Monday, May 19, 2014

Garden of the Gods in Colorado Springs!

The gods in the garden are actually holding up this rock... I'm just the ham!

Finally!  I've been waiting all week to visit this park since B's cousins, who live in Denver, recommended this must-see site.  It did not disappoint!  And it's huge!  Much larger than I thought it would be.  In fact, we had to drive to get from one part of the park to another.  If you are in the area, make sure to visit.  You can bring fido too.  I wish we brought Potato, but we were visited Pike's Peak the same day.  I was afraid of the altitude, and thought it was best to leave the little boy at home.  

B looks so mad!  Muahahahahaha!

B was definitely a sport.  I love photos.  He hates them.  Like with a passion.  But he played along as I ran
around looking at fun spots for us to take photos.  I totally neglected "Beware of Rattlesnakes" as I traipsed into tall grass to get a good photo!  Oooops!  I was just in the mood to capture as much as possible before the sun went down.

It is a free park.  The man who owned this land with all its beauty gifted it to the state of Colorado on the condition that all those who visited could enjoy the park gratis.  B donated some coin to hopefully help keep the grounds as beautiful as we had seen them for future visitors.  There are miles of trails and tons of visitors, so bring your sneakers!  You can even ride the trails on horseback...must make reservations for that though.  For those thrill seekers, you can even repel the rocks (not me... I get scared climbing stairs sometimes!)

What a great day in Colorado Springs!
There is a cute gift shop and cafeteria if you get hungry during your visit.  I walked away with some awesome photos as well as a magnet, tee, basball hat, and a couple of postcards.  It was really fun and wish we had more time to explore this beautiful state.  Everyone here seems super chill.  Much, much, much different than the fast-paced peeps of Boston.  People actually drive the speed limit around and I haven't heard one expletive since I've been here... weird, but nice:)

XoX

P.S.  I gained weight and it shows in my face (15-20 easy!)  Wah!  Gotta hit the gym instead of the bakery!