Friday, May 30, 2014

Pink Eyeshadow Like a Boss Hog

Cruelty free girly goodies!  Why I heart Wet n Wild!
Cheap and cheerful drugstore makeup - sometimes this is all you need for a pick-me-up:)

Pink and purple actually.  And rock it in a way where you do not look like you have a contagious eye infection either.  Or that you were trying out to be a Disney Princess...or leather-studded dominatrix... this color truly can run from the sickeningly sweet to super scary.  But rather in a notice-me-not-just-my-pink-eyeshadow kinda way, you know?  Doing it like you do on a shoestring budget is totally possible with this 5 pan from WnW called Floral Values.  Besides, new lipsticks deserve new eyeshadows, no?

Oui! Oui! Oui!   Branching out of my comfort zone of easy neutrals, I had to get the most hyper unnatural palette to play with, of course.  Besides, what else would go with Dollhouse Pink????  Definitely nothing I currently own.  And I was surprised by the wearable shades!

I always thought in theory pink and purples should look good.  But for them to actually translate into real life and look super adorbs?  Shocker.  True, it's not something I will reach for every day or even most days, but when you are feeling a little sassy and a lot fun, you have to have this in your makeup arsenal.  

The shade that shocked me most was the pink!  Applied lightly with a good eyeshadow brush,  it imparts a pretty glow to the eyelid that is fresh and sweet.  I don't follow the guidelines of the shadows, but I just play with them... blending until it's a pretty hue.  These do not look garish at all.  I'm not even a purple girl.  But with several blue-based lipsticks I have added, I needed some cooler shades to compliment my look for the day!  With the specials running this week at Rite Aid, this came to $1.50 (there was even a $1 off coupon on it!) 

So what I always have thunk is true after all:  pink can always go with, well, more pink!

Xo

More Cheap Thrills!

Since Rite Aid is having a legit sale on all WnW products, I wanted to add some colors I wouldn't usually gravitate towards to round out the collection.  Think Pink has rave reviews and seems universally flattering since it is a neutral nude type of pink.  Super easy to wear or whatever FOTD you decide.  As with all Megalast lippies, formula is smooth and mixes well with other lip products to achieve whatever finish you desire.  It's semi-matte; so for me wearing some Carmex pre-application is a must.  It doesn't seem to affect the longevity of the product and I get several hours of wear.  Depending on the shade, to refresh the color throughout the day, sometimes I just slick on balm (dark colors) so as to not make the lipstick look heavy or cakey.  

Ahhhh....now onto MAC's Saint Germain famous drugstore dupe:  Dollhouse Pink.  Honestly, I didn't know what to make of this shade exactly.  It looked so hooker pornstar queen in the tube, and I only got it because it was BOGO free.  The worst was it was going to the beauty graveyard.  But it has been endearingly mentioned so often on the blogosphere, my curiosity got the best of me.  

And the verdict?  How does such an unnatural color end up being one of my favorite colors out of the line?!  I'll tell you why.  The surprising way it brightens your face and just makes you feel happy because the color is so cute and girly.  Just a fun color!  Whenever I look in the mirror, I'm reminded to not take myself so seriously.  Life is short!   And as opaque as this color is, it feels comfortable (with balm!) Definitely a blue-toned cool milky shade.  Try it, you just might end up loving it too!   

XoX

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Del Taco!

What can I say? I grew up on inauthentic Mexican food!  And I love it!
I love these hot sauces...can you tell?

I miss you so!  I love your 24-hour drive thru.  Thank you for thinking of insomniacs who are always hungry.  Thank you for your variety of foods...from fries and nachos to burgers and tacos.  Oh and I really love your strawberry milkshakes!  I think I had a previous post about you... but here is another one.  Denver was beautiful and Del Taco made it even better!

B didn't quite understand my obsession with this fast-food joint.  Maybe it's nostalgic.  There use to be one around the corner from my home in SoCal.  I loved it then and I love it now.  I can't sleep tonight so decided to add a few words to accompany the photos above.  Tomorrow is Taco Tuesday.  And I will be missing it.  You get 3 tacos for $1.09!  I will be missing that special for many Tuesdays going forward.  Sigh.

Monday, May 26, 2014

Ultimate Drugstore MLBB!


This fantastic lipstick shade is housed in a craptastic case - hence some butterfly tape because the black from the casing was getting on my hands (I had coconut oil on my hands when I was handling this and it broke down the plastic!  

I took this in natural light.  The tape actually makes the case look cute!



Sorry for the graininess!  Half my lip (left side) has In the Flesh applied.  The other half (right) is my natural lip.  I always have to apply some Carmex or Chapstick underneath as this is a semi-matte formula.  Not much different than my own lip color, but gives it a lift - and looks fuller, no?  (I need to retake this picture later!)


So got my hands on In the Flesh by WnW finally!  Sooooooo hard to find.  I had to hunt it down in two states.  I read about it when I was visiting Denver.  None of the Walgreens or Rite Aids had them there.  Came back to Boston, and located it in a Stop and Shop Supermarket (they actually had the most shades stocked and didn't look picked through because no one thinks to buy cosmetics while picking up some cereal, right?!)

This was $1.99 and worth the price and then some.  Minus the packaging which totally blows, the color and formula are so amazing.  I asked the fiance what he thought of this lipstick shade.  "Huh?  You're wearing lipstick?  I thought that was just your natural lip color.  Just your natural full lips..."  So yes, it looks very natural.  I love it.  For mornings when I don't have a clue what I want to wear on my face and need something to look like I tried at life that day....  and this goes with everything.  Just enough enhancement to look polished - my lips but better (MLBB).  Don't forget to apply some lip balm underneath, these can be drying.  I own 7 shades and I love them all so much!  It just depends on my mood!

The butterfly tape was applied because I had some coconut oil on my hands (I use as a natural moisturizer sometimes... a lot lately actually!)  and it broke down the black plastic casing.  I was thinking, 'What the eff is this black sooty stuff on my palms and fingers????  THE HELL?!' Usually when I see this I will chuck the product.  Not with this gem.  I think the formula is that amazeballs that I went the extra mile to make it work!  I would have depotting it, but I have no depotting cases.  This was the simplest solution for me.  This didn't happen to any of my other Megalast lipstick cases because coconut oil didn't get on those.  In a way it's a good thing.  It's easier to spot amongst all my lipsticks!

Highly recommend this shade if you want a natural lip look and should flatter a good majority of complexions.  It's that not quite brown, pink, red, or orange - a good neutral mix of them all.  It's what I wanted Clinique's Tenderheart to be... only that ended up looking too brown.  Great formula just not a good shade on me.  And they test on animals.  And it's 15 dollars!  WnW is über cheap and cruelty free!  It's worth more than the couple bucks I spent.  I can appreciate a company that makes beauty products accessible to all women:)

XoX

Sunday, May 25, 2014

BOGO at Rite Aid on all Wet n Wild Cosmetics until 5/31/2014!

For some reason all this stuff rang up for a little over $3 bucks!  It should have been a little over $5... but I'm not complaining!  Everthing is BOGOF!  And yes, every lipstick is some shade of pink... (and the nail polish too!)


A true BOGO at Rite Aid!  None of that buy one get one 1/2 off business.  Maybe it should be BOGOF instead! So these puppies came out to a dollar or less a piece!  Delight!  Even at retail - $1.99 for the Megalast lippies are a steal!  Run out and get your loot ASAP if you are a makeup junkie (like moi!)  It just started today, so you have the rest of the week to stock up if you love WnW products:)

I bought 3 Megalast lippies - Mauve Outta Here, Don't Blink Pink, and Pinkerbell.  I want to review each of those individually in the following posts for sure.  The Silk Finish lipstick is in Nouveau Pink (DUPE ALERT - for MAC Candy Yum Yum!), a lip liner in the color Willow (natural/nude) and a Megalast nail polish in Candy-licious.  I'm telling you, this is not the Wet n Wild from my high school years.  All the packages are craptastic, but inside is what is fantastic!  All the formulas seem reworked an they are on par with department store brands. 

I use to have a stash of MAC, Clinique, Nars, Dior, Chanel... you name it I had to have it.  But I found the fun and quality in drugstore cosmetics!  The only thing I can't give up is my Clinique foundation and powder.  I never found anything that felt as good on my skin.  Perfumes and handbags are a different story as well (eeeeek...)

Anyways, if you want to try out amazing cosmetics or a color out of your comfort zone at super cheap prices, check out WnW this week because it's buy one get one free!  So you can try the much raved about Megalast Lipsticks for a dollar a piece (if you buy two!)  If you don't believe me, check out makeupalley and YouTube for the reviews!  Probably one of the best drugstore lipsticks I've ever tried.  Most have some sort of cloying scent or the colors look completely different when worn.  Not these!  And the price!  Oh, and don't forget about the eyeshadows! OMG I want more lipsticks already and I haven't even opened the ones I have yet!  To bad they didn't have all the shades but they have a lot of the popular ones:)

XoX

Saturday, May 24, 2014

So Long Denver!


It's been a great 3 weeks in this beautiful state!  I can't take back the clean air so the best I could do is a hat!  I'll get a ton of use out of it come this summer, no doubt.  Besides, I gotta give my Red Sox cap a bit of a rest sometimes :). I was at Garden of the Gods and saw a girl with this exact hat.  I then became obsessed and had to have it.  I'm so weird like that sometimes.

Potato was a lunatic walking around in the airport.  We are waiting to board now.  He is quiet and in his crate now.  I think he is exhausted with all his barking.  We are flying red eye and I have tried to keep him awake most of the day so he should sleep the whole flight.  

Blogging from Boston after today!  

XoX

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Pink-Me Fantastic!




Spring's bright colors and the warm weather has got me itching to break out of my neutral lip look and rock some bright pink lips... on the cheap, of course!       I found this on sale at Walgreens and I love it!  WnW is THE budget babe's best friend when it comes to cosmetics.  The packaging is craptastic, but the actual lipstick is surprisingly fantastic!  This hot pink shade is super fun and comfortable on the lips.  It's not drying and has a nice cream satin finish.  It was on sale for about $2.50 at Walgreens and part of the Fergie Collection.  What did I hear you say about my London Bridges falling down again?!?!

XoX


Monday, May 19, 2014

Garden of the Gods in Colorado Springs!

The gods in the garden are actually holding up this rock... I'm just the ham!

Finally!  I've been waiting all week to visit this park since B's cousins, who live in Denver, recommended this must-see site.  It did not disappoint!  And it's huge!  Much larger than I thought it would be.  In fact, we had to drive to get from one part of the park to another.  If you are in the area, make sure to visit.  You can bring fido too.  I wish we brought Potato, but we were visited Pike's Peak the same day.  I was afraid of the altitude, and thought it was best to leave the little boy at home.  

B looks so mad!  Muahahahahaha!

B was definitely a sport.  I love photos.  He hates them.  Like with a passion.  But he played along as I ran
around looking at fun spots for us to take photos.  I totally neglected "Beware of Rattlesnakes" as I traipsed into tall grass to get a good photo!  Oooops!  I was just in the mood to capture as much as possible before the sun went down.

It is a free park.  The man who owned this land with all its beauty gifted it to the state of Colorado on the condition that all those who visited could enjoy the park gratis.  B donated some coin to hopefully help keep the grounds as beautiful as we had seen them for future visitors.  There are miles of trails and tons of visitors, so bring your sneakers!  You can even ride the trails on horseback...must make reservations for that though.  For those thrill seekers, you can even repel the rocks (not me... I get scared climbing stairs sometimes!)

What a great day in Colorado Springs!
There is a cute gift shop and cafeteria if you get hungry during your visit.  I walked away with some awesome photos as well as a magnet, tee, basball hat, and a couple of postcards.  It was really fun and wish we had more time to explore this beautiful state.  Everyone here seems super chill.  Much, much, much different than the fast-paced peeps of Boston.  People actually drive the speed limit around and I haven't heard one expletive since I've been here... weird, but nice:)

XoX

P.S.  I gained weight and it shows in my face (15-20 easy!)  Wah!  Gotta hit the gym instead of the bakery!


Friday, May 16, 2014

Sunnyside Kinda Day


I woke up in the middle of the night craving sunnyside eggs in all their yellow runniness... with soy sauce.  That's how I grew up eating them.  But would the Embassy Suites accomodate?  Heck yes!      Although they had to run to the other kitchen to get the soy sauce.  Besides omelets, they will make scrambled, over easy, my sunnyside soy sauce delicious mess as well.  Made to order whichever way suits your pleasure.  If that's not service, I don't know what is...it's one smooth operation they got going on:)

XoX

Favorite Hotel for a Long-Term Stay!

Happy Hour!  Cran Vod?  Don't mind if I do!

Even Potato looks at home!

When I pull out the extra pillow and blankets, he will get out of his crate!

Halfway into our three-week stay and we all agree this has been our favorite hotel experience thus far.  Embassy Suites DTC is so comfortable it feels almost like home!  The staff is always nice and the rooms are really big.  I think Potato gets a little bored because he doesn't have a window to look out and bark at the passerbys (they are too high for him!) like at home.  He does spend a lot of time in his crate... we leave it open for him and he has free reign of the sofa and bed... the entire suite!  But he likes to sleep inside his little crate.  It's good he likes it so much, otherwise it would be difficult traveling with him on a plane.  

Potato has been amazing on this trip!  There is always the airport that freaks him out and he gets loud and barky, but on the actual flight, he's really good.  When we land he freaks out and wants to get off the plane as soon as possible... like everyone else on the plane.  So once here hears the beep and the first seatbelt pop open, he starts crying and barking...fortunately it's only for a few moments! 

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Lunch Wired!

Veggie Sandwich

The Lazy Goat Sammich!

Yummy, fresh, and healthy!  I was feeling pretty guilty from visiting Del Taco so often and this makes up for it!  If you are in Centennial, Colorado - check out Lunch Wired!

Xo

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Secret Menu!

Exhibit A:  Del Taco Secret Menu - Nacho Cheese Fries with Jalepenos

Yes I'm a total junk-food junkie always looking to transform into an organic, all-natural, granola-crunchy type.  Evidently, I take daily detours (see exhibit A).  It's all about the journey, right?  Maybe I'm not trying hard enough.  Or maybe life is too short and I should enjoy every bite as if it might be my last.  Or maybe I should learn about the art of moderation.  Then maybe, just maybe, I can have my cake and eat it too...

And enter the secret menu at Del Taco (terrible segue, I know!)  Omgeeee I love this place.  I'm obsessed.  And the nacho cheese fries with extra jalapeños gets me every single time.  I'll miss it when I head back to the East Coast.  And don't forget Tuesday Taco Night... 3 tacos for $1.09.  C'mon, is this for reals and in 2014????  

Now if only they could make rice bowls on the secret menu available.  I think they should strongly consider it.  Not just for me.  Of course.  For all of mankind.  Okay, secret or not so secret, it doesn't matter.  Whether it be my id, ego, or superego that needs a stroking, I just like to feel like I'm part of some secret club.  Until then, I'll be hoarding all the inferno hot sauce packets during each visit so I can burn off my taste buds (a myth... but it sure feels like it) when I'm back in Boston:)

XoX

Tuesday, May 13, 2014

What a Difference a Day Makes!


Blue skies!  And it's warm(er)!  Wilson Phillips was right... Hold on for one more day... I'll take the 41 degrees with no flurries flying into my eyes rendering me momentarily visually handicapped.  It's only gonna get better as the week progresses.  Hoping to visit Garden of the Gods this weekend in Colorado Springs!  We were suppose to do some sightseeing last Sunday, but the weather was pretty cold.  The extra few days of snow sans winter coats made for staying in the only feasible option...did someone say room service?

I'm not gonna lie...sometimes I'm more excited about collecting, organizing, and highlighting tourist information pamphlets  than actually doing these activities.  Or I get into my crazy-person mode and must hit every single tourist attraction like it's the last day on Earth!


Oh, I can be THAT person... the ultimate lazy travel partner.  You don't have to ask me twice if I want room service.  I feel like on this trip I'm pretty low energy.  Perhaps because we have three weeks here as opposed to a weekend... when everything must be done on break-neck speed.  But sometimes when there is too much time to spend in one place, you don't get around to doing anything.  However, on our last adventure to DC, I didn't even want to stop to eat!  B basically was exhausted and was gonna pass out because I was go-go-go!  Case in point:  we only had a day to do everything.

So depending on your activity level, I can be the best or worst travel companion on the planet.  I am working on the happy-medium version of myself, as I hear that's the best way to navigate the journey of life.  Until then, I will either be in my bunny slippers looking half awake... or with my laced-up sneakers completely spry and walking too fast with nowhere in particular to go...

XoX

Monday, May 12, 2014

The Puma Gets Carded


As brrrrrrrrrr as it looks!
I still cannot wrap my head around how this is possible... in May... <sigh>

Not quite the picture you wanna see looking out your hotel window in the middle of May.  It would be tolerable if I had remembered to pack my winter coat.  But who would have thunk?  Boston is warmer... and even Chicago... and no snow!  I'll tell you this much, there is a first for everything... and this my darlings, is the first time I have seen snow in the month of May.  Even Potato didn't want to go outside today!! I literally had to drag him out of the lobby because he stopped in his tracks when he saw the white frozen mess beyond the sliding front doors. That poor little monkey.  Must give him credit.  Wherever I go he has adapted and made the best of it.  My little trooper.

There was a wedding party staying at our hotel yesterday.  The bride looked beautiful, of course.  She did seem stressed.  After getting the lowdown from the bartender later that evening, I realized that it was more than just the nuptials getting her frazzled.   It was suppose to be an outdoor ceremony (not at our actual hotel) so everything had to be moved inside.  Oh the poor thing.  I would probably be in tears unless I had a whole bottle of wine for breakfast.  It's one thing to anticipate an indoor wedding during an iffy month.  It's another thing to plan for a beautiful spring wedding in May...only to have it snow. WTF, right?!  I'm sure it was lovely despite Mother Nature and her tricksy ways.. Did I mention her dress?!  I'm not gonna lie, I had some serious dress envy for 5 minutes!  

And then it made me stress a bit over our wedding date as well... will the weather be nice for an outdoor ceremony?  I guess you just can't plan for the weather, no matter what the month!  I guess we will have to wait until 2015 to see how it plays out.  I have yet to see SoCal snow even during the middle of "winter."  Let's just pray no rain...unless it's in the morning and then it clears up for our afternoon ceremony... I heard that is super lucky!  Let's work on something I can control - the guest list - of which I've just gotten started on and completely overwhelmed.  

And on a good note, I got carded at the bar yesterday! 
Diet Vod - saving me a few WW+ Points for the evening:)

I love it when that happens still... especially when I just had a birthday the same week.  She insisted on seeing my ID.  I told her I was way old.  She thought I was exaggerating.  She took one look at my DL, and with a 'Huh?!' expression exclaimed, "Yeah, you are old!"  Thanks... I think.  It was like that time at the Chinese market when I was buying a bottle of wine (a few months ago) and the Asian lady asked for my ID... and she exclaimed, "What!!  You look so young!"  I was having a pretty rugged morning, but after that comment, nothing could ruin my vibe for the rest of the day!  My favorite was that one time in Chicago last year...the kid at the checkout thought I was "maybe 23? But no older than 26!" after he handed back my driver's license with a bewildered look on his face stating that he thought I was younger than him.   As much as I wanted to feel flattered, I thought that was a stretch but thank you very, very, very much anyways:)  Maybe because I'm so short... that helps.  No son, I am old enough to have been your (teen) Mom.  Braggadocious much?  Awwweeee c'mon give me my moment.  Besides, I was born old.  I have an old soul, sometime I feel like I'm 100.  So whenever anyone tells me I look young for my age, it's a shock to my system, and in a good way.  The month of May can be difficult sometimes.  As I realize another year has gone by all too quickly and I'm reminded of my own mortality.  Or at the very least, is that another wrinkle? And what is this wire-y silver thing sticking out of my head <gasp!> 

Anyways, whenever I get a year older I feel a bit sorry for myself.  But then when someone cards me unexpectedly, getting a year older doesn't feel so bad... it feels great!  B turned to me right after I pulled out my ID, "I didn't even get carded!" Muahahahahahaha.  He is a month and 8 days younger than me, and he likes to remind me of that from time to time.  In fact, I'm not sure I heard her card anyone else at the bar either.  I looked at him as I smiled silently sipping on my cocktail.  He smiled back.  I winked and said to him, "Maybe it's not so bad being with a Puma after all..."

XoX

BBQ!


This place hit the spot for a cold snowy day in May...Dickey's in Centennial was in walking distance from our hotel, but of course we drove! The beef brisket was the best! My two sides were cole slaw and potato salad:)  B had the pulled pork and chicken with mac n cheese and some potato side.  The sauce was really good!  The free soft-serve ice cream rounded out lunch and left me in a food-coma haze for the rest of the day:)

Snow in May?!




I wish I was joking.  This is what I was met with all day.  I didn't bring a winter coat!  Freezing at 32 degrees!  And it's gonna snow tomorrow too.  All the while it was 80 degrees in Boston today.  Well, it was nice day to capitalize on laziness:)

XoX

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Good Morning!

Not gonna lie, totally enjoying my flowers in our hotel suite!  It always makes me smile when I wake up and see beautiful roses in shades of pink and ivory!  B always remembers that these are my favorite:)  

Xo

Unexpectedly

Birthday Treats!

Birthday Love!  2 dozen of my favorite kind!  Thanks B!
Birthday Yum!

Ooooops to the first photo.  It was suppose to just be a glass of water.  Then a diet coke.  Somehow I ended up with a fuzzy navel, cherry lifesaver, and a something something bulldog?  B said how it works is you finish one drink then get another one.  He didn't understand what I was doing again.  I was just sitting there and the drinks kept coming.  I looked like one lush at the end of the bar.  Attractive. 

I was swearing off drinking for a bit as the altitude and alcohol did something crazy to my face the day after arrival.  It was puffy, red, and I just looked plain insane. And then I totally forgot the rule I made for myself. Oh well...next time...definitely next time...:)

Xo


Wednesday, May 7, 2014

And the Livin's Easy

Birthday Breakfast Spread!  Love the made-to-order egg white omelet and waffles!  They even had sugar-free syrup available! 

Crabtree & Evelyn!

Fresh towels, heavenly mattress, fluffiest pillows... and his plushies... Potato is settling into his hotel life quite nicely!

Wow I turn 29 today!  Again!!!! Tee-hee!  I started out my morning spending an hour on the elliptical then housed the first photo above.  I'm not gonna lie, living in a hotel is pretty darn nice.  No cooking, no cleaning, and now I'm hooked on Crabtree & Evelyn.  Move over generic brands (at least for 3 weeks!)  I wouldn't mind living at a hotel forever... I just hate cleaning.  I'm like allergic to it. The fiancé says I'm a naturally messy person.  Sigh.

I will need to enjoy this while I can... I wish it could last forever... but what a treat for the majority of my birthday month anyways:). I know a lot of people hate living out of a hotel, but I guess I'm one of those that just can't get enough of it!

Can't wait for my pho birthday dinner!  Gonna see how the Denver area Vietnamese food stacks up to the competition!  Anyways, gonna do a kettlebell workout now to help tone up this flab... and so I can eat more (so food-centric, I know!)

Xo

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Hotel Living

Healthy breakfast options:)

Rum punch and some yummy appetizers...gratis.  The bartender, Brenda, is so sweet!  Love this hotel!


For the next three weeks, Embassy Suites will be my home.  Never stayed at this particular chain, and I'm loving it.  The breakfast spread is impressive and complimentary.  They even have a free cocktails and appetizers in the evening. A small gym, pool/jacuzzi as well.  Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf in-room beverages and Crabtree and Evelyn bath products.  Not too shabby!  Free same-day dry cleaning.  Free shuttle (we have a rental though).  Pet friendly.      Free parking. We are in a business park but it's close to everything.  It will be nice to not have to cook or clean for the next few weeks:) 

Monday, May 5, 2014

Ahhhhh... Fresh Air - Hello Denver!


Finally here!  Wow... so this is what fresh air smells like...

I was trying to get a good photograph of the snow-capped mountains... It appears my NatGeo skills are an epic fail... 

Hello Denver!   We are staying a bit outside Denver, in Centennial.  It's nice to visit a state I've never been to, which is one of many.  That totally needs to change.  For the outdoorsy type, this will be your cup of tea, no doubt.  It's really nice here and I will need to research the area we are staying in.  It's mainly a business park, but centrally located to everything.  Target, Starbucks, Del Taco, two airports, Whole Foods, and airports. Everything looks fairly new as well.  For some strange reason I thought we would be camping out in the boondocks, and I was totally game.  Pleasantly surprised at all the familiar comforts this area provides:)

XoX

Sunday, May 4, 2014

Saturday, May 3, 2014

Kettlebell Krazy!


Pictured are my latest fitness toys - 15, 10, and 7 pounds!  Contoured really is the way to go (for me anyways!) when it comes to these addictive kettlebell workouts.  The candy colors up the fun factor and the vinyl just feels so comfortable. I can't wait to take one of them for travel for the next three weeks!  I won't have a scale with me, so let's see how much weight I burn when I get back!   

If you are in the workout doldrums, pick one of these puppies up!  The workouts go by so quick... well probably because they are a lot quicker too.  These burn so many calories, you can get all you need done in 30 minutes or less and burn up to 600 calories in that amount of time...some experts claim!  Low impact as well (left knee crepitus eat your heart out, Darling!)  I can already feel my body getting more toned.  

I use to never strength train.  After 45 minutes to an hour of cardio, I was just too tired.  And of course the myth that weights will make my already bulky body bulkier, made it easier for me to justify not lifting weights at well.  But the kettlebell promises cardio and strength!  How can you not be enamored?  I'm excited to see how the next two months will play out.  It was really exciting to see how within the first week I shed 4.6 pounds!  And motivational as well!  

Friday, May 2, 2014

Save the Dates!

Working on the guest list...at least we have the stationary ready to go!

I received the postcards a couple weeks ago, but just got around to getting the stamps.  Unfortunately, the post office only carried one design for postcard stamps.  Fortunately, they ended up being super cute little blue hummingbirds ... and matched the colors of our Save the Dates perfectly:)  The hardest part was picking a date.  Then the next challenge was the venue.  We decided on a hotel venue as we anticipate half the guests will be from out of state.  

I don't know why I didn't look at hotel venues from the get go.  I kept looking at venues that were stand alone venues, and then I was getting anxious because we could get our hair and makeup done, shuttles for the guests from their hotels, to the ceremony, then possibly to another reception site, back to the hotel for the evening... phew!  When there is a timeline to follow, sometimes it doesn't go as planned when you need to get everyone at the same place at the same time... from so many different locations.  I'm so happy the last venue we visited ended up being the perfect one!  Everything is in one location!  It's nice to be able to get ready in the morning at the hotel, the ceremony will be in the outdoor garden area, cocktails in another room, and the reception will be held in the big ballroom.  Because it's on a Sunday, the chances are that we will be the only wedding that day (sometimes they have two - one in the morning, and one in the evening!)  

XoX

Thursday, May 1, 2014

Cabbage Soup!


First go at filling soy that helps with weight loss!  There are a bunch of versions online, and this one has some zing!  It's a super easy version with a can of diced tomato, carrots, water, beef boullion, cabbage, and vinegar.  I added some salt and pepper to taste.  Super easy, right?  It's so filling I end up eating less junk during the day:)  a bowl with lunch and dinner.  

Xo