 a.m., it was packed! I should have thought about being a vet and opening up a pet store on the side. Well, a bit too late now. After that, I walked to Trader Joe's to stock up on some provisions for the week. That's the awesome part of living right in the middle of the city; everything is in walking distance! My latest obsession? Trader Joe's Spicy Chai Latte. You can experience this treat hot or cold, but I've only tried it hot. And it's fabolicious:) Might I add it's only $2.99 for a 10 oz. canister. A bargain your taste buds will delight in for sure...Yum!

Okay, gotta get back to the NFL Playoff Pregame Show... bye!

XoX,

Marikym

P.S. Wishing my boyfriend (fiance really, but I still like to call him my boyfriend because even after 10 years... it still feels fresh and fun like we are still dating!) a safe and wonderful business trip to Dublin (yes, as in the real Ireland!)