Thursday, January 30, 2014

$1.99 Drugstore Gem!


It took me some time to get over the fact that Wet n Wild was once a subpar cosmetics line that I used as a teenager because I didn't know any better.  Times have changed for the better.  This lipstick is a fantastic example.  This is the shade Bare It All from the Megalast collection.  It is a touted a matte formula that is moisturizing. 

 I always need to apply a balm since my lips can get so dry.  Once prepped, this applies so smoothly.  It is thick and creamy, a pretty beige that doesn't lean too brown/peach/pink.  A neutral blend of all three colors that can suit many skin tones.  It isn't too light or dark, just right!  This is about a shade or two lighter than my lips, and just hides the red/pink tone in my lips so well.  It provides a touch of polish that is understated and goes well with many eye looks.  A great neutral nude that can be worn every day.  I can't believe it's only $1.99 retail!  WnW is easy to find and so affordable.  Great products accessible to all women.  Oh, and they are cruelty free!  Yay!

Xo

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Midas Touch Mani

Sparkly Tips!

Happy Wednesday!

I've always loved doing my own nails.  I don't think my first salon mani and pedi happened until I was 28 or 29 years old!   I kept acrylics up for a few months but got bored of them.  Also, having to rely on someone every two weeks for the up keep was inconvenient and expensive.  Both mani and pedi would run me a total of about $100/month...or $1200 a year!  Too much!

Before that, I enjoyed doing my nails at home.  I always  have a blast doing them while watching something on TLC or listening to music... with a glass of wine:)  It is so relaxing in the comfort of my own home.  Picking out new colors at Sally Beauty or Rite Aid is something I look forward to for a pick-me-up when I want to refresh my nail color collection.  Infrequently, if a girlfriend wants me to go with her to get her nails done I'll indulge in a pedi.  I would pay to sit in a massage chair for 20 minutes!  I feel so refreshed and and walk out with gorgeous toes:)

I felt like deviating from the normal French mani with the white tips I usually give myself.  The gold sparkle tips and translucent pearly pink I'll be donning for the next week and a half is super cute and fun! 

XoX


Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Rite Aid Spree!

Happy Tuesday!!!!

I had $19 +UP Rewards and walked out spending a whopping 45 cents today:)  Tea bags, mouth wash, and a loot of Wet n Wild for better than free.  I also received an additional $4 +UP Rewards from the mouth wash and WnW purchase!  It pays to be loyal and these rolling rewards make it fun shopping there!  I know CVS and Walgreens have similar programs.  So if you are looking to save some coin, use your loyalty card, check the weekly circular for specials, and watch your savings add up!  

I'm trying to get le fiance to switch over to Rite Aid (and use my/our household card!)  On Sunday 2/2/2014 - they start the Buy & Earn Rewards Game.  On many items in the store, you will collect points to earn up to $50, every dollar is a point earned.  The first 100 points gets you $15.  At $150, you earn another $15.  At $200, you earn $20!  And you can add this to the +UP Rewards that are already attached to certain items included on the list!  Many personal care, vitamins, beauty, food & beverages are included.  I can't wait!  

Xo

Monday, January 27, 2014

I Heart (FREE!) Pajama Jeans?!


They were only $19.99.  When they first came out a few years ago, they were $39.99.  I have been obsessed with these for years, but couldn't justify spending almost $50 with shipping and handling when all was said and done.  Then the wait time would have killed me.  6-8 weeks for delivery?  What if they didn't fit?  I would have to pay more to ship them back?  And lose what I paid on S&H the first time around?  At the time, I still had some sense and realized it was a bad idea.  I forgot about that obsession and moved on to my many other ones.  And then this past weekend I saw thems at Rite Aid.  That overwhelming feeling of having to have them came back.  I grabbed the only size small and put it in my cart.  I was so very excited.  I was even more excited when I got them for F-R-E-E.  Well, it pays to shop at Rite Aid:)

With my Wellness+ Card I earned +UP Rewards on the items I purchase that I can use on whatever I need/like at Rite Aid.  Okay, this was not a need.  Or perhaps it was... in order to cure my repetitive and pathological thoughts of Pajama Jeans and get a bit of American Pop Culture while I'm at it.  I wouldn't be out any cash either since I earned so many reward dollars, I even had some to spare.  

I haven't opened these up or tried them on yet.  So I will come back and update soon.  I asked the nice sales associate if I could return them if I didn't like them and he said I could with my receipt.  I hope I do like them as it would be nice to not always look like a bum while running errands.  Sometimes I think I dress too casually... and hopefully this will still let me dress in comfort without looking like I just rolled out of bed.  These are a great addition to my yoga, legging, and sweats!  They have a really soft fleece texture inside so they will be nice for winter and are super stretchy!  So nice for when I gain/lose weight... hello me, yo-yo girl.

EDIT:  I just ran upstairs and tried them on... drumroll please. The verdict?  I'm totally gonna keep these and not just because I got them for free!  I love boot cut even though the style now is  the skinny leg.  I have heavier thighs and I put on a few extra pounds (wah!) so this cut and the way these stretch are awesome!  I purchased the size small and it has a 31 inch inseam.  They fit great in my thighs and behind area (where I carry my weight) but slight loose(r) in my waist.  The waist has a tie so i can adjust it.  I wish they had XS because I am scared they may bag out, we shall see.  I like the length and no hemming is required.  I read the reviews on amazon and many were positive.  Maybe I will pick up a second pair if these ones hold up well.  These will be perfect travel pants for my cross-country flight from Logan to John Wayne next weekend:)

So these are perfect to slip on during my "fat" days, airline travel, grocery shopping, or casual restaurant outings - totally cute enough to leave the house!  I can see these being amazing for those who have always had sizing issues with jeans, or don't like the hassle of buttons and zippers.  I wouldn't sleep in these though because I have a whole wardrobe for that.  I'm totally weird when it comes to things I sleep in; I dont mingle them with clothes I wear outside of the home.  A phobia I have, I know.  For fancier occasions I prefer my heavier denim and nice slacks, or dresses and skirts.  But I wouldn't put it past anyone if they wore these with a nice top, heels, and jewelry for a night out!

In the end, it's all about what makes you feel comfortable.  With the right accessories Pajama Jeans can take you from rolling out of the bed after hitting the snooze a few times, to facing the day, and finally into the night!  You won't stick out like a sore thumb.  Unlike the pink pajama bottoms with elephants riding a bicycles in the rain all over them.  Yes, these are cute and decent for many occasions.  Despite what the fashion snobs may say, give them a try... you may very well be pleasantly surprised:)

Xo

Sunday, January 26, 2014

Silent Treatment


Happy Sunday!!!!

Just picked this up at Rite Aid!  WnW is BOGO 50% off all week and you get $3 +UP Rewards when you purchase $10 or more worth of items.  Great time to stock up or try something new!  This was only $2.99 without the sale... how insane is that?!?!  If you haven't tried WnW shadows (trio or 8 pan formulas), you're missing out!

Silent Treatment is one I've been eying for some time.  It is a beautiful taupe palette.  This will be perfect for travel (I wouldn't carry my 8 pan because it is too fragile!)  I may pick up Walking on Eggshells next, but I have the Comfort Zone palette and the colors look somewhat similar.  I'm excited to try this neutral palette out later today!

The last photo is my receipt.  I walked out the door with $31.97 worth of merchandise and paid $0.97!  Plus, I received an additional $3 +UP Rewards to use when I come back.  As you can see, getting the hang of rolling your +UP Rewards is the name of the game!  How fun to walk out and only spend 97 cents?!  I purchased Pajama Jeans, a lipstick, and 19 eyeshadows... score.  I reached Bronze status so I get 10% off any regular prices Rite Aid Brand item as well!  I love Rite Aid!

Xo

Saturday, January 25, 2014

Friday, January 24, 2014

Happy Friday!

Wishing everyone a wonderful Friday!  I caught this cute photo of Potato guarding the house!  

Xo

Thursday, January 23, 2014

Oh Louis!

You never disappoint!  So when I am spendy, it comes to handbags!  The classic Papillon 30 is one of my favorites. Such a fun bag with the mini matching Papillon.  The updated version has  longer straps (fits well over the shoulder) but doesn't come with the mini Papillon anymore.  The bag designed and named after a butterfly... so pretty!  I heart!

Xo

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

LOVE NOTE # 210: $5 Sushi Wednesday!

Happy Wednesday indeed!  What makes it better are these dynamite rolls on special every Hump Day for short change!  I love Roche Bros. and they have a yummy prepared foods section.  This makes getting to the middle of the week something to look forward to, for sure!

Xo

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

LOVE NOTE #209: Generic Brand?

Not always... but this time, Walmart Brand got it right!  I stock these in the fridge for a quick grab and go if I can't make my green smoothie or when I just really need a chocolate fix.  And among the Slim Fast, Special K, and Equate brand, I prefer the generic Equate from Walmart!  Taste wise, Slim Fast comes in 3rd (I don't even buy them anymore so it wasn't included in the photo!)  The Equate brand just tastes the creamiest and is just so yummy!  I'm all about a good value, but if I don't like the taste, then I won't buy it.  Some item I just can't do generic like orange juice (tropicana is my favorite) and peanut butter (Skippy chunky natural with honey is the only one I like!)  

It's nice to find something that can save you a few dollars and tastes even better than the national brand!  Yay!

Xo

Monday, January 20, 2014

LOVE NOTE # 208: Physicians got the Formula, No Doubt!


Happy Monday!

This is a great all-in-one highlighter compact!  Thanks to my sister, I was introduced to this on my birthday!  I adore the super cute pearl embellishment.  The Mineral Glow Pearls line comes in many shades.  There are blushes, bronzers, and finishing powders.      

I know PF products can be pricey, but they are always running promotions and sales at the drugstore.  This week, Rite Aid is offering $10 +UP Rewards on any $15 worth of PF products (I cashed in on it twice - which is the limit!)  CVS is offering 40% off all PF this week as well.  So I would wait for the sales for sure:)  

I love this formula because it provides a really nice glow to the face!  It's not a glittery, just a nice sheen.  I apply this on my cheekbones, down my nose, and above my lip.  It's subtle and I adore it!  Every girl needs a good highlighter!  This will set you back $14.95 (wait for the sale!)  if you are looking for another amazing drugstore highlighter that is more affordable, Reserve Your Cabana by Wet n Wild is $3.99 but you can find it on sale for less!  

Xo

Sunday, January 19, 2014

LOVE NOTE #207: Glow On!

Cute sun design:)

Outer Packaging

Hidden compartment with a mirror and brush!

Happy Sunday! 

Another lovely bronzer for fair skin from Physicians Formula.  It has more color payoff than the Nude Wear Bronzer and a lovely sheen (not matte).  I like the golden-peachy undertone (I avoid bronzers with too much red because my cheeks have a flush to them which I like to neutralize!)  This one is in the Light-Medium shade and it's so pretty.  I do like the packaging that houses a secret compartment with a little brush and mirror.  

It is a pricey drugstore bronzer.  $15.95!  All PF products pretty are expensive compared to other drugstore lines.  I would say it is worth the price (but of course I like it better on sale!) because I like how they work well with my sensitive skin.  Their packages are super cute and functional.  I actually like compacts that have mirrors and brushes included because they are perfect for travel or touchups:)

I waited until today because Rite Aid is offering $10 +UP Rewards on any purchase of $15 or more!  I purchased two bronzers and hit $30 so I got $20 in +UP Rewards!!  I just started shopping at Rite Aid last week and couldn't believe the values I could score with the Wellness+ Card (which is free!)  They offer all sorts of coupons and money saving deals.  You can use the +UP Rewards starting at 6 a.m. the next day!  If I was more aware I could have combined these savings to purchase my Wet n Wild products early this week for free...wah.  oh well, a bit late to the party...but now I now how to roll my rewards so they accumulate:) 

 I love the Rite Aid near my home because all the employees are so nice.  I love reading the circulars a few days early to see what deals are available.  The +UP Rewards expire in two weeks and wish I had a bit more time to use them but heck, $20 bucks back on $30 dollars worth of bronzers... and I had accumulated $9 +UP rewards the night before and used it towards the PF Bronzers purchase!  I love how you can roll your rewards!  I have the Rite Aid app which helps me track my points, rewards, and coupons!  I use to only shop at Walgreens and CVS but I never accumulated so many rebates/rewards as quickly and and easily as Rite Aid.  I'm a big fan and it is my new favorite drugstore, no doubt.  As long as they continue having such great deals, I'll be a loyal customer:)

XoX

Saturday, January 18, 2014

LOVE NOTE #206: Always in my Heart

For my childhood four-legged best friend!
Such a lovely necklace.
The opposite side has beautiful floral filigree work as well:)


I've been missing my childhood dog, Broccoli, a lot lately.  She was such a smart and sweet dog.  I think about her every day, even though it has been eight years since she has passed away.  I always wanted to take her with me to college and then when I moved to the East Coast but it wasn't an option.  I know she was happiest at home, she only liked to be home.  But there is a part of me that wishes that I didn't have to grow up and move so far away.

I wish that I had spent more time with her.  I always thought she would live forever, so I took her for granted.  No matter what my mood, she was always there with a smile on her face and with her tail wagging to greet me.  Even if I hadn't visited home in a long time, she was never mad at me and always was so happy and excited to see me each and every time.  She taught me so much about love and patience.  When  she passed, I wasn't there.  It breaks my heart every day that I couldn't say goodbye and be with her during her last moments.  She was always there for me, always caring and selfless.  I know she is safe and happy in Heaven sleeping on her cloud with her beautiful wings...with all the beautiful angels playing with her.  I hope she knows how I miss her every day.  I love you Broccoli.  

I see a lot of Broccoli's mannerisms in Potato.  Sometimes I wonder if she has reincarnated into him just so we can be together again. They act soooo much the same.  I know I sound nuts... and when you lose a pet you loved in a way you never knew you would or could... I guess it makes you think crazy things and believe in the paranormal. 

I carry this locket with me all the time.  Usually I wear it, or it is in my pocketbook.  Broccoli you are remembered every day...always in my heart... I know I will see you again someday...my beautiful four-pawed darling...

Friday, January 17, 2014

LOVE NOTE #205: Radiant Orchid Color of the Year!


Happy Friday Lovelies!

Although not quite the exact shade as the nominated color, these beautiful purplink roses are in the same family for sure!  There is always something so fresh about the purple family!  I'm happy it made it to the number one spot this year!  
Thanks Bone for the pretty roses!  My favorite flowers for sure! 

XoX

Thursday, January 16, 2014

LOVE NOTE #204: Wintertime Bronzer

The bow! The faux leather! The blush pink!  Cutest packaging ever!
All the shades blend together beautifully!
A handy mirror and travel brush on the flip side...they thought of it all!
Packaging (front)

Packaging (back)


Happy Thursday Darlings!


I found this at the local Rite Aid and was on the fence about buying it since it was about 15 dollars.  I think that's pretty pricey for a drugstore bronzer, don't you?  But I had to try it since it came in a light bronzer shade.  Most bronzers are a bit dark for my complexion and I need to have a rather light hand during application for fear I will get that dirty look.  Sometimes in the morning Im on a mad dash to get ready and do thing in the dark.  It's nice to have a bronzer that is sheer enough so that I won't look like oompa loompa.  I  I have had a lot of luck with Physicians Formula in the past so I decided to ring this little beauty up at the register.

And let me tell you... for fair girls who want that golden glow but just a hint, this is the one to get this season.  Yes, I'm totally obsessed with the cute packaging, but the bronzer itself is the true gem.  It's a very light peachy-gold bronzer that gives a very subtle effect.  Like the name implies, Nude Wear, is what you really get... understated but polished.  Fussed with but un-fussy.  I have ruddy cheeks, so I like light blushes that tone the redness down a bit instead of adding to it.  This answered.

When comparing this to NYC's Sunny, this one is much lighter and has more of a golden undertone as opposed to a terra cotta or reddish brown.  I think the Sunny would be flattering to most women ... and of course it's only $2.99!  The PF Nude Wear is definitely more subtle but a lot pricier.  It just depends on your coloring and what undertone you prefer.  I personally like the PF better but would still recommend the NYC Sunny because I think it is more flattering to most women who want that bronzed look.  However if you just want a hint of color, it's worth the 15 bucks!   

It is a new product so I have only seen it at one Rite Aid (I visited CVS, Walgreens, Walmart and none of them had it yet!)  I wanted to wait for a sale, but there were only two on display, and I really wanted to try it out so I forked over the retail.  I rarely do that for drugstore cosmetics since eventually they go on sale in a week or two.  I just had to have it.  Was it Worth it?  Heck ya!  Whenever I reach for the little box, I smile because it is just so darn cute!  I pair this with the Wet n Wild Reserve Your Cabana - the combination is just the perfect amount of glow!  Even if I'm feeling groggy, at least I look awake and fresh!  

XoX


Wednesday, January 15, 2014

LOVE NOTE #203: Best Pizza in Town!


Hello Darlings! 

I'm obsessed with New England Greek-Style Pizza!  The only other pizza I'm obsessed with is Lou Malnati's deep dish. Ohhhhh Chicago I do miss you so!  I was never a huge fan of Neapolitan-American or NY style.  The fiancé says that's his favorite behind Lou Malnati's.  No wonder it took over six years as a resident of Norwood to try this unassuming pizza place - he doesn't like Greek Style!  

I have passed by Royal Pizza a gazillions times.  I never thought much of it since it was tucked away in a corner of a strip mall.  I asked B. what that place was all about and he said their subs were really good.  I yelped it and the reviews were super positive.  I became obsessed for a week until it was pizza night!  For some reason I like to create the hype in my own mind by waiting instead of running out and trying it right away.  And let me tell you, the wait was so worth it!  I love a thicker crust that has been coated with olive oil... it tastes divine and almost like it's been fried!  Ohhhhh and they piled on the toppings!  Everything was so fresh!  I didn't even ask for extra broccoli, and that's exactly what I wanted ...without asking... and got it? Nice!  It was a personal size, but took me 3 days to finish it!  It was ginormous for 8 bucks!  Since I always like my toppings all crazy, this one had pineapple (a must for me!), broccoli, and hamburger.  I love the sweet and salty, gooey and crispy... that perfect bite of so many textures and flavors.  I'm  making myself drool right now.

I can't wait for Sunday... football and pizza.  Hope the Pats let Denver know what it's all about.  It will be a tough game, no doubt.  The Brady vs Manning showdown... here we go again.  So we lost Gronk and Wilfork, and Hernandez who ended up being a killer during his spare time.  Ummm okay.  Quite the season for New England.   and Ridley is damn streaky... dropping the ball whenever I'm yelling at the TV "Don't lose the ball!" ...and he does...over and over again...the hell?  The good news is Edelman is a consummate professional and that Blount has what seems to be a natural ability to read the field.  Brady is legendary.  I think we are in good form and a step away from the Super Bowl.  Peyton... sorry Bossman, maybe next year.  Go Pats!

XoX

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

LOVE NOTE #202: What a Difference a Highlighter Makes!

Wet n Wild Bronzer - Reserve Your Cabana (AKA the drugstore dupe for Hourglass Ambient Lighting!)

I love the embossing:)

Hello Darlings!

I had to share this bronzer that I have been using as a highlighter.   I haven't used a highlighter in so many years.  I ran out of my Clinique one and just got lazy about replacing it.  Tsk.  Tsk.  Tsk.  I've been stalking the Wet n Wild displays at the drugstores lately and kept eyeing this "bronzer."  The shade looks rather light so I didn't know what it could be used for but I was intrigued.  I read the reviews and it got such high marks used as a highlighter.  I was obsessed.  Had to try it.  It went on sale for $2.79 so I guiltlessly made it part of my haul.

When I first applied it, I didn't get it.  I couldn't see what was happening.  I didn't notice anything.  Oh well.  At least it was less than 3 bucks.  So I went about my business putting on the rest of my face.  I ran a few errands.  I checked my makeup a couple hours later to just to retouch my lipstick and thought my makeup looked really nice today, I looked healthy.  It clicked.  It was this product!  It was subtle.  Very subtle.  A soft glow as if by candlelight.   I applied it to the top of my cheeks, the bridge of my nose, and above my cupid's bow.  Nothing sparkly or glittery about it just a beautiful patina.  I just looked fresh and alive:)  How did I live without a highlighter for so  long?  And now I never have to because this is a humongous amount of product.  Wonder when I will hit pan?

Packaging is flimsy.  If I drop this I'm afraid it will shatter.  Not very travel friendly because of the shape of the container.  However, the product is totally worth the packaging issues and a steal even at the retail price of $3.99.  I'm mad at myself for callimg WnW a cheap makeup brand.  That notion has led to many department store purchase fails.  If anything, WnW should be called the best value in drugstore cosmetics.  where they lack in packaging and marketing, they far make up for it with the quality of the actual product!

Love this and contemplating buying a backup in case WnW decides to discontinue it!  

XoX

Monday, January 13, 2014

LOVE NOTE #201: My Comfort Zone

Wet n Wild Coloricon - Comfort Zone

It's like two quads put together:)  The colors are so gorgeous and they feel like butter!  MAC who?  Urban Decay what?  Seriously, that good!


Happy Monday Darlings!

If the first day of the week doesn't excited you, these eyeshadows should do the trick!  Finally got my mitts on this cult status 8 pan!  This amazingly pigmented palette was only $3.49  at Rite Aid!  The regular price is $4.99, but all Wet n Wild is 30% off this week.  Can I get a woot-woot?  This is one of the best eyeshadow palettes I have ever used.  The texture, the colors, the pigment, the different looks you can create are just fabulous!

I need to mention the bottom right hand corner color.  It is so unusual.  It has a black, red, blue, green, purplish holographic effect.  Like the mythical scales of a mermaid tail or wings of a dragon... It's magical!  I use it to line my eyes with a slant tip eyeliner brush.  It makes my brown eyes sparkle like a black eyeliner has never been able to do!  It must be the duo-chrome finish that enhances the eye color.  I have only had it for two days so I can't wait to try out new color combinations with this palette.

I have never seen color like this before from a drugstore line.  I have never been this impressed with any eyeshadows even from the department stores.  WnW keeps surprising me and I'm addicted!  If you love to experiment with makeup, run out and get this palette!  There are 2 other 8 pans, Blue Had Me at Hello and Petal Pusher.  I haven't even opened Blue Had Me at Hello, but the shades look so pretty.  I'm debating if I should buy Petal Pusher since I've never been a huge purple eyeshadow girl.  Out of the three, Comfort Zone is the most neutral.  Do yourself a favor and just get it already...  you know you wanna;)

XoX

Sunday, January 12, 2014

LOVE NOTE #200: Sunday Morning Drugstore Haul

Happy Sunday!

I have been crazy exited to try more Wet n Wild (WnW) products after reading and watching so many online reviews singing its praises!  Thanks to Nouveaucheap, Temptalia, Beautybroadcast, Aliceathena7, Makeupbeautydiva (she's awesome!  her reviews always crack me up!) and of course Makeupally, I couldn't wait to get my mitts on these palettes. Rite Aid has all the Wet n Wild on sale this week for 30% off so it was great timing!

The retail prices are ridiculously cheap as is, but what girl doesn't love a good deal?  It just means I can buy more stuff!!!!  And it makes my heart even happier knowing that WnW is a cruelty-free company!  So here is a list of things I purchased:

*Coloricon Eyeshadow Collection 8 pan in Comfort Zone - sale $3.49 (reg. $4.99)

*Coloricon Eyeshadow Collection 8 pan in Blue Had Me at Hello - sale $3.49 (reg.$4.99) 

*Coloricon Bronzer SPF 15 in Reserve Your Cabana - sale $2.79 (reg. $3.99)

*Megalast Nail Color in 2% Milk - sale $1.39. (reg. $1.99) 

*Silk Finish Lipstick in Breeze - sale $0.69 (reg. $0.99)

*Silk Finish Lipstick in Sunset Peach - sale $0.69 (reg. $0.99)

And my grand total with tax came to $13.33!  That's 16 eyeshadows, bronzer,  nail polish, and 2 lipsticks!!!!  I was in makeup heaven!  Phew!  Talk about makeup fun!  Everything looks amazing and the eyeshadows knocked my socks off!  So smooth and the color payoff is gorgeous (think Urban Decay Naked but with drugstore prices... Omg!)

I still can't believe these products perform as well as some department store brands for a fraction of the cost, if not better.  There are  so many amazing beauty products available at affordable prices.  The fabulous part is getting to try out different products along the way and not having to break the bank.  Besides, who doesn't love that feeling when you find a new HG product and it costs $5 at the drugstore versus $25 you would have spent at Bloomie's?  All the drugstore dupes are giving those fancy cosmetic counters a run for their money!

XoX


Saturday, January 11, 2014

LOVE NOTE #199: Statement Lips for 99 Cents!

Happy Saturday Darlings! 

Yes, you read correctly.  And the best 99 cents I ever spent!

I am continuing on with affordable drugstore alternatives to high end lipsticks.  I must mention the Wet n Wild Satin Finish Lipstick in Retro Pink!
Basic plastic packaging

Retro Pink - 525D (comes sealed so you know if it's been tampered with - love that!)

Super fun and pretty pink!


Blue base mid-tone pink (my lips don't look too crooked in this photo!  Yay!)

Ohhhhh it's a fun shade!  And the texture is very comfortable on the lips.  I always apply a lip balm (Carmex is my fav!) for extra protection and provides a smoother canvas for lip color.  This lasts about 4 to 5 hours on the lips and fades evenly with no peeling, flaking or weird lines.  It applies creamy and smooth.  It does not dry out my lips or settle into lines either.  In fact, it actually filled in my lines and made my lips looks more smooth!  There is virtually no fragrance and no taste  to this lipstick.  This is a creme finish with slight shimmer... which helps make my pout look more plump:)

This color and formula makes my lips feel soft and look full!  What girl doesn't want that?!  How can a lipstick do all this and only cost 99 cents?  I know, right?!  A cheap lipstick that takes on a new meaning... cheap just got smart and chic.  Once you get past the container, nothing  about it feels cheap on your lips.  Rivals MAC colors for sure!  I love these lipsticks because I can play with color and not get mad at myself if I only wear the lipstick once a week or even less!

Of course, the case is pretty chintzy.  Also, the lipstick doesn't retract all the way down either, so be careful when removing/replacing the cap. Wet n Wild definitely put all their money into the formula of this product.  Which is perfectly fine with me!  It's what inside that counts and I would rather a company spend more time and effort on the actual product than just some pretty plastic!

So my final thoughts are that the formula and color are amazing.  If you can't stand the case, you can just depot these and get a dozen colors for the price of one HE lipstick!  I do adore HE lipsticks, their cases are to die for!  But I've been suckered into all that exterior prettiness only to find that the formula or color has fallen short and it ends up laying in my beauty graveyard and my bank account looks... I'm too afraid to even check my account!  Don't get me wrong, there are some HE lipsticks out there worth every cent!  But it's nice to know a girl can have options:)

XoX

Friday, January 10, 2014

LOVE NOTE #198: It's Always Sunny in Boston

Happy Friday Everyone!  

Okay, what I meant was getting my sun on with the help of one of the most beloved drugstore bronzers...
If you haven't already guessed, it's NYC's bronzer in Sunny!  With all the makeup gurus going bonkers for this easy to find and ever-so-kind-on-the-pocket drugstore gem and over 500 reviews on MUA, i had to give it a whirl:). It was only like three buckaroos!
I junked the included powder puff and used one of my own brushes to apply instead.

It's a very basic container with a handy mirror inside.  The true magic lies in the product itself!  No worries of a lawsuit from a passerby accusing you of blinding them with glitterati, because it's matte!  It's sheer with buildable coverage, so it won't look like you dipped your brush in the flower pot!  And it's a department-store quality bronzer disguised in drugstore packaging...and you don't pay the premium!   Everything so right about this, and yet it wa located at the very bottom shelf!   Two left until I came along, now sold out!  At CVS, it was BOGO half off so I will be sending one to my little Sis:) Yay!

Okay, so not always sunny in Boston...
This is actually what I woke up to...snow!

And someone doesn't want to get out if bed because of it...



XoX

Thursday, January 9, 2014

Dr. Potato

My son, Potato.  I knew he was smart, but this is too much!  He is helping me review old material...always be ready in case of getting pimped!  Cute nerds are the best!  Happy Thursday everyone:)

XoX

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

LOVE NOTE #196: Frost My Lips!

Left to Right:  Birthday Suit, Pink Champagne

Top to Bottom:  Birthday Suit, Pink Champagne

Birthday Suit

Pink Champagne

Hola Chicas!

Happy Wednesday!  We woke up to 7 degrees here near Boston!  I dunno how I was able to handle the cold in Chicago, and I had an apartment on the lakefront!  It feels colder here for some reason?!?!  Anyways...

I've been obsessed with drugstore lipsticks lately.  Why?  I bought my first really good one, now I'm hooked!  I stumbled upon these Wet 'n' Wild Megashield Lipsticks with SPF 15 and had to give them a try!  There were rather mixed reviews on this line, so I didn't know what to expect.  In fact, I was kinda expecting the worst and surprised at how much I really liked these!

I do like a good nude-y frost on occasion.   Frost gets a pretty bad rap.  I get it.  But for some reason I adore the look and it brightens my complexion.  It's just fun and youthful (but many may say it looks dated!) and just looks so fresh compared to the mattes and creams I usually wear.

These apply smoothly but wear time is not that long.  I don't mind as I actually like to reapply my lip products:). These are rather sheer and you can build the intensity with additional coats.  They are pretty creamy (I was expecting them to be gritty in texture - not so!)  It feels more like a balm on my lips, which I like and it feels comfortable.  I can wear these by themselves or over another lipstick to add dimension.  Birthday Suit is my favorite one as it is a nude frost.  Pink Champagne is super cute but is a tad lighter/brighter but I like it a lot as well.  The only thing about frosts is that they do tend to emphasize the lines on my lips!  It looks worse with an up close photo...but it really look nice in real life.  

And the packaging.  The good news is that these come completely sealed.  So I didn't have to worry about those swatch-crazie-lipstick eaters out there... and you know who you are...  Many mentioned the seals and tapes being a nuisance getting off, but I didn't have any issues peeling them off and it didn't leave any sticky residue behind (I just go really slow when I remove adhesives so nothing gets left behind!)  The case itself I can see cracking after some time because the plastic is chintzy.  Gonna have to find a way to get creative with fixing that issue without resorting to depoting... hmmmm.  The lipstick doesn't retract all the way down either, so you must be super careful when removing/replacing the cap otherwise you will nick the lipstick:(. But for $2.99 a piece, I can totally deal:)

Wet 'n' Wild has surprisingly good lipstick  formulas!  This is the Queen of all budget cosmetics after all and her reign has been successful because she knows what she's doing!  Although the packages aren't the fanciest (okay, probably one of the worst I've seen!) but the products themselves are very nice inside, surprisingly!  I can't wait to review the 99 cent lipsticks next... 

Xo