Tuesday, December 27, 2011

LOVE NOTE #157: Happy Christmahanukwanzaka!





Hello Friends!

Wishing everyone a happy holiday season! I hope you had the chance to spend time with your loved ones, reflect on the past year, and be thankful for life's blessings. Sometimes the every day gets so hectic. We lose ourselves in the to-do lists forgetting what really matters most: our family and friends:)

I love Christmastime because I get to trim the tree and write out Christmas cards - doing all this with a glass of wine (okay, okay, okay...it was really more like a bottle...) and other, shall we just say, "Holiday Concoctions" all the while listening to Christmas carols in the background. Pure joy! Painting my nails a festive shade of green is even appropriate this time of year:)

I wanted to make an apple crisp for Christmas Eve dinner, but somehow mismanaged my time. I suppose I should have just stuck to one glass of wine;) But you know what always saves the day? Cupcakes from a box! Fail safe! I did substitute the oil on the package instructions for applesauce and they still came out yummy! Oh, and please pardon my frosting skills. Blame it on the lack of practice as well as some of the cupcakes falling off the plate during their photo op. Despite some minor mishaps, it was so fun! I loved decorating the cupcakes in red, white, and green frosting. And of course I had to feel like I looked the part. I made a quick stop at my local JoAnn Fabrics to make my matching holiday apron and hat!

Wishing everyone a safe and wondeful holiday season!

XoX,

Marikym

Monday, December 19, 2011

LOVE NOTE #156: Perfectly Pumpkin Soup



Hey Friends,

I hope you are having a December to Remember! I must say that in MA we are having an unusually warm winter with hardly any snow fall, so far anyhow. I'm sure soon after I post this, we very well could be hit with some wacky but seasonable snowstorm! Until that time comes, I will enjoy the mild winter for as long as I can:)

I'm crazy for soups and the crisp and chilly air makes me even crazier for them! The good news about soups is that they help fill me up without having to worry too much about calories & fat! One soup that is extremely hard to find is pumpkin soup. And the first time I had it was actually last month! I met one of my bestie's at Au Bon Pain just to catch up, get coffee, and a quick bite to eat. She told me she was in love with their pumpkin soup. This intrigued me as I had never heard or sampled this type of soup before. Well, with the first spoonful, I was hooked!

This soup is somewhat seasonal, and on a subsequent visit, there was none to my avail. And of course, I was craving it like mad that day! So after some thought and research, I was able to create a pumpkin soup that is just as good as the one the one I had at Au Bon Pain! Now I don't have to be at their mercy, and can whip up a batch anytime of the year using canned pumpkin!


Ingredients:

1 can 100% Pure Pumpkin (16 oz)
3 cups of 2% milk
1 tablespoon butter/margarine
1 teaspoon sugar or 1 packet of Splenda
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Over medium heat, combine pumpkin, milk, butter/margarine, and cinnamon. Cook over medium heat for 15 to 20 minutes until the soup slightly thickens stirring occasionally. Add salt and pepper to taste.


Not only is it so tastey, comforting and warm, pumpkin is high in fiber and low in fat. Many recipes that I found online did call for the use of cream, but 2% worked out deliciously:) This perhaps is the most basic pumpkin recipe out there with ingredients that are already in your cabinet!

Until next time...

XoX,

Marikym

LOVE NOTE #155: Sunday's Best:)



Hello Friends!

Hoping everyone had a fabulous weekend. I know I did, what with the much anticipated match-up between the New England Patriots and the Denver Broncos. In fact, I was excited about it since the previous weekend, with my countdown starting after the Broncos game against the Chicago Bears. What's gotten into me? I didn't realize how exhausting this whole football thing could really get. I guess this is what happens when you have been in love with the same boy for over 10 years who lives, breaths, eats anything sports related. It use to be only football, basketball (NBA and college), and baseball. Over the past 5 years however, we have now added European soccer to that list. Yes to football and basketball. The others, not so much... for now anyways;)

Well, onto yesterday's game! What do I think? I called a New England win, although with Vollmer, Chung, and slew of other injuries makes for one of the weakest defenses in the NFL. The one good thing? Brady loves to make passes which throws numbers on the board, and quick. As for Tebow and crew, although on a winning streak, the Broncos have been able to score very little over the past several weeks. I still don't understand why Belichick decided to defer after winning the coin toss, and I was further made anxious when Tebow powered into the end zone on the first possession yielding an instantaneous 6 points. However, with the Pats first possesion, it was wide receiver Mr. Chad Ochocinco who scored the winning TD (his first this year!) making it even easier to like him yesterday! As much as I like Ocho, he really hasn't been contributing much since he was signed on with the Pats this year. On the Broncos second possession they scored again, a rally giving my usually low-blood pressure the spike it shouldn't be getting. In fact, Tebow was successfully passing quite a bit, which was very unusual.

In the second quarter, it was the Pats who gained momentum of the game with 3 fumbles by the Broncos. It was Tebow's old college teammate, Hernandez, who stepped up and showed his mad athleticism as both Gronk and Welker seemed to be swarmed by the defense. Once again, the brains behind the crew, Belichick, outsmarts his opponent. The culmination: 41-23 Patriots.

And the highlights of the day? When Carter was injured and Tebow came over to show some awesome sportsmanship - genuine concern for a member of the other team, that tugged at my heartstrings! What a great kid. I hope he stays squeaky clean and the news about Ms. Vonn is only a rumor. Or hopefully she only has eyes for his brother, Robby. And of course, when Brady ran for the touchdown and then spiked the ball! It's nice to see that fire from Brady when usually it's always Mr. Cool, Calm, and Collected on the field. Well, minus last week's incident on the sideline with the blowout with offensive coordinator Bill O'Brien. Oh, and when Ochocinco can't complete a pass, he gets some meanface from Brady on the sidelines too. That's what you get when you don't study the game Ocho, and getting someone on the team based on some bromance with the head coach... sigh. Well, after all it is Ocho, and he made up for it yesterday. Bygones be bygones:) Finally, seeing Tom and Tim meet for the first time at the end of the game, the genuine smiles and camaraderie were refreshing. I saw it a few weeks ago between Tom and arch-nemesis Manning. Can we say great photo-op? But that was an easy conversation as it looks like Manning may be retiring due to his injury earlier this year. (There is another future HOF-er!) And with the first round pick going to the Colts, it's most likely that Stanford's Luck will be filling Peyton's shoes next year.

All in all, I was soooooo happy with the outcome! Next week, I can't wait to cheer on the Pats and the Broncos. Still, mad love for Tebow, what a positive role model that the kids these days really need.


And yes, next post will be food... I promise. As all this football has left me emotionally exhausted.

XoX,

Marikym

Monday, December 12, 2011

LOVE NOTE #154: TEBOW TIME!




Hey Friends!

Football Sundays are filled with feel-good foods and a day where it's okay to watch TV until you drop:) One of our favorite foods is these Honey Stung Drummies which are the best from Roche Bros. However, we don't have them as often as we like because this market is about a 5 minute drive from our home. Close, I know, but after being so spoiled by having a market that is in walking distance that I choose to drive to (about a minute!), anything longer becomes "Too Far!"
I've been fascinated with Tim Tebow since his years as a Gator and his sophomoric Heisman Trophy win. His squeaky clean image is refreshing. It's nice to see a good boy do well, and his wins seem to be of the miraculous sort. Yesterday's match-up with the Bears was one heck of a game! I don't know football all that well, blame it on a sports-fanatic fiance and well, it has rubbed off on me. I knew this was becoming somewhat problematic as I found myself watching ESPN when I was overseas, with no fiance nearby to impress.

Although a Pats fan, the win over the Skins was expected. However, I must admit that the game was too close and and surprisingly anxiety provoking. What I was really looking forward to was to see what would happen with the Broncos. In typical fashion, the first 58 minutes was a snorefest. It wasn't until about the last two minutes that some sort of magic became apparent. Some have argued that the win by the Broncos was more due to the mistakes made by the opponent, but there is no doubt that a 59 yard field goal in the 4th quarter made by Prater took some skill. This drove the game into OT. With the coin toss won by Chicago, I wondered how much Tebow could do this time. But the glaring out-of-bounds mistake made by Barber stopping the clock and again Barber coughing up the ball only to be recovered by the Broncos, things started to look miraculously hopeful. I scratched my head as my heart was pounding as for most of the game Tebow had very little rhythm or accuracy, so I was yelling something that made no sense as my body was in mid-air - ecstatic at the turn of events! Finally, the win came with another 51 yard field goal! It was amazing! Camera to Elway and I was in hysterics thinking this man needs to stop looking so disgusted with his own team winning.

My only question now is, will Tebow breed a new type of quarterback? The unconventional quarterback who likes to run as much as he can throw. Although the MVP obviously will go to Aaron Rogers, my vote for QB of the year is Tebow. I understand he is very polarizing with his views on faith, but what is so inspiring is his ability to pull his team together with the power of his optimism. When things look destitute, he doesn't let it get to him, and I feel like this resonates with his teammates. Now that is a mark of a good leader. I'm excited to see what else will transpire with this one... and I promise to not turn this into a blog about sports and Tebow (well, all the time anyways!)

XoX,

Marikym

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

LOVE NOTE #153: Cheers to Good Health!





Hey Foodies!

I hope everyone is having a terrific Tuesday so far:) I can tell you that I have been so stressed out as I am moving to Chicago in a few weeks. I will be in Lakeview East with Lincoln Park literally down my street! I think Potato is going to enjoy his long walks around his new neighborhood! With some mandatory tests done at the doctor's office, and everything so far so good, I'm happy to report that I'm relatively healthy:) Although I don't boast the picture-perfect diet, and I do have the biggest sweet tooth on Earth, I guess everything in moderation has saved me so far! And incorporating diabetic recipes into my diet too (No, not pre-diabetic or diabetic, but a lot of studies have shown that following a diabetic diet is very healthy!) Anything to ward off Type II! Oh, and maybe the jogging in place while watching TV and doing my at-home exercise videos that all my friends make fun of me for doing have done something good for my heart all these years! Afterall, it's about consistency! On a bad week it's 3 days, on a good week it's 6 days of cardio, and sometimes doubles ... not that I'm bragging;) Although to look at me as one nice Russian classmate put it in her thick accent, "You workout a lot... but I cannot tell." Okay, maybe not so nice... The big BUT is that I'm in good health! Sooooo happy! I have ducked any form of blood pressure and cholesterol medication this time thank goodness! I must say I'm proud that my blood pressure reading is 117/70... Woot-woot! Now I just have to work on these jiggly parts...

I learned that my former doctor retired, and I would be seeing a new one today. I must say that I was somewhat anxious, but when I met her, she was just as sweet and encouraging as my last physician! Might I add I was intimidated by all her Ivy League diplomas, but she was so genuine and supportive. When she found out I was in medical school, she understood what I was going through and had just the right things to say and told me my rotations would fly by and quick.

She told me all sorts of funny stories while she was doing her rotations too. How one time she was in surgery and it was around the 6th hour helping the surgeon with keeping the stomach open during a Whipple procedure and her head dropped right onto the sterile pan... her take home message was to not fall asleep! I think she told me the story because I gained 10 pounds since my last visit (I emphasize relatively good health!), but she told me to not fret as I would be lucky to eat sometimes. During her surgery rotations she had to force herself to eat a muffin in the morning because her surgeon wouldn't let anyone leave the operating room - and that could be like hours. She told me once she was in surgery for 15 hours!

If anything I took away from this visit was that you can be both a strong woman and be so kind, sweet, funny and non-pretentious. Usually it's one or the other, picking a corner and staying there. You know the type, strong woman, bossy, abrasive edge - a witch with a capital B. Or the other side is the fragile flower so sweet and kind and DOCILE. Or the funny girl just completely way too kick back to bother taking anything seriously. This juxtaposition was something I have never experienced. It's something I want to be someday, what an inspiration!

Anyways, whenever I visit my doctor's office, I have to visit the Asian market that is in the same town. I was able to get some of my favorite treats! Vitasoy is so delicious and of course aloe water! I was able to find aloe water that is sugar-free! Yum! With the move and studies it's been tough to keep cooking. Of course I couldn't leave without my steamed vegetable buns - microwaveable in a minute and a half!


Until next time...


XoX,

Marikym


Saturday, November 26, 2011

LOVE NOTE #152: Fantastically Francophile!



Hello friends!

I hope everyone had a wonderful Gobble-Gobble Day! The most perfect holiday... feasting in stretchy pants and then napping in said stretchy pants;) B's darling mother, Mim, always hosts the most wonderful Thanksgivings. This year though, it was decided that we dine at the historic Lafeyette House since her kitchen is currently under construction. Nearly completed, and looks already GORG. I may have a bit of kitchen envy;) Anyways, I was so excited to have our Thanksgiving meal at the Lafeyette House as it was built in the 1700's and George Washington stayed there. In the presence of where greatness had been... hoping just a smidgen will be rubbing off on me! So quaint ... the waiting area felt like a living room - because it most likely was at one point in time. When we were seated, I took a gander around and was surprised by the expansive interior. The walls were decorated with vintage wallpaper, appropriately so. Word on the street is even our little local New England football team dines there on occasion. I sport my Welker jersey proudly each Sunday... unless of course they play on a Monday... then I sport it Sunday AND Monday;)

It was lovely dining and the food did not disappoint. Served to a crowded house none-the-less. I was delighted. I took a doggy bag home for my little boy Potato. Let's just put it this way, we passed out on the Laz-Y-Boy recliner together. It was such a lovely day, however I was a bit sad that I didn't get a chance to spend some of that day with my family and friends in California as well. Although it will never take the place of being home in California, modern technology certainly has eased some of the homesickness... if only slightly.

At any rate, what lifted my spirits some was Mim's trip to Paris. You can talk to me all day and all night about anything Parisian and it will make me feel so happy. She brought back such beautiful things - a sampling of the Belle de Nuit by Fragonard and a bottle of Chambord. One for going out and one for staying in...;) What a far cry from the scent of my Dove soap and bottle of Arbor Mist. What?! The former is a daily staple and the latter is my guilty pleasure... don't hate!;) I must say the Belle de Nuit is a lovely fragrance. It's strong, sophisticated, unapologetic... but never crosses over into the cloying. A feat difficult to accomplish, and well, Fragonard of course did so masterfully. Just a (teeny) tiny spritz of this concentrated concoction on your wrists is really all you need. As for the Chambord, I'm too afraid to open the bottle as it is just so beautiful! It makes me feel like I'm in Paris every day of the year...

A la prochaine:)

XoX,

Marikym

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

LOVE NOTE #151: Potato Soup Version 2 (preferred and from scratch!)



Hello Foodies!


Gearing up to head out to Chicago soon. With relocation, making sure things are simplified is key. I'm excited to learn hands on, but a bit terrified too since getting pimped by the Attending is inevitable. It's a form of learning I will need to learn to adjust to over the next several months. I'm excited and terrified at once... sigh. Anticipating a rather hectic schedule, practicing the art of perfecting an easy and fast soup is quite essential! I guess you can say I'm a bit addicted to potato soup. With a side of bread, I'll have enough carbs to keep me fueled while on rounds.

Here is a modified version to LOVE NOTE #150. I know many of you out there prefer to make it from scratch, so here is an excellent version and not any more difficult than the previous version that used the canned cream of chicken soup. Same amount of prep time and with ingredients already available in your cupboard:) I do enjoy both versions, but much prefer this one!


Ingredients:

  • 3-4 potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 4 tablespoons of reduced-fat margarine or butter
  • 2 cups of milk
  • 1 tablespoon of flour
  • 1/4 cup of low-fat shredded cheddar cheese
  • 4 turkey bacon strips, cooked and chopped (any variety is fine, but turkey bacon = less calories!)
  • salt and pepper
  • garlic powder (optional)

Instructions:

  • In salted water, boil the cubed and peeled potatoes for 15 minutes in a covered pot on medium-high heat. Transfer to a colander to drain excess water. Set aside.
  • In the same pot (less clean-up!) over medium-high heat, add the margarine, flour, and cheese. Stir until melted and combined. Add the bacon, milk and potatoes. Cook for an additional 15 minutes covered and stirring occasionally.
  • Season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder (optional).
And a hearty, thick, soup! Who needs to buy when you can make this easy soup with a cook time of 30 minutes?! If you want to thin the soup out, just add more milk. Adjust to suit your preferences. I'm in love with potato soup!

Until next time my lovelies!

XoX,

Marikym

Saturday, October 8, 2011

LOVE NOTE 150: 'Tis the Potato Soup Season!



Hey Friends!

First week with the clock set back. The evenings getting darker quicker, and the weather definitely on the chill. No complaints as this is definitely the time of the year for a hearty bowl or bowls of soup! What kind of soup is better than potato soup with cheese and bacon, right?! Simplified with 7 ingredients makes for one heavenly spoonful after another. Don't forget a side of cheese bread... and for me, I'll be stuffed before the entree tonight (which on the menu tonight is super easy meatloaf - Love Note #110!)


Ingredients:

  • 3 peeled and cubed potatoes (about 3 cups)
  • 1 can of cream of chicken soup
  • 1 cup 2 % milk
  • 4 slices of cooked turkey bacon, chopped(I just cooked it in the microwave!)
  • 1/4 cup of shredded low-fat cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  • To a pot, add the cubed potatoes and add enough water to cover. Cover and cook on medium heat for 15 minutes or until tender. Drain off excess water.
  • Stir the milk, soup, bacon, and cheddar until combined then add to the potatoes and keep on range top uncovered over low-medium heat for an additional 15 minutes. Do not allow to boil.
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • (optional step: to thicken the soup, I kept the covered pot on top of the stove even after I turned off the heat. This way I took advantage of the cooling stove top so it continued to cook the soup for a little while longer and made the soup even richer... Fabolishess!)
And there you have it... quick, simple and delicious! Three words: Hits the Spot:)

And till next time darlings...

XoX,

Marikym

Thursday, September 22, 2011

LOVE NOTE #149: Got LavAzza?


Hey Friends!

Please forgive my meltdown in L.N. #148. Nothing like a brand new day and wonderful cup of expresso. Strong, smooth, and with what hints as an undertone of chocolate. No wonder it's #1 in Italy! My first sip of this expresso was when my Bestie from med school served this as an after dinner beverage to accompany a scrumptious German lemon bundt cake she had baked earlier that evening. Myself and my other really good friend from Texas didn't know what hit us! Both of us were amazed by this bold flavor without that burnt or acidic aftertaste (Starbucks, are you reading this?!) My French friend turned to us and said, "You don't know coffee until you drink European coffee..." Maybe she's a bit biased... but after this cup full of coffee perfection, I'm definitely persuaded!

LavAzza is imported from Italy. The other brand, Illy, is the competitor. Now I've tried both. And the clear winner is Lavazza. At a fraction of the cost! LOVE! I actually just found this at the local grocery store down the street from my home yesterday! Amazing that I didn't have to go to Whole Foods to score some, right?! As much as I love Whole Foods, sometimes a girl just wants some Coke Zero and Doritos...Muahahahaha!

Again my apologies for yesterday. I am so excited about getting married finally but I let the details get to me yesterday. After all, I have the hardest part I have figures out: the dress. Er, dresses. I have the reception dress - a simple dress that I doctored up (no pun intended) with hand made floral appliques. I've already made like about a hundred. I think I may need to make more but it's a work in progress and the fabric flowers are very simple to create. Any type of cratfing is a stress buster. So I actually enjoy making them:) I have sewn on about 25. My future sister-in-law called me Susie Homemaker! I thought that was hysterical! The dress I really wanted would have set me back another $2000 with alterations. So I had to find another way... after all, I couldn't justify spending that much on a dress I would wear for about an hour and a half then have to change again. In the Vietnamese culture you have a minimum of 3 dresses. My cousin had four. One is the traditional Ao Dai for the Tea Ceremony. Then there is the white wedding dress for ceremony. Then another dress for the reception. Many Vietnamese brides have a cake-cutting dress as well. I have both the wedding dress and my reception dress. I will have to fly home to get the Ao Dai made in California if my Mom doesn't mind my idea of a modern Tea Ceremony. Let me stop thinking about this... I'm starting to get worked up again...

It's been one drizzly and somewhat humid day today. I went to the market to pick up some Lean Cuisines as the L-B-S's keep creeping up for some reason! Okay, I know why... portion control or rather there to lack of! I have been struggling with that a lot lately. These easy microwave frozen entrees always do the trick! And the special today was if you buy four, you get four free yogurts! Awesome! I walked out with 8 free yogurts! I also had an additional coupon that I used. I love it when you don't have to pay retail, and these days with just a bit of research (internet makes price comparison soooooo easy!), you really can save a few dollars here and there... which adds up to a lot over the course of the year:)


XoX,

Marikym

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

LOVE NOTE #148: Once Upon a Wedding...Plus a Tea Ceremony & now Pre-Cana

Hey Foodies!

I've got wedding on the brain! I thought it was going to be a bit tricky planning a wedding cross-country, but the internet has definitely made it possible to find vendors and look at customer reviews of services and products. With consumers driving the market these days instead of the other way around, businesses that want to stay ahead of the curve better pay close attention to customer service!

So I believe I've found the location to our wedding. I ran it by my Mom and she said she needed to process this information. Understandably. At first I thought it would be easiest to just have a Western ceremony and reception, and call it a day. However, with my Vietnamese heritage (Fiance is Irish-American), I have reconsidered and will try to incorporate the Vietnamese Tea Ceremony into the day... somehow. Hopefully not too half-baked. Did I mention this planning is done on the other side of the country as well?!?! Simply just became confusing. Oh, by the way, now my Mom is asking why there is no Catholic church ceremony. Oh because we don't have an extra month to spend in California to attend these classes once a week... Huh?! What I thought would be a simple day of family, friends, food, and drinks (did I mention the reception will have free flowing beer, wine, and champagne for the ENTIRE TIME?! LOVE!) has morphed into something else. Ut oh. It's very important that I pay respect to my family and incorporate tradition. Is there a manual on new traditions though? Like a modern Tea Ceremony version for a marriage that is multi-cultural? The nine yards might be a bit much. What was planned as an easy and sweeet 6-hour event could very well end up being 12+ hours. So a modified version would be perfect. Idea sounds fabulous. Execution? Um, I'm hoping for a much better answer than "Not so much..." I better muscle my persuasive skills on my darling Mommy...

Stay tuned as I figure out now not only planning a wedding remotely, but incorporating modified Vietnamese Tradition into the day. Of which I will have to don an Ao Dai. Anything beyond a size 0 and you end up looking like Orca in one of these numbers.

I forgot. Now add Catholic church ceremony. Of which I will need to go to pre-marital counseling for a month. The parish in California said it would be fine to have this pre-marital counseling done in Massachusetts, as long as the Catholic priest here approves of it as well. The good thing is, my vocabulary has expanded. I learned a new word: Pre-Cana. When I told my Mom "no" to the Catholic church ceremony and it would be held upstairs to the reception, she sounded sooooooo sad. After all, I want my son, Potato, to be part of the festivities and the venue is pet friendly (I just really hope Potato is people friendly that day!) I'm torn.

Now I know my Mom understands that I have very little time to plan and that I'm trying my BEST to bring this wedding home. But is my BEST good enough? If it isn't, my heart will absolutely sink. After all, I only have one Mom. Differences? Always. Love? Always. Sigh... Oh did I mention too that I'll be doing rotations during this whole time, studying for (more) board exams, and applying for THE MATCH to take place in March 2013?! Maybe with a bit of early planning, maybe things will fall into place. Maybe. Maybe I just need to stop worrying so much and just go with the flow and have fun... after all, in the end, when all is said and done, beyond the confusion...I'll be marrying my best friend... did I mention how I still feel like it's the first time I fell in love with him each and every time I look into his crystal blue eyes?

Pardon my whining. Although overjoyed and excited at finally setting a date(-ish), I'm finding myself a bit overwhelmed. I feel like crying. Eloping is sounding pretty fabulous. Vegas? I totally understand that concept now. How to make my Mom happy and how to not make myself go nuts at the same time... guess you'll just have to come to the wedding;)

XoX,

Marikym

Friday, September 9, 2011

LOVE NOTE #147: Weekends and Wedding Planning

Happy Friday Friends!

I hope everyone is having a wonderful day so far and getting ready for a lovely weekend! Well, after being engaged since December 24, 2008 - I guess it's time to finally start planning a wedding! After taking my first board exam, I finally have a bit of time to do some research. It may prove to be a bit challenging as my current location is going to be between Boston and Chicago or Virginia, and the wedding will be somewhere on the West Coast - SoCal style. Always up for a challenge! I always just wanted something sweet, romantic, and low-key. Good music, good food, and great family and friends:) If I can find a venue that includes everything - and if I can just show up with in my white wedding dress and a bouquet of pink flowers... all the more lovely!

In a matter of a night, I was able to find an ideal location. Oh internet, I love you so... you make planning a wedding cross country par simplified! Since having a wedding in California is very important to my Mom (where my family lives), it was a natural and easy decision. After doing a little bit of research, I was able to find a garden wedding venue with that French Country charm. This sounded soooo perfect as I have always dreamed of having a little garden or a greenhouse someday! What made it even better? It is located 3 blocks to the beach - of which my fiance loves! The ceremony and the reception can be done at the same location as well. If all goes according to plan, this thought will be set into motion sometime in the Fall of 2012. Perhaps in consideration is November 2, 2012... 11 years to the date after we first met... LOVE!

XoX,

Marikym

Thursday, September 8, 2011

LOVE NOTE #146: The Good Stuff - GWP!

FREE 7-Pc. Gift with $35 Estée Lauder purchase - Choose the colors that work best for you! PLUS Spend $65 & get more! Choose a deluxe moisturizer duo to add to your gift! (Up to $130 total value)
Good Morning!

I just wanted to share with everyone the latest GWP - Gift with Purchase - from Estee Lauder at Macy's! I usually reserve all my department store cosmetic purchases for when Estee Lauder, Clinique, or Lancome offer a Bonus. It's the best! You make off with samples and some are even full size (the lipsticks!) For any $35 dollar purchase you can score all these items! So what could have very well been a foundation or moisturizer splurge, ends up being not that much more than what you would have purchased at the local drugstore! Who doesn't appreciate free stuff?! Go to www.macys.com or click here. For a limited time only.


XoX,

Marikym

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

LOVE NOTE #145: Reduced Sugar and Fat Walnut Milk Chocolate Chip Cookies:)

Hey Foodies,

Feeling pretty guilty with the high-calorie food over the weekend, I thought I would share this delightful cookie recipe! Let me know what you think!


Ingredients:

  • 1 & 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon (sea) salt
  • 12 packets of Splenda or sucralose (equivalent to 1/2 cup of sugar)
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup of all-natural applesauce
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup walnuts chopped
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips (Hershey's was used today!)

Instructions:

  • preheat oven to 300 degrees.
  • sift the dry ingredients together in a bowl: flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, Splenda (sucralose), instant coffee
  • in a separate bowl: add the oil, applesauce, and brown sugar. Beat with a blender until fluffy
  • add the egg and beat for an additional 10 seconds
  • combine the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients and beat for an additional 30 seconds
  • fold in walnuts and chocolate chips
  • drop by level tablespoonfuls making sure to flatten with back of spoon (very minimal spread due to the use of Splenda!)
  • Bake for 16-18 minutes (do not overbake!)- yields approximately 2 dozen
After sampling the super easy Nieman Marcus recipe (see LOVE NOTE #139), but feeling rather guilty for consuming so many calories with the butter and sugar, my reworked recipe eliminates the use of butter and replaces it with heart-healthy canola oil and applesauce. The sugar has also been cut in half with the addition of Splenda (sucralose). Finally, the chocolate chips remain but also reduced by 1/3. Walnuts were added to the mixture to give additional texture. Although I love a good chocolate chip cookie, cookies with chocolate chips and walnuts are even better! Tell me they are reduced sugar and fat?! After one bite, you just might just agree, that a girl can definitely have it all!

XoX,

Marikym


LOVE NOT #144: I heart Reusable "Brown" Bags!

Happy Wednesday!

I hope everyone is doing well! Although the day isn't over, it has been quite an eventful morning for Potato and me. He had to get his vaccinations this morning. He acts like a tough guy when we're in our own neighborhood, growling, barking, and just all-around threatening should the wind decide to blow. This morning? Meek like a little lamb. He's one smart little cookie as he knew something was up. He was acting very reticent and wanting his Momma to carry him or sit in her lap all morning. Very unusual as Potato is one to always express...shall we say his independent thinking...

With Potato being a small dog breed, chances of sensitivities to certain vaccinations (e.g. lyme, leptospira) are much higher. I understood this and he did have an allergic reaction, angioedema, two years ago, only the instructions on administering his diphenhydramine were unclear. In fact my recollection was that it was not mentioned at all. Last year however, I made sure to understand the administration directions and no form of angioedema was evident. Thank goodness!

When I called to make the appointment, the pleasant yet firm front-office assistant told me Potato would have to stay at the pet hospital all day for observation due to his allergic reaction in the past. It's policy. Since when? Since always. Really? Because last year the policy wasn't implemented and I have been going to the same vet location for 5 years. Is my math off? Oh, and by the way, there is a fee for that...

I started to get the feeling that I might be getting hustled. Or maybe they were just being overly cautious. In my frustration, I found it hard to rationally decipher between the two. Needless to say, I erred on my former thought. My response to Potato staying at the pet hospital all day was an absolute NO. With no reaction occurring on the most recent visit for vaccinations, I expressed adamantly that this was not necessary, no dice, no game, not an option... not my words verbatim, far better this way, trust me;) After much back and forth, after my stubbornness was made too evident on the phone, she told me to hold and that she would get the office manager. Ut oh. Does this mean I'm in trouble?

Of course the same thing was reiterated - that I needed to understand that if he was not put on observation all day, he could go into anaphylactic shock, his throat could close up, and essentially he could die. That's a lot of definite maybes for an additional $100 dollars to the vet bill. I could win the lottery as well. Likelihood? Slimmer than my jeans will ever be. She wanted to know if I understood the severity. I guess she didn't understand how much I understood. "This is a type I sensitivity where the onset is acute or immediate. The antigen will bind to the immunoglobulin E on basophils or tissue mast cells. This would cause degranulation and release of histamines among other chemicals. This can lead to systemic anaphylaxis resulting in urticara, broncospasm, laryngeal edema and shock." Okay, okay, okay... that's what I really wanted to say. I refrained. "Actually, I'm in medical school. I understand you perfectly." I stated. I hated having to resort to this, I didn't want to make her feel like I was trying to throw my weight around. After all, I still have a lot to learn and I only know what I've read, and I have yet to earn those letters behind my name. I guess when I feel like I've been pushed into a corner, well, I sometimes push back...that's all. This was then followed by silence. "Oh, sorry... let me discuss this with the Dr. and I will call you back." I thanked her.

Waiting for about 15 minutes for her to call me back, I started to feel like I was a being a bit too harsh, maybe acting like one of those know-it-alls, jerky. Maybe what I knew in theory didn't necessarily apply to reality. However, after Potato's reaction from his vaccinations two years ago, I made sure to understand and do everything the doctor needed me to do the subsequent year at home. NO REACTION OCCURRED. So I still found it an unnecessary precautionary measure to have him under observation for the entire day. Thinking about it, if she called back and said that Potato would have to stay, I would have done so. After all, I didn't know everything. Medicine and veterinarian medicine may overlap, but they require different training and what can apply to a human, doesn't necessarily apply to a girl's best friend. Potato is not only my best friend, he is also my son.

So I get the phone call. She tells me although it was highly recommended that Potato stay in the hospital, the doctor has approved the request so that I may monitor my son at home. Perhaps his decision had to do with the fact that I'm in a similar profession, just treating bipeds instead of quadrupeds. Perhaps it was to get an annoying patient off his back. Perhaps it was to keep me from going to another vet. Whatever the reason, I still agree that being cautious can't hurt (except my pocketbook... okay, my fiance's wallet!) I also need to be comfortable with what my future role will become as well and learn to be more confident in what I believe is the best answer. As I have advanced in my education, I feel even more unsure and anxious of things that can go wrong. Maybe this is my first lesson in standing my ground and having some conviction in what I know. I'm open to learning, listening, and admitting when I'm wrong; but if I feel that something is clearly unnecessary, well, I better start getting comfortable speaking up. Afterall, if I can't rely and trust my own voice, then who will?

In the most awkward segue ever, and as you can see I really really digressed... just remember to bring your reusable bags the next time you go shopping! They come in a variety of sizes, prints, and materials. I just picked another one up today at my local market because I love the strawberry design! They usually sell these for around a buck or two:) A totally cute bag? Good for the environment? Durable? Reusable? 100 different uses? Check, check, check, check, & check!

XoX,

Markym

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

LOVE NOTE #143: Cuddle Up to Creamy Sausage, Rice ,and Spinach Soup!


Hey Foodies!

I have been waiting, waiting, and waiting for the weather to finally be cool enough to start making soup again! The forecast for the remainder of the week is to be rainy and cold. Translation in my book: cuddling, TV, and some soup STAT! Soup is a total favorite of mine because I tend to lose those pesky pounds quickly when I incorporate them into my meals. They fill me up so I end up eating less of the entree, which in turn, can shave off some extra carbs and calories! Although this is a creamy soup and clear broth-based soups are the usual answer for girls who are slaves to their dress sizes - overall, this is still a good option if you make sure to watch your portions (ummm... think a cup not like 3!)

After all, the French could eat whatever they wanted, but alas, remained so slim! One of my besties from med school is from France... she eats everything, but still remains a size ZERO! Her secret wasn't so much a secret, it was just enjoying enough of everything but in moderation. Yes, I found myself quite jealous as she would bring a cream-filled chocolate covered glazed donut to class as I sat there eating my 90-cal granola bar! Of which once she took a bite because she didn't bring anything one morning, but quickly asked for a napkin and would rather starve than try to ingest "diet" food. She turned to me and said, "Darling, if you want to be slim, you need to eat real food." I guess she has a good point!!! Although I still believe in low-calorie alternatives, it should not come to a point where you feel deprived:) Sometimes too many restrictions makes me go overboard... I'm good all day then nightfall comes, and I'm like... I want this, that, and more of this... and a bit more of that... ahhh... the vicious cycle... sigh!

So by combining the rich flavors of the Italian sausage and creamed spinach with all the goodness of fiber from the black-eye psz and vitamin A from carrots, it's truly the best of both worlds! The rice makes this soup even heartier. Finally, the mushrooms round out this busy little soup. Finding yourself so full that you will be less likely to snack on what could have been very tempting treats from the vending machine;)

Ingredients:

  • 32 oz chicken stock
  • 1 cups water
  • 1 cup of baby carrots (halved)
  • 1 cup of sliced mushrooms (halved)
  • 15.5 oz. blackey peas, rinsed & drained (1 can)
  • 1/2 cup uncooked brown or wild rice
  • 4 Italian hot sausages removed from casing and rolled into 1/2 inch meatballs
  • 9 oz frozen creamed spinach
  • salt & pepper to taste
Instructions:

  • To a pot, add the chicken stock, water, baby carrots, mushrooms, blackeye peas, rice, and hot sausages. Bring to a boil over high heat, then reduce heat and simmer for about 25 minutes or until rice and beans are tender.
  • Add the creamed spinach and cook for an additional 5 minutes
What a great lunch alternative to those not-so-good-for-you meal combos at your nearest fast-food joint. Packing soups for lunch not only can fill you up and slim you down, but keep your pocketbook a bit fatter too! Learning to use leftovers and putting them into your next soup experimentation can definitely help you save for a rainy day ... or, rather, Burberry rain boots for those rainy days;)

XoX,

Marikym

LOVE NOTE #142: Waking Up to Rainy Days and Roses


Hey Everyone!

Happy first work day back this week! It's always tough coming back from a long weekend! The good news is that your work week is shorter, so Friday is a day closer... Woot-woot!

Anyways, today's weather seems to lay on the opposite continuum compared to the Labor Day Weekend's weather presentation. I must say I enjoy variety, so this sprinkling of rain and overcast is a welcome change to cool down what could have been too much of a good thing this weekend! Perhaps a Seattle-esque forecast isn't everyone's cup of tea, so how about giving, getting, or just buying some flowers to brighten the mood for the day? Always smile pleasing!

These came compliments of le fiance. After almost ten years of doing the whole "So you wanna hang out later, maybe?", I guess he still likes me.... yippee! It's always nice to wake up to roses on random (and rainy) days, even better when they are in your favorite shade (of pink!) It's nice when it feels like February 14 ... every day of the year... Thanks Bone!

XoX,

Marikym


Sunday, September 4, 2011

LOVE NOTE #141: Potato Salad, BBQ's and My Favorite Jeans - Happy Labor Day!


Happy Labor Day Weekend!

I hope everyone is enjoying their long weekend ... with friends, family, and some good food... BBQ style! Who doesn't love some good grilled steak tips, burgers, and hot dogs?! I, for one, start forgetting how much I've eaten and what I've sipped (okay, gulped!) over the past couple hours! Did I mention the quintessential side dish of potato salad ? So much for my Weight Watchers Points Plus program... Ooops! I can start them over again tomorrow morning. I keep saying that every morning... is this why my jean size keeps getting bumped up a number every few months?!

Oh well, it's holiday after all... good times with the people you care about... (or for some of us... pretend to anyhow!) So no recipe today... just enjoying the weekend with ready-made delights! Over the years, whenever it's a celebration of feasting, I always make sure to dress comfortably. Hence the photograph of my beat-up, perfectly deconstructed jeans... It's that one pair in your closet that gets the most... well LOVE! You know the ones... soft and comfortable as any pair of sweatpants, and perfect even if you ate more than anticipated over the holiday! I paid short money on these, a guilty pleasure indeed as I found them in the junior's department at the TJ Maxx (for the minimum!) Even though shopping in the junior's department should have stopped in my early 20's at latest, I think it's just that my body type seems to wear these clothes a bit better. Maybe because I'm so short... like barely 5'1" ... or maybe it's also a combination of nostalgia and feeling Forever 21 (another guilty-pleasure store!) A lot has changed, but then I feel the same... the same way I felt when I was 23. I still feel like a kid excited to explore the world and I know for certain, wherever I end up, these jeans will go with me! The perfect pair that never disappoints ... never makes you feel like Orca... and just makes you feel fabulous from the moment you take them out of the dryer for the umpteenth time...

Speaking of holiday and enjoying it... I was on the phone with one of my dear friends from med school who is on rotations currently. She was telling me, "Enjoy while you can... you'll understand when you get here" ... Ummm, should I be scared already?!?! Trading in my black suits and stilettos for scrubs and sneakers a few years back sounded like a good idea at the time anyway...hmmm. I have been putting off starting right after Step 1 because of my MBA cours(es), (starting to) study for Step 2CK, and having to relocate again to Chicago most likely (or Virginia, or Colorado), sheer exhaustion from Step 1, and recently having been told that one of her shifts was "8 days and 7 nights on"... I guess the good thing is that I am an insomniac, right? Maybe the long and odd hours is right up my alley... after all, always the Work Horse never the Show Horse:) "Where do you sleep?" I asked... "In the on-call room" she informed me. Which immediately started to conjure up episodes of Grey's Anatomy ... and would be walking in on an "occupied" room be my soon-to-be norm?! The good thing is that my uniform, scrubs, pretty much feels like pajamas to me. So at least my attire will be comfortable wherever and whenever they decide to give me a break;) I told her I had gained 10 pounds since I came home... she told me to not worry because she lost 15 pounds since she started her rotations. And with that... sign me up!!!

At any rate... I hope you are enjoying the holiday feasting... and always be comfortable while you're at it! Whether it's in a pair of espadrilles and a floral cotton dress, a button-down and a pair of khakis, or kickin' it (like me!) in a pair of well-loved pair of jeans and a tee, just ROCK IT!!! Happy Labor Day:) Gotta get back to the feeding...;)

XoX,

Marikym

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

LOVE NOTE #139: Urban Myth? The $250 Neiman Marcus Cookie Recipe



Happy Tuesday Foodies!

Ahhhh... yes, discussion of the infamous $250 dollar Neiman Marcus cookie recipe. However, sometimes after a visit from the beloved Neiman Marcus (NM), $250 dollars doesn't sound so bad after all!!! As we all know, NM is one of the places to get the biggest labels and at retail. If you're on a budget, maybe this place isn't an ideal stop (myself included as the reality is that my net worth is in the negative digits -MBA/medical school loans! Sometimes though, for a split second, it's nice to envision myself walking out of their shoe department with a pair of red-soled stilettos!)

So what about this urban myth? Did someone really have to pay $250 dollars to get the Neiman Marcus cookie recipe? Hmmm... well, posted on the Neiman Marcus website is the actual chocolate chip cookie recipe! Make your own batch. Share the cookies. Then tell the story behind the cookies. Whether your friends and family choose to believe the tale or not, the one truth that counts is these cookies are pretty darn fabulous!

So the verdict? Delicious, easy to prepare, and well, s000o photogenic... after all, we are talking about a designer cookie;) I found the recipe on the Neiman Marcus website so click here to go directly to the page. I also posted the recipe below. The low temperature and longer bake time yields a cookie that stands apart from the crowd... Neiman Marcus style! So aside from their big labels, the complementary house recipe is gracious indeed! When they say nothing is for free anymore, well, evidently, Neiman Marcus can prove them wrong:)



Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1-3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons instant espresso coffee powder
  • 1-1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips



  • Directions

    1.Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Cream the butter with the sugars using an electric mixer on medium speed until fluffy (approximately 30 seconds)
    2.Beat in the egg and the vanilla extract for another 30 seconds.
    3.In a mixing bowl, sift together the dry ingredients and beat into the butter mixture at low speed for about 15 seconds. Stir in the espresso coffee powder and chocolate chips.
    4.Using a 1 ounce scoop or a 2 tablespoon measure, drop cookie dough onto a greased cookie sheet about 3 inches apart. Gently press down on the dough with the back
    of a spoon to spread out into a 2 inch circle. Bake for about 20 minutes or until nicely browned around the edges. Bake a little longer for a crispier cookie.
    Yield: 2 dozen


    What a wonderful basic recipe that you can dress up or down. Think macadamia nuts, M&Ms, fruits, white chocolate chips as substitution to the chocolate chips listed in this recipe! Experiment and enjoy:)

    XoX,

    Marikym


    Monday, August 29, 2011

    LOVE NOTE #138: I Say Labne, You say Lebne


    Hello Foodies!

    One day can sure make a difference for sure! Yesterday was all about Hurricane Irene. It was overcast, windy, rainy - well, a hurricane! Overall, our little town was pretty much left unscathed in terms of any injuries. Minus an hour without power, a puddle in the basement, some debris, and a tree that was uprooted and found on its side, we are blessed to be safe and sound. Waking up this morning, there wasn't a cloud in the sky. Such a stark contrast within 24 hours. Just like those lyrics from Wilson Phillips, "Can you hold on for one more day... things will go your way..." LOVE, STILL LOVE this song! My favorite movie this year, Bridesmaids, featured this song with Wilson Phillips making a guest appearance! I just found out today that Chynna Phillips is going to be on this season of of Dancing with the Stars too! Let's not get started on X-Factor and the reunion of Simon and Paula!

    So all the while being inside on Sunday, all I kept thinking about was whether the local Middle-Eastern Store, Saab's Market, would be open on Monday. It helps that I'm so food adventurous, I'm not afraid to try anything! I never knew that moving to the quaint little town of Norwood that I would be reunited with one of my favorite treats - Labne! I'm not very well versed in this type of cuisine, and whether you call this Labne or Lebne, this one condiment is so underrated! A Middle-Eastern version of strained yogurt that tastes perfect on pita! I was also able to find these mini pitas today that are so adorable. I was really going for the portion-control factor, but the reality is that Labne/Lebne is so addicting that I kept finding myself reaching for too many of these mini pitas that portion control really went out the window! This should definitely be in everyone's fridge and be as commonplace as ketchup! At the very least, give it a try! Some cultures eat this for breakfast, others as a side dish, but however you serve it, so delicious!

    Even if I say Labne and you say Lebne... in the end, it all sounds like "Mmmmmmm" to me!

    Happy Monday everyone!

    XoX,

    Marikym

    Saturday, August 27, 2011

    LOVE NOTE #137: Little Love Lavender


    Hi Friends!

    I'm ecstatic that my labels finally came in today for my botanical perfume oils! Even if it was only 5 days, it felt like a month! When the box came today, with my labels and some other goodies, I was holding my breath to see how they would come out! And I must say, these are so cute! I went to the craft store to dress up the bottle a bit and found some pretty lavender ribbon and a darling little matching flower bead - how perfect is this?! Now the bottle looks as pretty as it smells! I must say that lavender is the best fragrance to work with for sure! I am a fan of single note fragrances, and these are the hardest to come by on the market! I guess I never know what my mood will be in the morning, but having a variety, one comforting (vanilla), another one that is citrus (grapefruit), and now the classic floral & slightly herbal lavender. Little Love Kitchen has definitely been curious about aromatherapy this week:) According to the University of Maryland Medical Center (UMMC), research has shown that the scent of lavender has produced calming, soothing, and slightly sedative effects. For the full article, click here ...forgive me as I'm not adhering to APA-style citation for my blog... I don't think I'm getting graded for this;) Not only does it smell so pretty it has some benefits for mood enhancement as well. It's no surprise that the scent of lavender can be found in lotions, soaps, and other personal care items.

    Again, refer to the link for the full article. Claims from its usefulness for headaches to acne have been mentioned. All I know for certain, is that I love the scent of lavender! Hence I incorporated into my line! Click here to check out my Little Love Lavender - Botanical Perfume Oil at my eBay site. As was the grapefruit, the lavender essential oil I chose was also imported from France! I love all things French - french fries, french toast! Tee-hee! But on a serious note, I'm in love with all things that have that touch of Paris Flea Market or a bit of French Country... and well what tops lavender from the fields of the French countryside?!?! In my book, very very little! Although the country captured my heart on my visit over a decade ago, and until my next visit...I have France captured in little perfume bottles...to be enjoyed every day, no matter where my geographical locale. LOVE:)

    Wishing everyone a wonderful weekend and a safe one... particularly friends on the East Coast! Hopefully Miss Irene will play nice!

    Thank you so much for visiting and see you next time!

    XoX,

    Marikym

    Friday, August 26, 2011

    LOVE NOTE #136: Solid Perfume

    Happy Friday Y'all!

    What a wonderful day and enjoying the terrific weather! No plans for the weekend because all in the time span of one week, an usual earthquake struck, and Hurricane Irene is to make a guest appearance this weekend... eeek! Nothing like some good TV, good reads, and good eats to make up for the ominous forecast!

    The time to be spent indoors this weekend should be very well utilized. I will be taking photos and posting my items on eBay as well as Etsy. As I have slowly started to incorporate new products into the Little Love Brand lineup, the latest is the Oh-La-La Vanilla! I think this may very well be a very selfish creation as two of my favorite scents were combined: vanilla and coconut! Heavenly! With the push for products that are natural, the use of pure, uncut vanilla essential oil (Read: Expensive!) and organic, extra-virgin coconut oil as the two ingredients that produce this scent, I'm in fragrance heaven! The difference between natural and synthetic is huge! In a way I had to relearn what natural vanilla really smelled like;) It takes a lot of vanilla essential oil to produce a subtle scent, let's say compared to Lavender which is naturally a stronger scent. At any rate, so fun to experiment in my Little Love Kitchen creating new scents! I hope this inspires you pursue your hobbies as well:)

    Happy Weekend!

    XoX,

    Marikym

    Thursday, August 25, 2011

    LOVE NOTE #135: What's Inside That Counts! A Banana Nut Bread Love Story!


    Happy Thursday Foodies!

    Friday is just around the corner... Woot-woot! And today's LOVE NOTE #135 is all about baking a wonderful banana nut bread! LOVE! Something that I always figured would be difficult turned out to be surprisingly simple. There's nothing like waking up, preparing & putting the mix into the oven, taking it out, letting it cool. Then driving the fiance to the train station, coming home to be greeted with the most wonderful aroma EVER... seriously! This is exactly how I felt this morning. I guess a lesson learned about what goes into a banana nut bread is that you need the ripest (READ: UGLIEST & BROWNEST!) to make the best bread. Perhaps a good parallel is to not judge a book by its cover... and after all, it is really what's inside that counts (or should!) Yes, I'm talking to all you hot little single things out there... you know who you are... who won't give that guy/girl across the room the time of day because they just"aren't your type"... I guess all I'm trying to say is just be open to possibilities. Looks can fade. Kindness, a sense of humor, and having a good heart - now those are things that can last a lifetime:) I digress... back to banana nut bread making!!!!!

    I cannot take the credit for this recipe as I had no clue where to start! However, finding a wonderful recipe on www.allrecipes.com definitely guided me. You can find this recipe (and many more like it!) by clicking here. This recipe is wonderful however I did modify it a bit. I doubled the amount of bananas that was originally called for in the recipe, used canola oil (heart healthy folks!), used walnuts instead of pecans, added a dash of nutmeg, a dash of cinnamon, and a sprinkling of mini-chocolate chips on the top to add that hint of Oooomph!!! However, other than that, this recipe was amazing! You don't need to even use a blender just hand mix. I love an easy cleanup! At any rate, this is my version - and the second time I've made it! The next time you're in the mood, give this a try! Or search the various banana nut recipes online, there's a ton! I think this one is easy so if you are a novice (like me!) give it a whirl:) Enjoy!


    Ingredients

    • 1 & 3/4 cup flour
    • 2 teaspoons baking powder
    • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 1 cup of white sugar
    • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
    • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
    • 1/2 of walnuts
    • 1/4 cup of mini-chocolate chips (optional)
    • 2 eggs
    • 2 cups mashed banana (4-5 medium very ripe bananas)
    • 1/2 cup canola oil
    • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

    Instructions

    • preheat oven to 350 degrees; grease and flour 2-8x4 loaf pans - set aside
    • in a separate bowl, sift all the dry ingredients - flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, sugar, nutmeg, & cinnamon
    • in a separate bowl mash the bananas
    • to the dry mixtures stir in the mashed bananas, eggs, oil, vanilla extract and walnuts until all ingredients are moist (reserving some to sprinkle on top once the batter is transferred to the loaf pans)
    • transfer equal amounts of the batter to the loaf pans
    • sprinkle the remaining walnuts and chocolate chips on top of the batter
    • bake for 45-55 minutes
    • remove and let cool. serve on its own or with a pat of butter!
    Super easy! So delicious! You can omit nuts or chocolate chips - or add more to your heart's content. Whatever your palate desires, this quick and easy bread is sure to be a wonderful treat for family and friends (and your four-legged best friend... who was pacing back and forth all morning for his little sampling -POTATO! Yes, I let my son have some, but only the bits with no chocolate chips... of course. He loved it! But Potato hates bananas... go figure. My little one has a sweet tooth... just like his Momma!)

    Enjoy the rest of your day and thanks for visiting! Until the next LOVE NOTE:)

    XoX,

    Marikym

    Wednesday, August 24, 2011

    LOVE NOTE #134: Little Love Botanical Perfume Oil


    Hello and Happy Wednesday Friends!


    In efforts to expand the Little Love Brand and to help Operation Smile, guess who just came up with a new all-natural fragrance?! Yes, I'm super excited! Here is what I posted on my eBay site:

    The all-natural ingredients include sweet almond oil as the carrier base and pure, undiluted grapefruit essential oil that has been imported from France.

    A natural and irresistible fresh fragrance, Little Love Grapefruit Botanical Perfume Oil is perfect for those who are looking for an alternative to the overpriced and synthetic perfumes seen on the market today. No alcohol, unnatural preservatives, or coloring are added to this product. After searching and searching for the perfect grapefruit scent without any other floral or woodsy notes and without the use of chemicals, it became very clear that a true grapefruit scent was one that needed to be created...

    I hope you love this pure grapefruit scent as much as I do. Mother Nature perfected the ingredients, I just happened to bottle it! A great scent that makes you say "ahhhh" and just makes you smile. A great pick me up anytime of the day!

    Little Love Brand is a small company. It's just me and my business partner, Potato, a 13-pound Chihuahua/Pekingese mix...and guess who's the real boss?!?!;) With a commitment to helping children around the globe learn how to smile for the first time, Little Love Brand was born! Instead of talking about wanting to someday be able to help Operation Smile, why not start by helping somehow right now? Little Love Brand is all about feel-good and fun products with an emphasis on using natural resources as much as possible.

    Your 100% natural Little Love Grapefruit Botanial Perfume Oil will be made to order and shipped within 24 hours of payment (excluding Saturdays and Sundays). The shelf life of most natural perfumes is about a year with the sweet almond oil carrier oil.

    If you have any questions or suggestions, please feel free to ask or comment!

    Thanks so much for looking and remember, 10% of proceeds will go to benefit Operation Smile!

    If I can improve on this let me know! Stepping into the Cottage Industry has been made a lot easier with such sites as eBay and Etsy. Starting and maintaining an online store has been simplified and accessible so that keeping your 9-to-5 shindig or for the stay-at-home Mommy (or Daddy!) who is keeping the household in order - online storefronts can work around your current schedule . If you are on a budget (e.g. like me!) starting on a shoestring to test out the waters and see what you would like to sell has never been easier with suppliers often having no minimums if you should need particular materials for your enterprise. Also, take advantage of the free online resources and forums that are specific to your industry of interest. There are also even more books and e-books for sale regarding start-ups. I'm a novice and trying to hone my craft as well, but instead of diving in head first, dipping my toes and testing out the waters is a bit more my style. With that, let's see where this goes! Maybe to the moon or maybe back to the drawing board. Continually developing, modifying, and adapting your business as it grows is the beauty of cultivating your own corner in e-commerce and beyond! If there is an idea, service, or product that you want to share with the world, well why not try?! They say life is too short and without getting all trite and cliche, I'll end this simply: Just do it already... c'mon you know you really wanna!

    XoX,

    Marikym

    P.S. I will post more pictures when I receive my product labels! Thanks for any input! :)

    Tuesday, August 23, 2011

    LOVE NOTE #133: Inspiration Strikes at 1 a.m. I Will Jot It Down in the Morning...

    ... but most likely I will wake up remembering I had a brilliant idea... but unable to recall said brilliant idea... then wash my face, brush my teeth, and put on my makeup trying to wrack my brain about said brilliant idea...when I could have very well quickly jotted it down... had I had some handy notation instruments available. A wise man once told me to always write things down... (Okay Dad... this one's for you!!!)

    Hi Friends!

    I hope everyone is having a wonderful day! I thought I would take a quick moment and remind us all that writing things down can help us accomplish more perhaps... well, at least remember what it is we hope to set out to accomplish;) Also a great way to write down an idea to be investigated later, etc. Yes, yes, yes... the technological age is here and going nowhere ... if anything it is ever expanding. Truly a wonderful thing! I, for one, remain to be one of those old-school people. I still enjoy books that are of the physical variety... whether they are texts or notebooks. Call me a bit wacky, but when I buy a brand new book, one of the first things I do is to smell it as well! Open it up anywhere and press my nose right into the binding... I know, a bit weird! I must say that one day, some day the era of e-books may very well replace all of the brick-and-mortar bookstores. My eyes were teary when I went to the Everything Must Go Sale at Borders Bookstore - another business that must close its doors...

    I did run out today to pick up a half dozen of these darling mini-composition notebooks to always have on hand, or laying around because when inspiration strikes ... I can only afford to have one computer (okay, I have two!) that isn't always accessible. My smartphone? Oh sure I could definitely use that for memos and notes or what not. I guess I'm just more comfortable with actually writing things down... and checking them off once I accomplish my to-do list. I find it a bit annoying when I come up with an idea or just have a particular errand that needs to be finished, and I have nowhere to write it down! Now, I will have no excuse:) Well, I guess the next issue I will need to address is that I have like a dozen things I have yet to start, and a dozen things that have been started and have yet to be completed as well ... and that should be another topic for another day;)

    At any rate, if you are like me, and still enjoy the physicality of pen and paper - writing things down and checking them off, make sure to visit Walgreens for these perfect-pocket size 80 page composition books. Each of these little handy go-everywhere mini-books are only 15 cents a pop! Imagine in 2011 that anything could still cost 15 cents?!?! Sale ends Saturday August 27!

    Well, whatever your method, be it technological or old-school notebooks, just make sure to notate it! Every brilliant idea or invention came from thoughts that were translated into a document that were eventually translated into the final service or product! So notate then create!

    Happy Tuesday everyone:)

    XoX,

    Marikym